We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best cottage stay for a birthday weekend away”
other travelers have booked this property
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge. The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Hazelhurst Farm from across the lake.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Yellow Room, with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Yellow Room with en-suite shower and toilet. Additional £100 charge.
The Blue Room which overlooks the lake. Additional £100 charge.
The Blue Room which overlooks the lake. Additional £100 charge.
Guest lounge attached to Rose Cottage. Additional £80 charge for weekend, £120 for week.
Guest lounge attached to Rose Cottage. Additional £80 charge for weekend, £120 for week.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Lake and pack-horse bridge.
Patio overlooking the lake.
Patio in front of Hazelhurst Farm overlooking lake.
Courtyard and water feature.
Snooker room.
Patio overlooking the lake.
The Stables.
Hazelhurst Farm through the entrance gates.
Hazelhurst Farm landscape.
Winter morning sunrise from the Blue Room.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Mercaston, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
amrikaram...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best cottage stay for a birthday weekend away”
Reviewed December 5, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Absolutely fantastic weekend!!! I cannot emphasise how kind, generous and thoughtful both Christine and her husband Roger were.I booked a one night stay at Rose cottage as a birthday surprise for my husband and he loved it! Beautiful cottage, beautiful landscapes. Christine went over and above to make sure we were comfortable and provided so many thoughtful treats at the cottage too. It had such a homely feel. We definitely will visit again soon and for longer! Thank you again Christine for everything xx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 4, 2018
Happy New Year ! Thank you or your kind review - it was really lovely to meet you both and welcome you to Rose Cottage.
Best Wishes
Christine & Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IANS4782
1 review
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed November 15, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My wife and I plus daughter and partner booked for a Friday & Sat in early November to go to a friends wedding nearby. We arrived Friday evening to a bottle of prosecco & a lovely cake. The makings of breakfast were supplied, - tea, coffee [several types of both], milk, fresh bread, butter, marmalade & a fully stocked kitchen. All items were new & all from Marks & Spencer.
The rooms were outstandingly furnished & the beds an absolute delight; the mattresses were possibly the comfiest we have ever slept on. The fittings reflected the style & comfort that we had hoped for. The grounds are outstanding & well worth a good walk around. There are 2 lakes & lots of wildlife - the pictures barely do it justice
The hosts Christine & Roger were delightful & welcoming
We had a wonderful time in beautiful surroundings & would go again for just a break!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. It was a real joy to welcome your family to stay at Rose Cottage particularly for such a special occasion. We were so pleased that you found everything to your liking.
With Very Best Wishes
Christine & Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This is an amazing place to stay”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was wonderful, very tastefully decorated and furnished. The hosts, Roger and Christine were very welcoming and very amenable. The welcome goodies were very well received, thank you. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will look forward to visiting again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2017
It was a pleasure to welcome your family to Rose Cottage. Thank you for your kind words and it was lovely meeting you all. Hope the golf went well!.
With Best Wishes
Christine & Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 17, 2017
Dear Kalpna & Shanil,
Thank you for your kind review. It was lovely to meet you and your family and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Best Wishes

Christine & Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Emma M
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed November 30, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Wow!!! What an amazing place.
We booked at fairly short notice.
We were greeted by Christine who was delightful. Wine, homemade cake and everything you could possibly need was waiting.
I have a lot of food allergies and Christine offered to make me some soup when we arrived. Bless her.
Please, please visit. This is a home away from home.
Wonderful xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 4, 2016
Thank you for your kind words which were extremely generous. It was a pleasure to welcome your family to stay at Rpse Cottage.
With Best Wishes
Christine & Roger.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The owners, they were absolutely charming and kind x
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Rose Cottage.
With Best Wishes
Christine & Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kezzarell...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed September 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Rose Cottage for one night to celebrate a friends 40th Birthday. The cottage is fantastic and in such a beautiful setting. Roger and Christine are a very friendly couple and made our stay very comfortable. The Marks and Spencer's welcome goodies and home baked cake were a lovely touch too. We wish we could've stayed longer.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 26, 2016
It was a joy to welcome you all to Rose Cottage to celebrate your friends 40th Birthday - so glad that you all enjoyed your stay. Hope you are able to visit Rose Cottage sometime in the future.
With Best Wishes Christine & Roger
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing