We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run family pousada on breathtaking beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pousada Encanto da Lua
Ranked #1 of 24 Barra Grande B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Encanto da lua is a warm and spacious guest-house situated on the wonderful Praia da Forte beach. It is run by two generations of a very friendly half-Brazilian half-Japanese family who were chatty, attentive and very keen to ensure we enjoyed our stay with them. Also a couple of them spoke very good English which made it a lot easier for us!

For a posada it is actually on the large side with over twenty rooms and a swimming pool. However, they have a fairly big plot so you don't feel cramped by other guests and you need only take one step to find yourself on the near deserted 3km stretch of one of the purest most beautiful beaches in Brazil. Indeed, a day trip at the very least to see the spectacle of Praia da Forte, especially at full moon, is a must for anyone near the area. We were certainly the only non-Brazilians at the pousada and possibly on the whole beach so this area is still very much "off the beaten track" territory for foreigners. The more visited, but still very authentic, Barre Grande is about 7km away and the pousada can arrange quad bikes or a sort of golf buggy should you wish to explore there and the rest of the Marau peninsular - both recommended.

The rooms of the pousada are clean, reasonably spacious and come complete with a private hammock on each balcony. Decoration is minimal but quite tastefully done but whilst it is more than adequate now I would imagine the rooms would need a bit of modernising in a couple of years time, especially the bathrooms. A buffet dinner is included in the room rate and as the pousada is pretty isolated on that big beach that itself is pretty isolated then this is no bad thing. A mixture of Japanese and Brazilian very tasty dishes that changed each night offered just about enough variation for our 4 night stay. The spread at breakfast was also of good quality and variety and the made-to-order tapiocas simply delicious!

The beach is a must see if in Bahia, both for surfers and sunbathers, and Pousada Encantao da Lua a very pleasant place from which to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank colonial99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 17 of 285 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2012

The Pousada Encanto da Lua is a family-run hotel directly on one of the most beautiful beaches. It has lovely rooms with modern amenities and a wonderful kitchen that provides enough variety to please even the pickiest of eaters. Wi-Fi is iffy - but that is what one can expect throughout area and if you are looking to disconnect from the chaos of modern life, then I could not think of a better place to relax and replenish oneself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2010

Really nice and beatifull place!

Quiet place, nice people, delicious food!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moontripSp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

On one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever seen is this very nice pousada. Very good breakfast and diners, personal service of owner, swimming pool, neat rooms. Inshort; excellent. In walking distance of natural rif for snorkling

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartvanbezooijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gabriela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todos os quartos tem vista para a frente (piscina e mar) Escolha quartos que não estão tão expostos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017
3  Thank EstherCarrenho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barra Grande
3 mi away
Pousada Porto da Barra
3.3 mi away
Peninsula Beach Club Hotel
Peninsula Beach Club Hotel
#8 of 24 in Barra Grande
54 reviews
2.8 mi away
Pousada Perola do Mar
Pousada Perola do Mar
#2 of 24 in Barra Grande
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
HTL Terra Mar Barra Grande
HTL Terra Mar Barra Grande
#4 of 24 in Barra Grande
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pousada Bambu Dourado
Pousada Bambu Dourado
#3 of 24 in Barra Grande
174 reviews
2.3 mi away
HTL Tubarao
HTL Tubarao
#5 of 24 in Barra Grande
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada Encanto da Lua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada Encanto da Lua

Address: Taipus de Fora, Barra Grande, State of Bahia 84125-850, Brazil
Location: Brazil > State of Bahia > Barra Grande
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Barra Grande
Price Range: $150 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pousada Encanto da Lua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing