We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Corsewall Lighthouse Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glenapp Castle(Ballantrae)
$424
$411
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Hotel(Portpatrick)(Great Value!)
$117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Knockinaam Lodge(Portpatrick)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$222
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Downshire Hotel(Portpatrick)
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$103
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (401)
Filter reviews
401 results
Traveler rating
273
77
29
12
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
77
29
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingnorth channelthe stevensonailsa craigon the rocksunique hotelcourse dinnersingle trackirish seaoff the beaten trackstunning locationbucket listlocal producefirst classkipperslucky with the weatherfine dining
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 401 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

If your looking for a special place to stay this is the place without a doubt
Service - outstanding from the Chef Sandra and Kay, Sandra and Kay are so organised and think of everything you could want, its there before you ask for it, the whole stay just flowed, and gave us that relaxed atmosphere that was needed.
Room - warm welcoming cosy and comfortable
Food - Excellent quality, presentation and the taste well, didn't like cabbage until now !! Just magnificent flavours.
Views - Spectacular especially from the Firth of Cromarty room balcony watching the boats, being under the lighthouse light and lying in bed watching the water crash onto the rocks.
Thank you all for a great stay

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mccraeclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had our fourth pre xmas break at Corsewall. Why do we keep going back? Simple! It is without doubt the most welcoming atmosphere and food to die for. Kay and Sandra are simply two of the best employees a Hotel could wish for and that goes for the Chefs also who have consistently produced the tastiest and finest food, meal after meal, ingredient after ingredient. Whilst I am not a particularly fussy eater I can honestly say that I have never had any part of any of the meals we have had which has disappointed me. A fine feat indeed. The food is so good I have even ventured to try things I normally would pass on, e.g. fish to which I am now a convert. We stay at the Lighthouse Suite due to the location, right on the rocks and a lovely conservatory to watch the world go by. Our friends stayed in the Stevenson suite which is essentially a huge two bedroom house, recently built, and lovely decor. Already looking forward to next xmas. THANKS AGAIN CORSEWALL!. John and Mary.

Room Tip: Lighthouse Suite is a seperate building on the rocks with a conservatory. Gorgeous.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daw53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Party of eight Sandra was out of this world food fab location a paradise would recommend to all a true wonderful time thanks Sandra your are one in a million your are underpaid thanks again Tom and party.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've just returned from a relaxing weekend.. Despite the freezing weather, we were greeted with a warm welcome at the end of the long & winding road! Signage isn't great so would strongly suggest you plan to arrive in daylight if possible.. The lighthouse is exactly like the photos, fully operational & we were lucky to get 2 rooms at the top, Kintyre & Cromarty rooms, with stunning sunsets & sunrise views over to Ailsa Craig and coastline. The food was delicious & locally sourced beef, lamb, salmon or duck for mains. Not a huge menu selection, but we enjoyed every dish of the 5 courses, and any special requests were happily accommodated by the attentive staff. Service was excellent, friendly and efficient. Breakfast was typical Scottish cooked to order inc porridge, full fry, eggs to all tastes, kippers etc.. other reviews have noted the quirky nature of this hotel, it's not 5star & doesn't claim to be. The costs of running such an interesting venue must be enormous, which is reflected in room prices. However, we found the food & drinks very reasonable. Our hosts were knowledgable & enthusiastic, despite dealing with 1 very rude couple one evening, who were being very unreasonable.. The other guests, including us who had been recommended the hotel were most delighted with their stay & will happily be returning.
Its isolated peace, totally for relaxing/reading/painting/walking/chatting/snoozing.. worth the short car-ride to scenic harbour town of Portpatrick about 20mins away. Final note, anyone with elderly/disabled or young kids, might be more comfortable in one of the newer suites close to the hotel. Thank you Sandra, Kay and Juris for a great weekend!

Room Tip: If you want quirky, stunning views & original setting stay in the lighthouse, if you want mod cons but less atmosphere stay in the newer suites..your choice!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KFnCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed in the Stevenson Suite again, and enjoyed everything as much as before. The Lighthouse itself is always cosy and welcoming. It is a pleasure to see fresh flowers, the interesting and quirky decor, plus good grub. All the staff are attentive and helpful, even finding me my favourite newspaper daily.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhood3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews