We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galley Bay Resort & Spa - All Inclusive
Nearby Hotels
$315
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
$1,000
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)(Great Value!)
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$144
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$356
$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$144
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
$429
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$199
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$422
$409
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,485)
Filter reviews
3,485 results
Traveler rating
2,741
530
145
43
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,741
530
145
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea grapebarefoot grillcaptain seanteepee bargaugin restaurantbeach frontpremium suiterocking chairsbanana slideguest servicessuperior beachfrontred flagdouble showerour honeymoonrum punchplunge poolbird sanctuary
Filter
Updating list...
3,291 - 3,296 of 3,485 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2005

We have just returned from spending two weeks in Galley Bay from 02 July to 16 July and loved every minute of it! We stayed in a superior beachfront room and this was fantastic. The caribbean was just a few feet away across a beautiful beach. We had no problems at all sleeping with either the noise of the sea or the tree frogs. The room had everything that was needed and was an ample size. The service in the hotel was first class, all the staff we encountered anywhere in the hotel were friendly and couldn't do enough to help. The food was excellent and there was always a good choice available at every meal. The food was all a la carte apart from Thursday evening which had a superb barbecue buffet. We found the hotel ideal as it was perfect for relaxing and yet if you wanted to do something more energetic the hotel staff were always willing to advise and arrange activities etc for you. We got married whilst we were there and once again the hotel and its staff were fantastic. The wedding gazebo was in a beautiful location and was decorated with our choice of flowers. Ernestine, our wedding co-ordinator, was brilliant and everything was done for us with no fuss, all we had to do was make sure we turned up on time! It was an amazing holiday and we would recommend Galley Bay and getting married at Galley Bay to anyone. It was our first time in the caribbean and we found the island beautiful and the people very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank M_D_Dunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2005

Well, where do I start! We have just returned from a two week stay in Antigua. We did one week at Galley Bay, where we got married and then stayed at Sandals for our second week/honeymoon. The two resorts couldn't have been more different-with Galley Bay coming out on top by a large margin. Galley Bay is definately a five star resort and the brocheures cannot portray it's beauty-it really is paradise! We stayed in a superior beachfront room, which was literally on the beach-perfect location with your own sunbeds! The deluxe rooms weren't in such a good location but were slightly more spacious. We also had family staying in an Gaugain cottage, these were set back off the beach into the gardens but were quite private and had their own plunge pools! If I had a choice, I would upgrade only to a Superior Room, purely for the location-you can't beat it!

Other people on this website have complained about the noise of the sea and the tree frogs, but to be honest you get used to it and the sound of the sea is extremely relaxing to drift off to sleep. If you are that worried about it-bring earplugs-but all resorts in Antigua have the same issues with the tree frogs not just Galley Bay and it is something that is beyond their control!

The food was excellent-al a carte menu which changed every night at the seagrape restaurant. Only one buffet dinner, which was a BBQ and was actually quite tasty! Only problem at Breakfast and at Lunch were the little birds, which would peck at the sugar on your table but at least they weren't seaguls like at Sandals! The Gaugian restaurant was very romantic but they did not have enough space to seat a party of 7, which was disappointing but not the end of the world. The menu at this restaurant stayed the same every night. The service at both the restaurants and the bars, was excellent-the staff couldn't do enough for you. Champagne was even included of which we demolished about 4 bottles on the night of the wedding!

As for the actual wedding-totally stress free! All we had to do when we got there was decide on the flowers and cake, book hair appointments and go into St Johns to get the relevant paperwork sorted, which took about 10 mins. The day went perfectly, even though I had a phone call 2 hours before the wedding to say that they couldn't get my lillies, but they sorted it out and my bouquet was still beautiful.

Do not let anyone put you off staying at this resort-it really is heaven! We certainly hope to go back sometime in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Blondie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2005

Before going to Antigua for our Honeymoon we read all the reviews on this website and decided Galley Bay looked the best place to stay - we were definitely not mistaken. There is not one single thing we would have changed about our holiday. All of the staff were brilliant - really friendly but efficient at the same time - any time we requested something it was delivered straight away. The location was incredible, the beach and sea were beautiful. The room was great, no glass on the windows was lovely - I can't think of a more relaxing sound than listening to the sea when you go to sleep. The food and drink were excellent, the alcohol measures are particularly generous! I think we only left the resort twice, just spent the rest of the time relaxing by the pool or on the beach. All in all, absolutely fantastic, definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Pauline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Farnham, Surrey
122
Reviewed June 11, 2005

My wife and i returned from a week at Galley Bay having had a very peaceful and relaxing time. We stayed in a premium beachfront suite which was spacious, comfortable with a fabulous bathroom. I would advise opting for the upper floor rooms as not only do you have stunning views you have the bonus of the beautiful vaulted ceiling.

We did see some of the other accomodation types and were pleased we had opted for the best in resort. Thats not to say you would be dissapointed as each has its own charm, but we like our space and comfort.

The beach is clean and you never feel crowded, however be carefull where you tread as there are only a couple of places with no rocks underfoot. Having said that its all perfectly safe. If your lucky you may even get to see a turtle come up the beach to lay its eggs. The lagoon provides a welcome distraction and the pelicans are great to watch as they dive in and out of the sea for something to eat.

The two restaraunts serve high quality cuisine in a relaxed atmosphere expertly overseen by Mike and his team. I assure you nothing is too much trouble just ask... politely. There is plenty of opportunity to eat here and the lunch menu is particulary good in my view and i would recomend the lobster for dinner without hesitation but you do have to pay a small ammount for this. Put it this way i ate lobster three times in a week.

The evenings a generally spent around the bar after dinner listening to the local bands that come to gently entertain you with there own unique charms with a backdrop of the ocean just a few steps away.

A great place to come to unwind, relax and chill out caribbean style. Perfect for a honeymoon, anniversary or even a wedding. Whatever the reason i hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2005

Galley Bay is a lovely resort! We went there on our honeymoon and would recommend staying there! It is a very friendly and peaceful resort!

The staff are brilliant, and are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are very clean and well presented. The mini bar is topped up every day! Although there are only two restaurants in the resort, the food changes very day with a select of different specials. It is a perfect location for relaxation and peace and quiet!

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank MrsAaronW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews