We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Galley Bay Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$315
$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hermitage Bay(Saint Mary's)
$1,200
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Siboney Beach Club(St. John's)
$180
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Antigua Village(St. John's)
$126
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$356
$321
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$216
$144
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
COCOS Hotel Antigua(Jolly Harbour)
$429
$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Ridge Resort(Jolly Harbour)
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Trade Winds Hotel(St. John's)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,453)
Filter reviews
3,453 results
Traveler rating
2,711
528
145
43
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,711
528
145
43
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea grapebarefoot grillcaptain seanteepee bargaugin restaurantbeach frontpremium suiterocking chairsbanana slideguest servicessuperior beachfrontred flagdouble showerour honeymoonrum punchplunge poolbird sanctuary
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,105 - 2,110 of 3,453 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We were first time visitors to Galley Bay in February, 2013 and couldn’t have been more pleased.
Our suite was very comfortable and we couldn’t have asked for more.
We found the restaurants and food service to be excellent and the staff in every area were absolutely first class. They were all pleasant and agreeable at all times and we were very impressed with their attention to detail. The Gauguin restaurant was our favourite.
If you’re looking for a location to just “chill”, relax and read a good book this is it.
There is no hustle-bustle and non-stop activity. There are excursions and activities you can book, but you can also just lie under a palm tree or on your deck (which is right on the beach) or on the beach and just relax and doze and read. The beach never seemed to be crowded and you can always find a lounge chair.
The fresh water pool is lovely, and we usually went there in the late afternoon just to refresh.
We certainly hope to visit Galley Bay again in the near future and wish we could have stayed a few days longer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPC999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuestAmbassador01, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for your very positive comments on your recent stay with us here at Galley Bay. We strive to always deliver a stellar vacation experience.

Most importantly, we are glad you will be returning and cannot wait to welcome you home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from trip to galley bay. Very disappointed rooms tired service very poor food mediocre. From our opinion it is 3 star hotel no room service can't get anything when the shop closes not even water. The staff half lovely the other half complacent don't really want to serve you. We have been to many hotels in the world and this is definitely not luxury more like self catering. The setting is lovely but is was not enough for what they charge. Wont be going again.

Room Tip: Room 44 great view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

As always we appreciate feedback from our guests and do our best to exceed all guest expectations..

It is always our goal to deliver a stellar vacation experience and we do so at Galley Bay for over 90% of our guests. They let us know via online forums, letters and guest surveys how pleased they were with the accomodations, dining experience, activities, and our wonderfully attentive staff.

We do our utmost to please all of our guests and welcome feedback during our guests' stay to ensure that they have the most memorable vacation possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation this is it. Exquisite location, a beautiful long sandy beach, the sound of waves and birds, and a beach that only has a few people on it. The first few days were a bit windy, so the red flag was up and we sat on the beach and swam in the pool. For the next days the weather was idylic so we stayed on the beach all day. It's unusual to be on such a pretty beach without lot's of people talking around you, so we loved it. It gave us time to recharge our batteries. The food was very good and the service very freindly. Our room was lovely - we had a direct view of the sea and could lounge on our deck on comfy lounge chairs and read. With lots of bushes and trees and flowers the property was lovely to walk around. One recommendation would be to take some mosquito repelent for the evening - you don't notice many, but they around. We would definately consider returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janet w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience on your recent stay here at Galley Bay.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The water view when you come through Guest Services and the views from the rooms are stunning. Beautiful blue water fringed with white sand and palms. We wanted a low rise casual resort and Galley Bay fit the bill. The number of guests is smaller than many other large resorts as well so there is no difficulty finding beach or pool chairs. Pool was nice but not huge, and no hot tub.

We chose the Premium Beachfront Suite and found it to be very nice. Glorious view from the balcony, relaxing chaise lounge seating, lots of space interior, high ceilings with exposed beams, comfortable bed with choice of pillows, wifi, flatscreen tv. Huge bathroom, but no separate toilet area. Good water pressure in showers, and odd configuration with one high shower head and one about 4' off the floor...

Staff at restaurants are generally pleasant and helpful altho service can be fast or slow... Bar staff were great, especially Arthur with his great smile and wonderful personality. Kind of rough having no minibar drinks other than 2 beers and couple of waters and pop, that are not replenished (not really all-inclusive), you can order extra drinks for the minibar at extra cost. They've got an eco policy that provides the excuse that they don't want to process excess cans and bottles and therefore handle drinks through bulk containers that are dispensed at their restaurants and bars. Litter disposal on Caribbean Islands is a significant issue so maybe there is merit to their approach. They will happily fill drink orders at the bar, and they are generous in their portions, but you must schlep them back to your room. I wonder if part of their thinking is to get people out of their rooms and mingling with other guests. We ended up meeting some great folks around the Teepee Bar.

Watersports were good but red flags for first half of our week nixed any such action. Bicycles are provided but probably need replacement. My bike chain came off a few times on my ride. Overall Antigua is a beautiful little island and the locals we met were very nice. Galley Bay provided casual elegance and the staff seemed sincere in their desire to please.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunlovincanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for very positive feedback on your recent stay at Galley Beach.

It is goal to provide excellent service combined with a beautiful environment in which to enjoy your vacation. Glad we could deliver on both!

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The arrival at the resort began with a warm greeting , a cool towel to refresh yourself and a rum punch. It got better from there. The resort was beautiful surrounded by small beautiful birds fluttering everywhere . The employees were all very professional and sincere. We stayed in the premium beach front suites - they were beautiful ,spacious and what a view of the ocean! The porch had very comfortable seating so that you could sip a drink or cup of coffee while watching the ocean. The food was delicious - the service was great - The drinks all week were delicious as well. We had a wonderful time. Galley Bay was a relaxing place .... the perfect place to renew and de- stress ! We can't wait to return !

Room Tip: we had the second floor of the beach front premium suites - they were perfect
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DiMacTRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EIR123, Guest Relations Manager at Galley Bay Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Valued Guests,

Thank you for sharing your very positive experience with us about your recent visit.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews