We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa Bambu Resort
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (249)
Filter reviews
249 results
Traveler rating
239
7
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
7
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront of the househowler monkeysosa peninsulapan dulcecosta ricathe property managerpuerto jimenezarroz con pollobamboo houselittle slice of paradiseranging in agenearby waterfallgolfo dulceboogie boardsgrocery listcook dinnerhigh tide
Filter
Updating list...
223 - 228 of 249 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We just returned from Casa Bambu. It was my husband and I, our nanny and her fiance, and our two small children. We only took one tour during our week-long stay, because we were content to just stay at that beautiful house. To wake up every morning to the sound of the beach, the sound of the howler monkeys, and the sight of the sun over the ocean was .....wow. That was every single morning, waking up to that beauty. Our first morning there, a parade of capuchin monkeys swung through the trees in our front yard. The staff were truly treasures, always available, never "in the way". One thing that was surprising was that, even though we were in the middle of nowhere, and things were very, very rustic, we had everything we needed. Full kitchen, all the amenities of home, almost unexpected. Lyn (one of the owners) was very patient with my incessant emails before the trip, answering all of my questions thoroughly. We definitely plan to stay there again. The only word to describe it is AMAZING.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crkramp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We have been wanting to stay at Casa Bambu for several years. We finally got our chance in December and it did not disappoint. We stayed in Casa Linda and every morning, in addition to amazing sunrises over the Gulf, we saw monkeys, scarlett macaws and toucans and that was just from sitting on our front porch. Everyday we saw a Mangrove Black Hawk sitting in a tree outside our kitchen window (that was probably because my husband was throwing old raw meat out the window). We have traveled to many areas including the Amazon and this is the most wildlife we have seen. There are plenty of things to do in the area such as kayaking, surfing and wonderful hikes or you can just kick back, relax and enjoy the beauty this place has to offer. The house if very well equipped and very well maintained the only thing you need to bring is your food. We love the fact that you had the feeling that you were "almost" outside.

We were lucky enough to be there to meet the owners Lyn and Kirk who were a pleasure to talk to and get to know. Lyn was wonderful in helping us prepare for our trip. If you go we highly recommend that you have the ladies prepare a meal for you. It is quite amazing what they can create from what you have in the kitchen. Our meal was outstanding.

We will definitely return to this little slice of paradise and we highly recommend it to nature lovers and those looking for a relaxing get away.

Pura Vida!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank bcmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Our family of 7 ranging in age from 19 to 62 spent a week at Casa Bambu and never ran out of things to do. The house is in an idyllic setting, with a beautiful view of the ocean and abundant wildlife to see and hear right from the front porch. Breeding scarlet macaws, all four kinds of monkeys, an agouti and a coati were among the highlights and our trip to Corcovado with William, the caretaker, yielded many more, including tapir and anteater. We enjoyed the sea kayaks and boogie boards and the 20-somethings enjoyed surfing when the waves came up mid-way through the week. Best of all was the great kitchen, with a real 4-burner stove and oven and an outdoor grill, where we could cook our fish and make wonderful meals. Definitely a 10.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank birderNewYorkState
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2008

The Casa Bambu owners have four houses (google Casa Bambu and you can see them). We stayed at La Pina. It was perfect -- a spatious simple but comfortable open-air house, with views to the trees, through which four species of monkeys traveled, and over which the scarlet macaws flew daily. We had done adventurous things before arrival, and wanted just to relax. The house and area were perfect for that. You can easily walk from 5 mins to about 20 mins to one of the local beaches for a swim, or to several small streams if you prefer fresh water. We had lunch in a fancy resort up the hill -- nice view and excellent reasonably-priced food. The owners of Casa Bambu are friendly and gracious and take great care of their houses. The kitchen had everything we needed and more, and there were great little details, like reading lights and tiny fans in each mosquito-netted bed (very few bugs actually, even outside the nets). There are no shops nearby, so you do need to plan your groceries, but there is plenty of room to store quite a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mitis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2008

We stayed "Punta Sonada" (Dream Point) and it was just perfect for our little family. We had a main house and small guest house, 14 acres of land and a "Gulfo Dulce" beach front. Spent six nights and enjoyed every minute of it. Great kitchen for home cooked meals and plenty of space to relax and enjoy the views. Many activities and mucho vida silvestre (wild life) very near by. It was the perfect way to break up our two week trip after staying in hotels before and after. Highly recommended if you like to rent a house when on vacation!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGStickler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews