We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Casa Bambu Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cabo Matapalo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Bambu Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Casa Sonrisa, the furthest house from the beach. We arrived a few days earlier than our kids, who flew in for Spring Break. The house was amazing, as stated in previous reviews, as was the beach and wildlife. Kirk went out of his way to help us, and he made us feel informed and welcomed. The monkeys entertained us day and night, the birds were plentiful, the bugs didn't really come in the house much at all, the beds were extremely comfortable, and the kitchen was wonderful. We cooked several meals during our stay and had one meal cooked by Leda and crew that was amazing! William took my husband and son fishing in the kayaks which was successful! Fish for dinner! We had a great time and will hopefully be back sometime soon with more family members!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 233 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This is our 4 visit to Casa Bambu every year we bring more family to enjoy the wonder and beauty. This year we brought along my daughter who is 7 months pregnant and her husband and our little grandson who is three. The three year old has been complaining about being cold since we left lol . We all had the most wonderful amazing time. The weather was perfect could not ask for a more beautiful place to stay in the OSA. We saw the toucans this year along with a abundance of wild life everything people say is true it's perfect in every way even the critters that find a home in the house are amazing to see. We are all sad to be back to the eastcoast cold. Kirk you are amazing truly a gentle kind soul . Lynn goes out if her way to make everything perfect . We will be back next year for a fifth visit I just need to find a way to stay forever .. Thank you lyda your cooking was amazing and yummy William is a true gem . We come here to unplug and relax and take in the beauty that surrounds this amazing home.people reading this review I encourage you to go find the slow pace and enjoy open your eyes and listen to the jungle it's life altering ..pure Vida till next year .. The Kaz clan

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank kaz047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in Casa Sonrisa from January 29th-February 2nd in a welcomed getaway from the hellish North East North American winter 2014. My only regret is that is was not a long enough getaway lol. We have traveled all over Costa Rica and this was our 2nd trip to the OSA. I can truly say, the Casa Bambu resort exceeded our expectations, This was truly a special experience.

Arrangements made from home were excellent with Lyn totally engaged and helpful. We mostly corresponded by email with one phone call and everything went as planned. One of the bonuses was the ability to pay by way of Visa which Lyn has recently initiated. This worked well for us, helping to avoid carrying more cash than necessary.

Casa Sonrisa is up a hill and furthest away from the beach which has pluses and minuses. The pluses... more privacy and closer to the road which we used to walk to 2 of the restaurants in the area. The minus... further walk to the beach. We really truly enjoyed Casa Sonrisa and would easily stay here again but we would likely opt for Casa Bambu next time for the reason of being closer to the water. In reality it was only a 2 minute walk to the beach. The beach was very nice. It had a cozy feel to it and never crowded :). There was usually less than a dozen people on the beach at any given time. The water was great, not cold at all but relaxing warm.

The house was very well set up, furnished and equipped. We absolutely loved the peacefulness, the privacy and most of all, the natural aspect of the house and surroundings. Living in a house self sufficient, yet off the grid was amazing. We always had enough power to runs the lights and fans and to keep the food cool. The fridge is a converted deep freeze...very clever and efficient.We did not buy fresh fish so we did not need ice. The gas stove was also great and efficient. Also, the toilet worked well, better than some in North American hotels. The house is a very good size and does not feel cramped whatsoever. We did not use the downstairs area of the house considering there was just the 2 of us staying there and the fact the balcony area was on the 2nd floor. And oh what a balcony it was. We had a great view of the surrounding area including direct vision to Pan Dulce. It is not a wide field of view but very nice. The balcony has a couch, chairs, tables, a hammock and a ceiling fan which worked well to shed the heat away from the deck. We enjoyed just sitting up on the balcony and looking out, viewing anything around including many monkeys and birds each and every day. We also saw agoutis, coatis,and bats flying at dusk, all from the deck.There were also a few tropical insects around that were very interesting. The plant life in the area was plentiful and varied...a little bare right around the house, but very nice all around the resort and area.

Eating well was no issue here! Whether a walk to Martina's, Lapa Rios or having Leda come in to cook, it was all good. We had 2 dinners cooked by Leda and they were utterly fantastic. We have had many good meals in Costa Rica, all over the country and hers were up there with the best. Also, she is a very nice polite lady. We could not believe she could prepare, cook and have everything served and cleaned up in an 1 1/2 hours. Simply awesome! Cudos to Leda. We also ate dinner at Martina's twice and we really liked this restaurant. The food was really good and the bohemian, laid back atmosphere was perfect. We walked to the restaurant on Super Bowl Sunday and to our surprise, they had the game up on a screen via projector. Considering this place is in the middle of a tropical rain-forest the dinner and event was almost surreal.

William, was great and although there was a language barrier with our minimal Spanish, we managed to communicate enough to achieve understanding. We went on 2 excursions...Surfing lessons and a guided Corcovado trip. Both were excellent.

We had a fantastic time and will come back again but not soon enough. Casa Bambu is fantastic way to experience the OSA peninsula and feel connected to a Natural Rain-Forest environment.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnesv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Casa Bambu is just as everyone described and better. The house is charming and very well equipped with everything. I can't wait to go back; it is right in the middle of nature. I loved waking up to the Howler monkeys every morning and watching the Macau's come and eat the almonds. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilshar9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Casa Linda as a family with our 2 boys, ages 7 and 10, for one week in January. It was exactly the type of vacation we were looking for. The house is very comfortable and spacious. We spent a lot of time on the porch and especially on the beach. Our kids spent hours playing in the waves, exploring at low tide and just watching the many creatures that were always around the house and the property. They did not miss their iPods or computers for one second and spent their down time reading and playing board games with the family.

William is very helpful, but be warned he really does speak very little English. We forgot a Spanish/English dictionary and felt this would have been very useful to have.

We had Leda cook for us for 5 of the nights we were there. She was wonderful, made a ton of food, cleaned up afterwards and was very sweet. We always had leftovers for lunch the next day.

We went on the Changing Tides tour which was definitely worth it. We saw a ton of dolphins, stingrays, a sea turtle, many birds and fish while snorkeling. Our tour guides were fantastic, very patient and dropped us off at a beachside restaurant in Peurto Jimenez that was really great!

We did the zip lining tour that Lyn arranged for us. Again, it was fantastic! Our 7 yr old was a bit scared but quickly felt comfortable with the help and encouragement of the guides. We had pizza in the hillside restaurant after the tour, which was awesome!

This was our second trip to Costa Rica and we just LOVE the Osa Peninsula. We had dinner on our last night at Lapa Rios, since my husband and I had stayed there 3 years ago as a couple. They even remembered us and picked us up and drove us back to the house before and after dinner as it is quite the hike up there to walk! We did walk up the day before to reserve our dinner and choose our meal.

All in all, there were no disappointments with this trip and we will remember it always, as will our sons. It was extremely easy to plan with the help of Lyn with all her answers to my many questions as well as the info that she sends before with the maps and house information. We would definitely go back to Casa Linda!!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
3  Thank hella16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Casa Linda was the last stop on our month long trip in Costa Rica and it is the place that we talk about as being simply the most awe inspiring and beautiful, it felt like living in the jungle book. We were travelling with our family - 2 teenage girls and our 9 year old son and their jaws dropped as they saw the house. Facing the beach with a wonderful porch, large and spacious inside with a beautiful kitchen and bathroom we knew it would be very hard to leave. Its quiet here apart from the animal cries but far from boring. Life slows done which is good because you want each day to last as long as possible. Every day we woke and just felt so lucky to be there, the nature is extraordinary, the beach beautiful with very calm (and warm) sea that time of year, the jungle paths simply wonderful to wander down with tall reaching trees and monkeys all around leading to other more or less deserted beaches. We brought all our food for 5 days and a block of ice, which lasted less, and we didn't hire a car, you only really need one to buy food back in Puerto Jim. We hiked to the waterfall which was quite an adventure - almost giving up - not knowing we were almost there. If you try this just keep going up the river and scrambling over the rocks. We took endless photographs of Monkeys and Scarlet Macaws, and loved seeing an anteater walk past our door. Washing up while looking at a black hawk who sat in a tree feet away from the kitchen's open window looking back at me from his daily perch, put a totally different spin on scrubbing plates. We all want to go back, the colours are still vivid in our minds eye and keep us going through England's grey winter days. There is absolutely nothing I can say that is negative about this place. We really loved it, and Lynn and William take great care in making sure that everything is ok while you are planning your trip and while you are there. Thank you! All the best, Cathy and family.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CRR-Brighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in Casa Bambu, which is one of 4 houses on the property. We absolutely loved the house – and the birds! the animals! My idea of a real vacation was met: waking up with scarlet macaws eating beach almonds in the trees overhead, being serenaded by howler monkeys, and watching a courtship display of black vultures at the bottom of the stairs. The design of the house makes it seem that you are outdoors, yet sheltered, all the time. Gorgeous sunrises across the Golfo Dulce, a beautiful beach with lovely warm water, and many possibilities for excursions, or you can simply enjoy the property and relax (which is what we did). William, the caretaker, is very attentive and helpful, even taking us to the airport when the taxis were unresponsive. The internet works well, and there is good cell phone service for those of us who can’t quite leave work behind. A wonderful experience, and we’ll be back.

Room Tip: All of the houses have their strong points, but if you would like to be on the beach, either Casa Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyn Kirk U, Owner at Casa Bambu Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Thanks for sharing about our place Erin. So glad you had a great experience! We’re proud to let you know that were just awarded two of TripAdvisor’s 2014 Travelers’ Choice Awards for Top Hotels. We rank #6 in Costa Rica and #7 in all of Central America in the “Family” category! This is because of reviewers like you, so muchas gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.2 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
171 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
344 reviews
1.9 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
623 reviews
3.4 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bambu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bambu Resort

Address: Playa Pan Dulce, Cabo Matapalo 0000000, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: $115 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a secluded five acres of pristine rainforest beachfront in one of the most biologically diverse areas on earth, this unique resort lets you escape civilization while safely and comfortably enjoying countless natural wonders. The property fronts on Playa Pan Dulce, famous for it's long right point surf break, an SUP surfers dream break. Located in the same vast rainforest as Corcovado Park, Casa Bambu Resort is on the tip of the Osa Peninsula, where the rainforest meets the sea. After visiting our house, Lonely Planet recommends Casa Bambu Resort as a place to visit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Bambu Resort Hotel Osa Peninsula
Casa Bambu Hotel
Hotel Casa Bambu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing