We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could live there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Encanta La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Encanta La Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Wish we could live there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We've had such a wonderful time during our stay at Encanta La Vida! The food was delicious, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were perfectly integrated in the surrounding gardens and gave a good possibility to spot monkeys and other animals. It's located in one of the most beautiful places on earth with remote beaches and stunning nature! We really enjoyed this paradise and hope to come back one day.
Olaf & Jan

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf_Jan1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    18
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
69
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Thank you so much Encanta La Vida staff (Brian, Gretchen, Marvin, Santos, Yorleni, etc) for a wonderful wedding setting. The yoga deck is an ideal place not only for yoga, massage, and meditation, but also an exceptional place to be married, overlooking the Golfo Dulce and amongst the sounds of the rainforest. Andrew, our families and friends were delighted with the hospitatlity we received from the ELV staff. My mom loved Italian night and the Sunday Brunch and pool party the day after the wedding were moments we will cherish for the rest of our lives. We couldn't have picked a better spot to get married. Good food, good service, clean rooms, attentive staff. Thanks again!!! Elizabeth & Andrew Kelsey

Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ChavelitaOsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

An amazing way to stay in the beautiful and remote town of Matapalo where you are immersed in the Corcavado rainforest. You see all 4 types of monkeys, tucans, macaws, sloths, and are a 20 minute hike from a gourgeous waterfall.

The Encanta gives you an amazing base for all this unique eco adventure, provides modern nice cabins with electricity, hot water, and gorgeous wooden decks with hammocks for lounging and enjoying the tropical forrest.

The three meals a day served family style to all the guests are always a highlight and everyone talks about how amazing it is to be eating three course meals in middle of the jungle.

Oh yea, and the sufing is pretty decent too.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willgar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Encanta La Vida on six different occasions and we keep wanting to go back. We stay for 2-3 weeks at a time
The price includes meals so you don't have to worry about where to eat or carrying money around and the food is fresh and delicious.
If you are into shopping and room service this is not the place for you, it is very isolated.
If you want to enjoy the jungle sounds, plants, animals, beach, surfing, stars and relaxing by the pool or hammock then this is the spot.
It is located on the Oso Peninsula next to one of the largest nature preserves in Costa Rica and you can see all types of monkeys, birds and other wild life. The surfing is also excellent.
We stay in the Pole House because we like the large deck that surrounds the second floor and I can practice yoga there.
We love this place and plan on returning again and again, you really feel like you can get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimShermanOaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2010

Encanta La Vida lives up to its name! Four star hotel amenities surrounded by lush forest and beach territory, with monkeys, macaws, and other wildlife close by. Beautiful rainforest beaches to rent a board and surf. Staff is very approachable, helpful, and kind. My fiance and I are looking into having our wedding Encanta La Vida style.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aimee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wilmington, nc
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

Our extended family stayed at the lodge for a week and everyone had a wonderful time... surfing, hiking, zip lining through the canopy, bird watching, observing the local flora and fauna...
The staff was very accomodating, the lodge was clean, the food was wonderful. We can't say enough good about the whole experience!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobphilpott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

Our stay at the Encanta La Vida Rainforest Lodge completely exceeded our expectations. The staff was above and beyond helpful, approachable, enjoyable and sincere. We stayed in the Honeymoon Cabina which was so secluded and beautiful; we felt like we had our own house in Costa Rica with a front yard! The grounds and amenities were spick and span clean. The temperature of the pool was perfect and refreshing. And the Pina Colada's were out of this world! The three meals a day were all served with perfection, it was a great introduction to the typical Costa Rican cuisine. We will recommend this lodge to everyone!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelIsKey22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.5 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
13.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
3.5 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
8.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encanta La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanta La Vida

Property: Encanta La Vida
Address: Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encanta La Vida is an all inclusive jungle retreat located amidst the beautiful beaches of Cabo Matapalo. The hotel offers direct access to amazing wildlife and world class surf, and features a stunning, private, chemical free soft water swimming pool - the only of its kind in Matapalo! Encanta La Vida is the ideal vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and surfers alike. Garden trails lead you to private cabinas nestled throughout the property. The beautifully landscaped grounds provide privacy and wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities. Our rooms are clean and spacious with queen-sized beds and open decks. Enjoy three DELICIOUS meals a day in the Encanta La Vida restaurant featuring fresh fruits, veggies and meats all locally grown or caught off shore. The hotel bar is located just off the swimming pool and serves up blended tropical drinks and ice cold beer. Encanta La Vida is also a fun and easy destination for family reunions, weddings and yoga groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Encanta La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanta La Vida Hotel Osa Peninsula
Encanta La Vida Osa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing