We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STUNNINGLY BACK IN TIME...”
Review of Encanta La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Encanta La Vida
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Beautiful! Be ready to rough it a little... No A/C but the area in May was bare-able at night. Rainy season is for real. Anticipate that. Didn't take away from the beauty in any way. Just felt excited to "dry up" after a week. Shower towels didn't even dry during the day. Keeping their "off the grid" "enviro" trend going, it was sometimes difficult deciding between asking for dry towels and/or going 3 straight days of drying yourself with a wet towel. Seems trivial but that's literally the only downside I found. Amazing food, amazing area. Pricey but understandable after realizing how far and removed you are. Can't be cheap to get supplies out there. Not fancy but charming and full of character.

AREA: Not suited for inconsiderate, know-it-alls. If you have any disrespect for the environment, ocean, other humans or have a selfish attitude on a point break or that co-existing is just a hippie thing and that you think that people around you should just accept how "you" feel like spending your time, then you will stand out like a soar thumb and be pushed out of that area by Cosmic & Spiritual Energy...you wouldn't even understand how or why people are so happy just relaxing, going to bed early, appreciating health and quality surf. You would be depressed from the simple thought that you will never achieve that level of self-actualisation and contentment without getting s$%^faced every night. That's what Daytona Beach is for... I hear that the drinks are 2 for 1!! Please reschedule. :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank WEEZLIKETRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great service! Amazing space integrated with the jungle! Relaxing and adventurous at the same time! Visiting the Osa peninsula is a must in Costa Rica. We stayed at Encanta La Vida and had an amazing time. We were so remote from everything but there is so much to do and see. If you love to surf, this is the place for you. We went hiking, swimming and horseback riding. The yoga deck overlooks the beach and the classes makes you feel great. you have to get a massage when you are at Encanta. you will love their spa and all the organic products that they use made in costa rica. There is also a farmers market on Friday nights and dancing. The helpful staff at Encanta recommended and organized all the activities we did, and we couldn't be more grateful for the amazing experience there. Last but not least, we got to see three different type of monkeys hanging out, eating bananas and jumping from tree to tree at Encanta. Thank you for all the recommendations Kate! Beat memories!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelaKaramela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

ELV is a great place to stay. Staff is great! Lots of wildlife. Massage was fabulous and yoga deck is very scenic! Howler monkeys every morning. And the pool is a wonderful way to cool off. Can't wait til next year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The Osa Peninsula is definitely worth visiting and Cabo Matapalo offers beautiful nature at the mouth of Golfo Dulce.
After visiting Panama and PN Corcovado we ment to treat our selves to 4 days of luxurious beach relaxing, which did cost as much as the 2 1/2 weeks before.
Pros:
- friendly and alert staff
- abundant wildlife
- good cooking
Cons:
- overpriced; considering the run down bathrooms & furniture, small portions of food, extra charges for any kind of activity
- the owners run this place in a typically "expat-yet-US-rooted-style"; after having made warm encounters with locals in Panama and Costa Rica, ELV made us feel like invading colonials. You just get the impression that this place lacks a spirit of responsibility for the local culture/ society.
If you do not really look for contact with local culture and do not have to keep to close of an eye on your budget ELV seems a reasonable choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank colaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Encanta La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Encanta La Vida supports the local schools in our area and surrounding towns of Puerto Jimenez in fundraisers and/or conservation events.

Encanta La Vida guests come from around the world to enjoy the Osa Peninsula on their vacation -- surf, hike, enjoy wildlife and RELAX. Our staff is Costa Rican and they take great care in making our guests comfortable. Our Chefs prepare GREAT food and guests chose hotels like ours so they don't have to cook on vacation.

Encanta La Vida is not responsible for the socio-political issues of the world (such as colonialism). We are also NOT responsible for the extinction of the dinosaurs if anyone wonders.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A friend of mine had heard some rave reviews of Encanta La Vida from her sister, who had also heard rave reviews from a close friend. So for her birthday, three friends set out for ELV. We all loved it. It definitely lived up to the hype. Our room was adorable and clean (we stayed upstairs, in the main house, which has a nice patio just outside the room, see picture). The staff was incredibly accommodating, particularly Oscar, Kate and Julian, who were so helpful. We got to use to the on-site yoga studio a couple times and visit the gorgeous beaches nearby everyday. The food was divine—fresh and delicious. I loved this place so much, I want to make it an annual tradition and I seem to be suggesting it to EVERYONE!

Room Tip: That friend's sister suggested we request the room upstairs so, that's we did and were very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Rustic setting is just what you would expect in the jungle. Meals were very good served family style affording you the opportunity to meet other travellers and share experience. You will see more wildlife poolside than all of the national parks. Many tours offered but check prices ahead as they seem fluid. So here we are in the jungle monkeys all around and at thebar we find a world class mixilogist in Julian! Pura Vida indeed.
we hiked waterfalls had a guided nature tour and Kate provided an excellent massage.
Road is doable in your 4x4 rental car but go slow there are many hazards.
Gratuities and unreliable wifi are extras.

Room Tip: Pole House 1or2 or honeymoon suite or delude rooms.
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank teafolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I spent a week here with a group on a yoga retreat. Everything was perfect, a little primitive for some but I wasn't looking for ordinary. I felt at home in this paradise. Everyone did their job exceptionally well, but more importantly, made personal connections feel natural. Food, bar, housekeeping was wonderful. Kate made my feet feel fabulous with a reflexology treatment. Nature hike with Andy was enlightening, paddle boarding with Pollo - he was patient with this exhausted 57 year old woman. Just sitting and watching the birds, bugs and other creatures was fantastic, the fragrance of ylang ylang wafted through the yard from time to time. Getting there from San Jose was a perfect adventure. Flying with Sansa was great, arriving beside the cemetery was interesting, the trip to ELV w Denise and return w/ Chon was great. Language differences do not stop communication. I completed my trip with an evening conversation with a 5 year old boy from Sweden (we did a lot of pointing to animal pictures) he knew no English and I knew only a swedish nursery rhyme. Stopping in the church by the runway Sunday morning capped off my visit. Santo, Santo, Santo Senor.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Theresa H, General Manager at Encanta La Vida, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

It was our pleasure to host your group! We hope you'll come back again soon and bring your family and/or friends! Good luck in 2013 and remember to ENJOY everyday!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
8.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
353 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
10.1 mi away
Cabinas Jimenez
Cabinas Jimenez
#2 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
553 reviews
18.3 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encanta La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanta La Vida

Address: Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: $269 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Encanta La Vida 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encanta La Vida is an all inclusive jungle retreat located amidst the beautiful beaches of Cabo Matapalo. The hotel offers direct access to amazing wildlife and world class surf, and features a stunning, private, chemical-free soft-water swimming pool - the only of its kind in Matapalo! Encanta La Vida is the ideal vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and surfers alike. Garden trails lead you to private cabinas nestled throughout the property. The beautifully landscaped grounds provide privacy and wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities. Our rooms are clean and spacious with queen-sized beds and open decks. Enjoy three DELICIOUS meals a day in the Encanta La Vida restaurant featuring fresh fruits, veggies and meats all locally grown or caught off shore. The hotel bar is located just off the swimming pool and serves up blended tropical drinks and ice cold beer. Encanta La Vida is also a fun and easy destination for family reunions, weddings, and yoga groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Encanta La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanta La Vida Hotel Osa Peninsula
Encanta La Vida Osa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing