We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Encanta La Vida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Encanta La Vida
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3nights. It was perfect. We absolutely loved the food. I wish i could do the same red tuna we had for supper one day, amazing. Pool was nice and refreshing. Everything was just perfect. We saw lots of monkeys around and other animals. Staff was friendly, room very clean. Shower was outside our cottage and with no hot water really, however it was not a problem as outside was so so hot. I would go back in this area in a minute.

It was a wonderful experience.

Thanks to the staff!
Andree M

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    18
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
69
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I just returned from traveling in Costa Rica with a university group from the US. Moving a group of seventeen people around Costa Rica can be challenging under the best of circumstances, but getting a large group onto the Osa Peninsula and into Corcovado National Park can seem downright daunting. However, our experience was flawless - due in large part to the help with planning and coordination by our hosts at Encanta La Vida.

With their help we transferred our group and gear from Pt. Jimenez to the hotel using pre-arranged 4-wheel drive vehicles. The trip in featured amazing scenery and wildlife along rough roads and included several stream crossings (You can probably guess what the students thought about that!)
Encanta La Vida is a spectacular private lodge located a short walk from some of the best surfing beaches in Costa Rica. They hosted our large group with ease, providing a level service and amenities that I would expect to find if I was traveling with my wife and/or family. The food was excellent - some of the best we had during our month long program.
In a country known for wildlife - the Osa Peninsula is Costa Rica distilled down to its pure essence. Abundant, diverse and active the wildlife is literally surrounding the hotel. For example, we saw three of the four species of monkeys found in Costa Rica right from the hotel pool. As a nature guide I almost feel guilty – almost!

We came to the Osa Peninsula to visit Corcovado National Park. However, Matapalo is only part way to entrance of Corcovado National Park. Getting to the La Leona station requires another 4-wheel drive trip and a 3 km hike along the beach. Again, Encanta La Vida was essential in arranging the logistics, including transportation and entrance fees into the park.
Our programs specialize in taking student groups away from the more touristy areas of Costa Rica, avoiding the crowds found at Manuel Antonio and Monteverde National Parks. We work to provide a unique experience for our students, and Encanta La Vida is the perfect venue for exploring the Osa Peninsula and Corcovado National Park.

Robert Tournay
Tropical Adventures in Education, LLC

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
playa matapalo
1 review
Reviewed September 17, 2012

i would like to thank everyone at encanta la vida - we had a great time. the service and accommodations exceeded expectations. the food was excellent, healthy – made with love. the wild life - amazing with monkeys coming up to our deck rails – birds everywhere. absolutely beautiful. the other guest we met where kind, friendly and gracious. my nephew, chris is still taking about this experience.

thank you and see you soon
carlos

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tortugas m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Or
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a 45 minute (maximum speed} 4 wheel drive thru primitive roads and creeks of various depths and sizes in the jungle we arrived at this amazing property. It has private individual bungaloes perfect for honeymoons , all meals provided and delicious/healthy. Pool and pool bar as well as isolated seaside yoga deck equipped with certified instructor. All of this in the midst of 4 type monkeys and other jungle plants and birds. The resort is a short walk to 2 different difficulty surfing beaches on a path to the yoga deck.
The staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable about the Osa. We became acquainted with all employees including the owner Brian. Front desk Terry was so efficient. Cooking staff quiet but excellent A very relaxing and easy place to spend time. Much more can be said but read other reviews.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful property with wildlife all around, amazing food and service, fin and friendly staff, and an all around good time. Perfect place to stay for a surf trip, honeymoon, or just to get a way. I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else after my 5-star experience at Encanta La Vida.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2012

At Encanta La Vida you will be loving your life! There are plants of all kinds, including banana trees, coconut trees and a whole forest of chocolate trees! They even have troops of monkies who will come through to say hi. They had a new cook who cooked amazing food and the staff was so nice and helpful and really fun to hang out with! Several of my best waves here when we first arrived and it broke in the morning. I have these amazing memories of huge waves and warm sun and watching the jungle behind the beach, and the scarlet macaws circling overhead.

Go here you will not be dissapointed

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is amazingly nice, go here if you are with your significant other
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Friends had described how amazing their experiences had been at Encanta La Vida as a seasoned traveler to adventure/Eco friendly natural respites I've come to appreciate that many different people like a wide variety of experiences for different reasons and one "AMAZING" experience for someone could actually be an uncomfortable nightmare for another. Especially out in remote jungles. So i usually take thise reciews in context. Simply put at encanta la vida if you aren't enjoying yourself its simply because your not ready to let yourself go. The delights are everywhere, in the natural warm embrace of the wonderfully inviting staff, giggly chefs, speedy charismatic bartender, and of course the manager Terry who has the pace of a hummingbird and the heart of mother Theresa makes sure you have what you need to enjoy the most out of your time in the exotic paradise. The lively sounds of the lush jungle the stunningly colorful beauty and the ocean, just steps away where bath warm water awaits, I was blown away and so were all of our group members. Shhhhh don't tell too many this little gem is hard to reach by design. Those who love and respect mother earth are rewarded greatly here in paradise! Give up an attachment to a hot shower and allow yourself to deeply enjoy all the rest.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SundrisHealth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.5 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
0.3 mi away
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
0.6 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 40 in Osa Peninsula
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
314 reviews
8.1 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
331 reviews
11.9 mi away
Lookout Inn Lodge
Lookout Inn Lodge
#1 of 6 in Carate
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Encanta La Vida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Encanta La Vida

Property: Encanta La Vida
Address: Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Encanta La Vida is an all inclusive jungle retreat located amidst the beautiful beaches of Cabo Matapalo. The hotel offers direct access to amazing wildlife and world class surf, and features a stunning, private, chemical free soft water swimming pool - the only of its kind in Matapalo! Encanta La Vida is the ideal vacation spot for families, honeymooners, and surfers alike. Garden trails lead you to private cabinas nestled throughout the property. The beautifully landscaped grounds provide privacy and wonderful wildlife viewing opportunities. Our rooms are clean and spacious with queen-sized beds and open decks. Enjoy three DELICIOUS meals a day in the Encanta La Vida restaurant featuring fresh fruits, veggies and meats all locally grown or caught off shore. The hotel bar is located just off the swimming pool and serves up blended tropical drinks and ice cold beer. Encanta La Vida is also a fun and easy destination for family reunions, weddings and yoga groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Encanta La Vida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Encanta La Vida Hotel Osa Peninsula
Encanta La Vida Osa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing