We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Bambu Resort(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (882)
Filter reviews
882 results
Traveler rating
828
42
5
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
828
42
5
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspacific trailsuspension bridgebreakfast and lunchresident biologistdeluxe cabinaother guestsscarlet macawshiking trailscosta ricatide poolsprimary forest tourtropical gardenanimal sanctuarymaintained trailssunset tourowners phil and kimtree climbing
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
509 - 514 of 882 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Bosque del Cabo is my personal slice of eco-heaven, and the perfect place for us to get married. After a worldwide search for a less logistically challenged wedding location than The Gambia, West Africa (where I had served with the US Peace Corps and originally planned to get married), we decided on the Osa peninsula. Bosque del Cabo won us over with its pristine natural beauty, stunning accommodations, reports of great food, and wide variety of adventurous activities. Each moment of our two week stay there was pleasant surprise after pleasant surprise. The view from the deck of Congo cabin took our breath away, as did the culinary masterpieces of Bosque's sassy chef Moraine. Prepare for a little entertainment with your dinner when she emerges from the kitchen (and if you're over the age of eight, beware of ordering a grilled cheese sandwich)!

Amid all of the waterfalls, hiking, beaches, swimming, surfing, rappelling, bird watching, yoga, birds, animals, guided nature tours, etc, we had a wedding! All of the pieces of the puzzle came together like clockwork, and every little thing turned out better than we planned. Many small touches added even more sparkle - Kim and Phil (owners) put bags and bags of sawdust down on the paths (rainy season = muddy paths), we had a lovely bar with mimosas at the ceremony, we were covered with falling flower petals at the end of our ceremony, my bride zip-lined down to the ceremony in her enormous wedding dress WITH her dad - SAFELY, the flower girl (our niece) was super brave on the zip-line with me, our wedding day was the only day in the two weeks we were there that it didn't rain (we love rain, but wedding dresses don't), the musicians were incredible, we had a wonderful yoga session the morning of the wedding overlooking the ocean, the gourmet meals were ceaseless and spectacular, the schedule was flexible, the guests even got massages after our ceremony and before the reception, and the grounds were beautifully decorated. Our ceremony was in the morning, we had drinks and tapas by the pool bar for lunch, then re-convened at the Palenque for our reception dinner and dancing in the evening. For our wedding and throughout our stay, the staff treated us and our guests like family.

I can't say enough about the professionalism and generosity of Bosque's owners and our hosts Kim and Phil. They bent over backwards for us - literally for months before our arrival and while we were there - to make our wedding beyond perfect. They remodeled their whole Palenque area for our reception, they hooked us up with a righteous band, a fantastic vegan cake maker, stunning flowers, and even cancelled plans to attend their kids' school event so they could attend our wedding!

Bosque del Cabo is my idea of heaven on earth. Since I left, I have been trying to figure out how to get back there and stay for longer. Wish me luck.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank apeironian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have been to Bosque the past 2 summers. It is a family friendly environment. My children, ages 9 and 12, have had experiences that most people will only dream about having. We loved looking in the trees above us and seeing howler and spider monkeys. The grounds are absolutely breathtaking, crews are constantly maintaining the flora. The food is amazing! We never had a meal we didn't like and my children learned to eat new foods. We hiked to the waterfall which was the most amazing experience. In our down time, my girls loved swimming in the pool, sipping on shakes the bartender created for them. One of our favorite excursions was the boat tour where we saw boas, crocs, and had about 15-20 dolphins playing and jumping in the waves from our boat. The cabinas have everything you need, beautiful mosaic tile bathtubs and granite countertops, while maintaining the beauty of nature around you in an outdoor shower. We have absolutely loved our trips to Bosque and hope to return in 2013.

Room Tip: There are different size/style cabinas depending on your family size. Some have showers only and others have separate showers with bathtubs.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just returned from 5 nights at Bosque del Cabo. It was a wonderful place to stay. The grounds and cabinas were beautiful and comfortable.

There were wonderful experiences to be had right on the grounds by the restaurant, pool, and cabinas. In that area alone we saw beautiful chestnut mandibled toucans, red legged honeycreepers, Cherries' Tanagers, Howler, Spider, and Capuchin monkeys, green-eyed tree frogs, and more. The flowers and trees are well maintained and form a magnificent setting for the wildlife there.

We stayed in the Bambu cabina. It was a beautiful setting at the edge of the trees. There were often monkeys and toucans right outside our cabina. We had an ocean view from our deck with rocking chairs and a hammock for us to relax and enjoy the sights. The cabina was screened and comfortable even without air conditioning. The outdoor shower was very enjoyable. I know that someone posted a comment about no hot water in their room, but our experience was that it took a few minutes sometimes for the hot water to warm up, but there was always plenty of it.

The restaurant has delicious, fresh heathy food with tasty accommodations made for vegetarians and gluten free guests. The wait staff are wonderful, friendly, and very eager to assist you.

The lodge has well maintained trails that will take you to sunny lagoons where an Amazon Kingfisher waits for a meal to swim by while parrots eat berries on the surrounding bushes. You can also hike across a solidly constructed (but still fun to swing on) suspension bridge to a shadowy pool below a beautiful waterfall. You can swim in the cool, clear waters of the waterfall pool before you hike back to the lodge. One of the trails leads to the Vista View platform where you can watch the beautiful tropical sunrise as the rainforest awakes. You will be surrounded by bird calls and the howler monkeys awakening for another gorgeous day on the Osa Peninsula.

The lodge has on site naturalists who lead excellent hikes that will give you a much better understanding of the environment and wildlife in the rainforest. We especially enjoyed the night walk with Philip where we came to realize how many and varied the insects, frogs, and lizards in the area are. Carlos is the resident bird expert and always was helpful with our questions. As a matter of fact, many of the photographs in famous nature photographer Roy Toft's book about the Osa Peninsula come from the area around this lodge.

This was our first visit to Bosque del Cabo, but we plan to return again next year! It was a magical place in the rainforest run by wonderful people who are actively engaged in the conservation of the Osa rainforest.

Joy

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnjoyinLife99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Our family of 10, 6 adults ages 41 to 73, and 4 children ages 7 to 10, chose Bosque del Cabo on the recommendation of friends as a place to have a unique family experience in a natural, rain forest setting. We stayed 8 days, and were not disappointed.
The accommodations were comfortable, and the food was plentiful and delicious. The staff was wonderful and, too. There were plenty of activities available to keep everyone of all ages busy and entertained for at least a week. The on staff naturalists and local experts provided nature watching programs geared to both young children and adults. Bosque's location within its own rain forest preserve provided opportunities to experience first hand one of the world's most
important eco systems.
Our grandchildren were the perfect age to absorb a great deal of information although they were not quite ready for the longer educational tours of 3 to 4 hours. I would hesitate, however, to recommend Bosque for children much younger than our grandchildren. They have to be aware of their surroundings and understanding of the dangers posed by a few poisonous and dangerous critters.
We were at Bosque during the Christmas holiday time for school children, and were joined by several other families with similar interests and values. We were struck by how much we had in common with these other families, and the camaraderie that developed between us was one of the things we liked best about Bosque.
I know that Bosque is also popular with couples on a romantic get away, but school holiday are not the best times to enjoy absolute peace and solitude. Anytime, however, is a good time for the serious nature lover and for families with children and grandchildren of all ages above 6 or 7 who want to introduce the children to the wonders of the natural world.

Room Tip: Casa Miramar is a great place for a large family of 8 to 10.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimandhebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights at Bosque with a photography group.

This place is incredible. Everything from the natural setting to the amazing food to the wonderful staff to the accomodations are top flight. You forget that you are as far from civilization as you are. Every step is taken to make sure that you are comfortable and happy. I could not find a single thing to complain about except the guests who were busy complaining that it was hot and that there were bugs. This is not the place for those who want a fancy hotel room or cabanas on the beach.

It is definitely a place that I hope to return to someday.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mariposa room at the very edge of the rainforest. We had monkeys and toucans outside of our door each morning. Very lovely room with an outdoor shower and pool.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rellandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews