We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, you want to go HERE!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 10, 2007

Yes, you want to go here...although I'm sure the other reviews are enough to tell you this. My wife and I traveled to Lapa Rios for our honeymoon several months back and had a most wonderful time. If you love nature and seclusion this is where to go. Rather than listing off all of the common remarks others have, perhaps a couple tips for those considering going to Lapa Rios would be helpful: (1) Yes, there is LOTS of walking. The best animals to find are the deepest into the forest, and some of the bugalows are a hike away from the lodge. I will say, however, my wife and I had the farthest bungalow away, and this allowed us to be the closest to the wildlife. Often, the monkeys only venture so far into the bungalow area, and we were fortunate to have several acrobatics performed for us. (2) Bring a camera case...the humidity will get into the camera and cause damage if it is not in a dry place. (3) Get the "award winning" Lapa Rios pancakes and Ayote muffins. Breakfast is the best! And you CAN order multiple items on the menu, so don't be shy. (4) Take advantage of the morning coffee delivery. You will probably need it, and you can sit on your back porch sipping Costa Rican coffee while the forest comes to life. (5) If you are staying overnight in San Jose the night before venturing to Lapa Rios, we highly recommend the Mariott... It is far beyond expectation of what the chain normally offers - the decor and food is exceptional! (6) Howler monkeys are LOUD. They sound like bears, not other monkey species, like squirrel monkeys. (7) Edwin and Antonio were our favorite guides. The bird walk, morning or sunset with Edwin was wonderful - he even printed us out a specialized list over the 37 bird species we spotted. (8) The Osa Trail is the best hike. (9) Plan on wanting to come back!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ryanmcbain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 615 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2007

Everything great about this amazing place has already been written. Our mistake was not being as alert as we should have about the humidity and numbers of steps to cabins 9-14. The web site says you can not request a specific cabana, but if one has any problem with steps, about 160-170, or 100% humidity all the time, you should seriously think about staying at Lapa Rios. The elevation change is 150ft from our room (11) to the main lodge with dining room and pool. The beach is also way down as the main lodge is at about 365ft. above sea level. Insects were not a problem. Fans are quiet and move the air. Take the Eco Tour of how the place is totally eco oriented and helps the local community.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank hadley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2006

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank aprilgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2006

Everything about this place is as wonderful as everyone has said in the reviews!! I don't think I could ever visit this area of Costa Rica and stay any place else!! We are already talking about taking another trip there with our children. I can't wait to see their faces when monkeys jump of the roof of the bungalow and into the trees, just in front of the deck. It was unbelievable they were everywhere and it was so much fun just to sit and watch them. Every morning the howler monkeys awake you at 5:15 (no need for an alarm clock, they're quite punctual). Then hot coffee is delivered to your door at 6am, you can sit outside and watch the rainforest come alive. We were able to see all four types of monkeys while we were there, most from the privacy of our deck. Too many birds to even begin naming, but toucans seemed to be the most prevalent. I highly recommend the "sustainability tour" it's incredible to see what goes on behind the scenes and the care that is taken to preserve this beautiful place. If you don't take the tour you would never know that there are four pigs nearby and the reason they are there will astound you (and no they are not for bacon!). There is too much to say about this wonderful place and if you're thinking about going you definitely won't be disappointed!! Make sure to take extra t-shirts, there is usually a breeze blowing off the ocean, but you will sweat when walking around. Also, mosquitoes were not a problem at all while we were there. I only got bit once and never wore bug repellent, usually if there is a mosquito in a ten mile radius they'll find me!!! I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank chefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2006

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank mumblinggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

Everything was wonderful. Our room, the views, the monkeys and birds. And I can't believe how good the food was concidering how far it had to come.

If your thinking of visiting Costa Rica, be sure to spend some time here. You will love it.

2  Thank TheresaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank jmaglicic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
169 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: $872 - $1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing