We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 3, 2006

I just returned from Costa Rica and the Lapa Rios lodge is amazing. Complete eco experience, with top luxury touches. Unbeatable service, great food, knowledgeable guides. Highly recommended.

6  Thank daffypuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

561 - 567 of 615 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2006

Lapa Rios has won many travel awards and testaments to the lodge and to eco-tourism are displayed prominently throughout the building. However, this is probably the first destination where the reality of the place actually exceeds all that is written about it. From the moment of arrival, you are made to feel like a very honoured guest. Everything is so well organised and the staff carry out their tasks with such a quiet efficiency that you just know everything will work and be wonderful. Bungalows are all the same and are designed and situated to give maximum privacy. If you are not able to walk well, it is definitely recommended that you request room numbers 1 & 2 as there are a number of steps and gradients between all the other rooms and the reception area. However, you do spot loads of wildlife on your walks from the rooms to the public areas. All rooms have a huge decked area with sunbeds, garden furniture and a hammock, where you can just while away the time watching the birdlife, the monkeys and the calm waters of the Golfo Dulce. The food is excellent (we bought the cookbook) and is on a full board basis. It prepared and served by local people with the same friendly, calm efficiency as everything else. There are a diverse number of tours available ranging from easy, gentle walks to long hikes and nights spent out in the jungle - something for everyone in fact. The pool area is quiet and restful and is kept beautifully. Most guests typically spend 3/4 nights here, but I would really recommend that if you can, spend a week (or more). It charges top rates but is worth every cent!

11  Thank The Penguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2006

Lapa Rios was our first experience in "eco-tourism" and I should say that our visit there was not inspired by that genre of tourism. My wife and I, both in our early fifties, were just trying to get away, for the first time by ourselves, and Costa Rica and LR fell into our itinerary. We both have come away inspired by the LR mission and the experience that we had there as participants.

The accomadations and food experiences were unique. Each of the bungaloes are completely private one from the other. We stayed in #16. The bungaloes are all placed on a descending slope from the Main Lodge, which in our case meant 189 steps up. I viewed the walk back and forth as guilt free enjoyment of the exquisite food offered!

Lapa Rios is enjoyed by people that are interested in hiking and learning about the rain forest. Because we love to hike, and entered into the experience with no other expectations, we loved it. Our guides were welcoming, extremely knowledgeable. You can take as much as you want from the hiking and educational side of the offerings, or just sit and wait for the Scarlet Macaws to fly by, or Howler Monkeys to wake you.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Porch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
15
Reviewed January 20, 2006

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lilacrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Akron, OH
18
Reviewed December 4, 2005

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2005

  • Stayed: November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank blueskies2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#2 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
621 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#4 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
342 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 5 in Cabo Matapalo
169 reviews
18.0 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range: $872 - $1,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing