We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ark”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Ark”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lapa was truly magical. A serenade of 8-10 Scarlet Macaws were the alarm clock every day. The property was amazing. Nearby waterfalls, a good beach (albeit a tad rocky for surf & swim). Primary and secondary forest. The guides were lovely and truly invested in what they do, I got a much deeper connection with the jungle through their collective wisdom. The rest of the staff was amazing and warm. It is by far the most immersive wildlife experience I've ever had, with every corner moving, flying, crawling, leaping from branch to branch, etc. I truly came back different, possibly more animal; less wasteful human. We really need to get it together, People. And if you need that reminder, go here and live amongst the beautiful creatures and see why. It's probably the most important thing you can do. BRAVO LAPA RIOS!

Room Tip: If you can't do a million stairs, make it known. It's a crazy trek up if you are below a cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    47
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
143
331
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

We loved our experience at Lapa Rios. From the moment we arrived and were greeted with fresh coconut milk to seeing the four kinds of monkeys, armadillos, toucans, macaws, poison dart frogs and so much more, to waterfall repelling, zip-lining, swimming, surfing, morning, day and night hikes; enjoying great food, and meeting the exceptionally sweet and knowledgeable staff, we did not ever want to leave. It was an adventure we will never forget.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Absolutely breathtaking!! A great vacation for any family looking to reconnect with nature!

From check in to check out the service was flawless. Marlon and Roberto knew our familie's names from day one. They were friendly and anticipated our needs with our young children. The food was exquisite and the beverages felt like drinking the tropics! The bungalows were immaculately clean and recently updated. The exotic animals where everywhere. Our children ages 12, 10 and 8 where mesmerized with the diverse and exotic wildlife, the hikes provided by Lapa Rios exceeded our expectations. The guides where extremely knowledgeable about the Rainforest and surrounding landforms and there wasn't one question that went unanswered.

Overall, it was the best family vacation!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Vivian,
greetings to all of you from the Osa Peninsula. Thank you bringing your family to Lapa Rios and writing such a wonderful review. We are very happy to hear that we met the expectations of your 8 year old son as well as the rest of the family. Lapa Rios is a great destiination for families with children older than 6. It is like a biology classroom in the rainforest and a great way to see the real world and leave the i-pads and i-pods behind for a while. Of course we are very happy that you were also so impressed with the food, drinks, the bungalows and of course the service you received. We hope your review will inspire other families to come to Lapa Rios during their vacations. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2014

A great lodge with great service. The guides and servers were outstanding. The views from the cabinas and lodge were breath taking. Watching the monkeys and macaws from above was just incredible. Despite being in the jungle, everything was very clean. No bug problems at all, anywhere. The only mark below excellent was sleep and that is because you are in the jungle literally. The Howler Monkeys set their alarm clock earlier than most people. But, you get used to it. A great vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank korfist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Go there for the sense of connecting with nature, in a pristine rainforest, with amazing diversity of animals and birds in the wild.
Comfortable screened cabins, all with views.
Fantastic pool overlooking the ocean.
Excellent guides for hikes.
Wake up to the sound of howler monkeys and remain undisturbed by technology (no cell reception, no wifi, no tv).
Service is very polite and attentive (although with few women on staff, betraying the Spanish-catholic influence to this day of keeping women at home...)
Outstanding attention to ecology: food leftovers are recycled into methane gas for cooking, for example.
Food is good to very good, always fresh, but this is not a gastronomic destination.
Only rate value as average because it is expensive.

Room Tip: All rooms have views of the ocean, but the majority also face south, so they get hotter during the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank el_cato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Wow! Lapa Rios is an outstanding resort!! The bungalows are very nice, with gorgeous views of the ocean. You are right in the middle of the rainforest, with howling monkeys and other exotic animals. The food is covered in the price, and the quality of the food is excellent. The onsite tours and guides are also excellent. Great to know that you are staying in a resort that is focused on sustainability. The most special thing about this place, however, is the service! The staff is SO friendly and wants to go out of their way to make your experience special. I would definitely go back, and recommend this place to all!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My daughter and I stayed for a week, just before the rainy season. This is an incredible place for nature lovers. Absolutely beautiful views from the bungalows. The first one we stayed in (#11) was pretty far from the main lodge. A sweaty hike up to the main lodge and a painful on old knees hike down. It was very private, shaded by Sea Almond trees which were a regular stop-off of the Scarlet Macaws. They were very nice and switched us to #7 when it became available and was a lot closer, a bit sunnier with a broader view. The lodge is located on a private reserve so without even leaving the property you can hike in primary and secondary forest, to a swimmable waterfall and down to the beach. The guides (included in the price) were excellent, each with their own style, Valerie and Guillermo were the best. We also took a surf lesson at Playa Dulce, (excellent easy waves but rocky bottom), went horseback riding and zip lining - all outside tours that cost extra. The staff was excellent and very kind, putting up with my not very good Spanish. Most of the visitors are gringos. We loved the fact that Lapa Rios cares about the community, hiring locals, financing a school and preserving native plants and animals. They use low energy bulbs, bamboo sheets, drink straws made of reeds(!). There is no music, strong perfumes or cleaning smells, air conditioning or bright lights at night. Just the Howler Monkeys and Macaws to wake you up. They arranged our flight from San Jose (we flew Nature Air and Sansa) and picked us up at the "airport" in Puerto Jimenez. We drank the tap water which comes out of a spring and ate everything and did not have any troubles. Definitely bring a water bottle (or they can give you one) and a flashlight. Don't miss the night walk and waterfall walk, We also did the bird walks, medicinal plants walk and Ridge Trail walk which was through a gorgeous primary forest with giant trees, anteaters, sloths, monkeys and too many birds to count. The bungalows are screened and the beds covered by mosquito netting but I definitely advise bringing a bag you can live out of and zip up every day since there are some cockroaches, grasshoppers, geckos spiders etc. (a baby centipede in my bed) sharing your room. The bungalows were very clean but the reason you're going is the nature and it's all around. I always shook out my shoes and used a flashlight at night if I got out of bed. There were multiple sightings of the Fer de Lance while we were there although we didn't see it - their advice to always look where you step is smart. On top of all the nature it's actually very luxurious, there's a small pool too. Alcohol costs extra.

Room Tip: low number bungalows are closer to the main lodge. Higher numbers closer to walking to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#4 of 45 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
9.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 12 in Golfito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.7 mi away
Iguana Lodge
Iguana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Property: Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing