We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Decision for a Honey Moon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula to your Saves list
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free night-includes food
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersGold level
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Best Decision for a Honey Moon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We came to Lapa Rios for our honeymoon and it was the best decision we made.

With incredibly friendly and helpful staff, Lapa Rios made us feel like family the moment we arrived and were greeted with fruit juice. The land is spectacular. You're right in the jungle and a 10 minute walk to the beach.

We spent 1 week there and didn't feel like we wanted to leave. We absolutely enjoyed every moment.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KristenLKavalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We visited Lapa Rios October 2013 as a group of three friends, a musician, a software exec and a surgeon...and were in cabina #3. I have traveled and stayed in many spectacular resorts, and had a bit of trepidation about a thatched roof structure in a jungle during the "green" AKA rainy season. I was beyond surprised at the luxury I experienced at Lapa Rios and a staff that defines professional service. I truly believe that the Lapa Rios team including desk staff, nature guides, restaurant employees, et al. define and embody customer service and satisfaction. It seemed that our enjoyment was their only priority. The food was delicious and plentiful. Morning coffee delivery was lovely. We had squirrel monkeys, toucans, and iguanas every morning just in front of our deck. This was truly a dream. I can not thank everyone at Lapa Rios enough! Special thanks to Valerie and Edwin, our nature guides.

Room Tip: We had #3 which was closest to the main entrance. Wonderful views! Lots of monkeys every morning and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockdoc3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear rockdoc3001,
greetings from the lush rain forest of the Osa Peninsula. Thank you very much for taking the plunge and visiting us at Lapa Rios Ecolodge. We loved having you and your friends staying with us. Thank you for pointing out not only the spectacular wildlife that you saw during your stay with us, but also for the great praise about our staff. We are proud to work with a local staff (including management) and provide the high level of service and guest satisfaction that you and your friends have experienced. We will pass your thanks on to Edwin and Valerie, two of our nature guides. Thank you also for the praise about the food. We are excited to hear that our concept of fresh and local ingredients prepared in creative ways finds such great acceptance. We hope to have you back at Lapa Rios soon. Thanks again and all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at Lapa Rios for our Honeymoon in October. It was so surreal from the moment our airplane landed at Puerto Jimenez. We were greeted at the airport by Lapa Rios staff and within 1 minute we had 2 Lapas (Scarlet McCaws) fly over our head and into the forest. We were given fresh coconuts with a bamboo straw before we took our journey into Lapa Rios. I read reviews about the drive to the lodge being bumpy and uncomfortable, but that wasn't the case. We loaded up in the Lapa Rios Toyota Four Runner and enjoyed a nice and scenic trip to the lodge. Once we got to the lodge we were greeted again with warm wet towels and a refreshing drink, and then enjoyed a wonderful lunch. After lunch we were showed around the grounds, explained all the tours and meals.
The staff at Lapa Rios were top notch. They all spoke spanish and pretty good english, however my wife and I wanted to learn and brush up on our spanish so the staff would speak slowly and explain themselves in both spanish and english. They were very patient with us. The waiters at the restaurant were all so nice and professional. And the guides for all the tours were very knowledgeable and personable. And the managers were so helpful. There could not be a better staff at this Hotel. The price includes all the on property tours, and we took full advantage of them. We did almost all of them, would of done them all but ran out of time. On the tours we saw everything the rainforest has to offer (gigantic trees, Flowers, All kinds of birds and reptiles), I could go on and on about all the animals we saw, but I will just post some pictures to save the typing. Our bungalow was absolutely amazing. Again, I read reviews about the hike being so long and up hill to and from the bungalows, but he didn't think that at all. Yes it is a little hike, but it is a beautiful walk with beautiful views of the rainforest and ocean, and a lot of different monkeys and birds flying around. We soaked it all in rather than ignoring it. The bungalow itself was perfect. We loved the coffee delivery at our bungalow in the morning. When the Howler Monkeys (Mono Congos) wake up so does everything else in the rainforest, and it is pretty early. So the coffee on our deck with the pacific sunrise, and the animals waking up was absolutely breathtaking. Even though we hiked and swam everyday, we were totally relaxed, and there is no way not to be at Lapa Rios. I highly recommend Lapa Rios to anyone going to Costa Rica or wanting to experience a successfully sustainable resort. We hope to visit soon. Pura Vida

Room Tip: We had Bungalow 10 which had amazing views and was on the lower half of the bungalows. The walk was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisShore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was my second visit to Lapa Rios, and I immediately felt at home. The staff happily and knowledgeably answered our many questions about the culture, biodiversity, and work environment and helped us with our Spanish vocabulary as we helped with their English. The off-season visit meant fewer guests and incredible thunderstorms that woke us in the middle of the night to our delight. Valerie, a staff guide, arranged a lantern-making craft session to celebrate Independence Day with the local school children, educating us about the local culture and traditions. It is obvious that the staff and management at Lapa Rios care deeply about sustainability and are leaders in sustainable tourism.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The level of customer service, quality of the food, employee's willingness to help make our stay nothing short of amazing, and the bungalows at Lapa Rios made our stay an absolute 'Night in Nature's Paradise.' The stars at night, the view of the ocean by day, and the wildlife made our stay an amazing and unforgettable one. We also loved the bungalows/accommodations with the beautiful landscaping, outdoor shower, open concept room, and quality of the room was superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukilteo, Washington
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Between the beautiful views from the room, the educational tours and the crazy evening thunderstorms, we had a fantastic time during our 5 day stay at Lapa Rios.

By far our biggest highlight was interacting with the staff. They were not only helpful in answering all our questions about the local culture, environment and sustainability on the property, but we enjoyed learning from them and they were engaging to be around. Of all the properties we have visited on our trip to Costa Rica, the service at Lapa Rios stood out the most, providing us an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sraados8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

I just want to tell you how much I enjoyed staying at Lapa Rios!! This was my first trip to Costa Rica (and first out of the country vacation) and my first time staying in a "5 Leaf" hotel!! My sister and mother have been to CR twice before this trip, and I used to give them a hard time about always going to CR. I now know why they keep going back! And I cant wait to return!! I have to tell you how great of a time I (as well as my Mom and sister) had!! The views are spectacular!! The wildlife was amazing to see!! Nothing like that in the U.S!! The staff was more than great! I cant tell you how much I enjoyed every single person that works at Lapa Rios! Everyone was so friendly and accommidating! They made sure we had a great time everyday! We only stayed 3 nights but it just felt very comfortable and I was sad to leave everyone. It was a very intimate atmosphere and to me it felt like being back at camp when I was younger and how you make quick friends and being very close knit with the staff and guests! The tours were awesome! Being able to walk around the primary rainforest and see the wildlife and waterfalls and streams was just beyond what I thought it would be. The food was also very tasty, every meal was just great! I also loved the pigs and twigs tour! It was great to see how sustainable your hotel is and makes me want to do more where I live and incorporate some of the things I learned at Lapa Rios in my everyday life. Thank you again for such a wonderful experience!! And I cant wait to have a return trip to Lapa Rios!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms were amazing! They all had amazing views and were very into nature. Cannot beat the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.9 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
1.2 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 43 in Osa Peninsula
5.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
7.5 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#6 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
Blue Osa Yoga Retreat and Spa
#1 of 15 in Puerto Jimenez
5.0 of 5 stars 388 reviews
16.7 mi away
Playa Nicuesa Rainforest Lodge
12.3 mi away
Finca Exotica Ecolodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing