We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Encanta La Vida(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Casa Bambu Resort(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge(Cabo Matapalo)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Remanso Lodge(Osa Peninsula)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Iguana Lodge(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agua Dulce Beach Resort(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Oro Verde Hostel(Puerto Jimenez)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveler rating
584
48
14
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
48
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main lodgehowler monkeyscosta ricanight walkoutdoor showerwaterfall hikeosa peninsulacoconut waterobservation decksustainability tourlocal schoolthe general managerour honeymoonginger cookiesdolphin tourpuerto jimenezprivate deck
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 650 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Amazing to see monkeys and toucans literally from your bed (and awesome porch). We got to see only 3 types of monkeys, not the white-faced ones, but it was incredible to watch the spider monkeys climb and swing etc. Also amazing how many exotic birds (and the monkeys) you can see so easily there, all the time. The rooms look very different in person from the pictures online - they have gotten rid of the (beautiful) mosquito nets and screened in the cabins, which probably does make them more comfortable, but we were surprised when we walked in! None of the staff seemed to be aware that this was a change, so maybe the photos are just old.
We were disappointed by the (lack of) sound privacy in the rooms. We expected a super remote and secluded bungalow (and stayed in cabin 13 so had to hike 10 minutes to get to our room), but they are all duplexes so no matter how far a hike your room is, your neighbors are still VERY close, and without walls, you can hear a lot. We wanted to feel that we were in the forest all by ourselves, but instead we heard people's talking, yelling, etc.
Also, for how remote the whole peninsula and the reserve are, I was disappointed to hear trucks there. Instead of quiet or the sounds of nature, we heard the rumbling of trucks fairly often. Not so remote after all.
The food was very very good, but there were a few misses, such as gazpacho that had been sitting too long and had a very strong sharp flavor and the fizz of vinegar (I know it wasn't supposed to be that way because I had it the day before too and it was delicious and not fizzy).
The service in the dining room, etc. was too deferential for us and made us uncomfortable. We’d rather feel like employees are people like us, not servants, and we really have no need for aristocratic service. It didn’t seem like most of the guests were types that would require such formal service, so I’m not sure why it’s necessary, but maybe the 10% that do would make a difference in the hotel’s popularity (and theoretically its ability to support & preserve the rainforest reserve, but technically I think it’s now protected regardless of how the business does – as long as the Costa Rican government enforces it that is, which without staff on-site probably isn’t a sure bet at all). Anyway, they talk a lot about interacting with the local culture, and they hire all local people, so I’d rather interact with the local people on their own terms / in their own culture, i.e. have them serve meals in the way that is most respectful in Tico culture, not with the European/gringo idea of high-end service. The whole place felt very stiff and stuffy in that way. A more culturally authentic experience would certainly appeal to many eco-travelers, and you’re hiking home to your room and dealing with bugs all over the place anyway, so it’s not like the place is built for prissy, high maintenance people either way. The service felt impeccable in some ways, generous, and luxurious, and attentive, but also sometimes lacking in attention to detail, considering the price point (not following up on things we asked about/for, etc.)
If you do the honeymoon package and have a private dinner, I would recommend asking to have it at lunch - that didn't occur to us when we were there, but I see a picture of a private outdoor daytime meal on TripAdvisor. Having it in the dark with bugs & bats flying around was fun and still romantic, but I wasn't totally relaxed, well.. because of the bugs & bats.
Another note of caution: we are not hard-core hikers but are outdoorsey, and expected some real hikes, but their hikes were too pampered for us i.e. they go out of their way to avoid having you climb uphill. Maybe because it's often too hot and they're scared of dehydration, but we wanted to climb UP and get our heart rates going etc., not be driven in trucks every time.
If you have a chance to get a massage with Rita at Lapa Rios, do it. She was amazing.
In the middle of our visit, the staff left some fun candies called Guayabitas in our room for us to try, with a cute little explanation card. The card talked about how healthy guava is for you, but then the candy was actually just artificial guava flavor, not any real fruit! I was disappointed because "Costa Rica, artificial ingredients" is not what I'd expect at an ecolodge. That kind of hypocrisy is simply a reality of the country, a true part of its modern-day existence, but I would hope to avoid it at a place this nice & expensive - they should be paying more attention.
Last complaint, I promise - it seemed that staff were letting bugs into our room when they came in to make beds etc. Still an incredibly beautiful and special place, and I would recommend it, but would encourage friends to go to one of the less expensive options on the Osa or to be aware of the downsides above.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sararischappel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Sararischappel,
thank you for your review of your stay with us and we are happy to hear that you had a great experience. We are sorry to hear that you did not find the experience to be perfect. We work hard on making sure that all of our guests leave 100% satisfied with their stay, but unfortunately, we missed some opportunities with you. Let us address a few of your comments. A few months ago, we decided to take out the mosquito nets from the rooms to see how it would work as often guests complained that it would get quite hot. But upon guest request, we can hang them back in the rooms. We are actually finishing the design of new nets that will be lighter and they should be installed in a few weeks (before the next season). The noise of the trucks on the road was due to the fact that the road to Carate and Corcovado was being repaired and we had more than usual traffic on the road. We are sorry about this and the fact that you had not such respectful neighbors. By being open to nature and able to see monkeys and wildlife from your bed (as you pointed out in your review), the downside is that you might hear other guests from time to time. Typically, our guests are very respectful and educated and this is not a common problem. Thanks for pointing out that you really liked the local food we prepared for you in our restaurant and that the service was very efficient. The formality of the service is an ongoing discussion we have here among the management team. For some guests it is not formal enough, for others it is too formal. We appreciate your comment and will continue to work on the right balance. We offer all levels of hikes and if you would have pointed out to us that you were looking for for an exercise hike than an educational experience with our guides, we could have easily accommodated you. A quick comment on the conservation easement and the protection of the Lapa Rios reserve. The conservation easement is monitored 4 times per year, with the expenses paid in perpetuity by the hotel and by Cedarena, a land trust associated with The Nature Conservancy, not the Costa Rican government. Once again, we are sorry that the lack of perfection during your stay has created so much frustration and hope you are able to come back some day and give us another chance. In the meantime, we will work hard on getting better every day. All the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

My family and I just returned from Lapa Rios. We all enjoyed the incredible ambiance of an ecolodge, nestled into the jungle, open on 3 sides but with full screens and amazing views of the ocean. Yes it was a trip just getting there with a puddle jumper plane and then roads thru 2 creeks, but the sheer isolation and melding with nature was well worth it. We would wake up to the howls of monkeys, see them peering from trees at our great balcony with a morning cup of coffee overlooking the canopy. We took full advantage of the variety of free tours offered and were never disappointed in the wildlife, all 4 types of adorable monkeys, the staff went out of their way to show us a sloth, even saw a rare juguarundi. It was a hike to the open air restaurant but the meals and staff were impeccable. This lodge may not be for everyone but I found out I am a jungle girl!

Room Tip: They will attempt to relocate you if the steps are too much
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga S, Manager at Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear zanColorado (Jungle Girl),
greetings from the green and lush Osa Peninsula. Thank you for your wonderful review of our eco lodge. We were very happy to hear that you did not only see the best that Costa Rica has to offer in wildlife, but that you enjoyed the experience overall. We agree that Lapa Rios is not for everybody. It is an adventure. We try to make the experience as "soft" of an adventure as possible, by providing a great bungalow and culinary experience for our guests. Sometimes we receive guests that would have never imagined that they would spend a few days in an eco resort in the rain forest, but then end up having a "life changing experience" and thoroughly miss being so close to nature once they return to their city homes. Thanks for encouraging other guests to look at the Lapa Rios experience more closely. We hope to have you back with us again soon. Thanks again and all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

A nice and quite secluded place to stay. Try and get rooms 1 through 8. The downside are the lower level rooms you literally have to climb 500 steps every time you need to come for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Wish they had better ideas of keeping bugs out of the rooms. I know we are in a jungle. But seriously even Serengeti had much less bugs. Remember you repellant! The salads and fruits were relay nice at the restaurant. The location was great- howler monkeys,macaws everywhere and toucans. Wish they had better coffee!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutanuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We LOVED Lapa Rios. We had four days of wonderful nature walks, swimming in the ocean and the unchlorinated freshwater pool, great and varied food, and ever-attentive and knowledgeable staff. The plant life and birds were spectacular and all four species of monkeys were captivating and easy to see (either outside the restaurant or on the road to the beach). Each bungalow has a great deck with valley and ocean views, indoor and outdoor showers, and the rooms and beds were very comfortable (although the birds and howler monkeys get noisy before 5 AM, so we recommend going to bed at 9 PM). Note: despite the hotel's website's use of pictures showing no screens, all rooms are nicely screened in, get lovely breezes, and are protected for the most part from insects (we came home to more in our Boston home than we left in Lapa Rios). That said, go ready to learn a great deal about all sorts of charismatic and less cute animal life. One of our favorite hikes was the night walk where we saw frogs, snakes, and large and small bugs. Getting to feel the strength of a golden orb spider web amazed and thrilled everyone. The waterfall and sustainability hikes were other highlights. This was a trip of a lifetime. Thanks to all of the fabulous guides and other staff.

Room Tip: Most convenient and quiet rooms were #s 3 - 9 or so.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jabrams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the only place you need to go in the entire country. The service, the wildlife, the food, the guides all top notch. Stayed in Cabin 6. It was a beautiful view. When there were problems, and there weren't many, were handled swiftly by their polite and helpful staff. Don't worry about not having internet, you don't need it... Come here, unplug, enjoy all the wildlife, saw sloths, tons of monkeys and birds. I recommend going on as many hikes as you can. We decided to fly after our stay to Panama, Lapa Rios researched found and booked us hotels and a flight to Panama city, now that's great customer service. I could go on forever, but it you want to have an amazing time stay here...

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is not a far walk and has a great view of the Ocean and sunrise
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelToMuch52392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews