We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Lodge Makes the Environment Proud”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SoCal
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This Lodge Makes the Environment Proud”
Reviewed February 27, 2008

Lapa Rios is truly an amazing location and offers quite the experience for the adventurous traveler. My husband and I adored our stay here. . .it was like staying in an Ewok Village! The food was very good and the staff was great. The truly unique aspects of this property are its unspoiled location and mission. I have never seen so much concentrated wildlife, and I thought other parts of Costa Rica were biologically dense!

I do have to warn that this lodge is not for the faint-of-heart. There is a LOT of hiking involved just to get around the property and the bungalows don't have many of the Western amenities that a lot of luxury travelers are likely used to. However, in my opinion these things add to the experience rather than detract from it. Also, this place is extremely expensive, and the cost may not be justified for many if they are only looking to be pampered. Know thyself before you book here! If you love the rainforest but do not want to be "inconvenienced" by it, please do everyone a favor and do NOT stay here. You must want to totally immerse yourself in the experience or you probably won't enjoy it as much as you could.

For a full review and pictures, please visit my blog entry here: http://urstinkymonkey.blogspot.com/2008/02/costa-rica-act-3.html

  • Liked — unique, total rainforest immersion, isolated, wildlife, sustainability, mission
  • Disliked — bugs (a rainforest reality), too expensive
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    47
    13
    3
    0
See reviews for
144
333
28
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2008

Wow. What an eco-lodge! Al Gore would be proud. They truly look after the environment and make their guests an integral part of the experience. While it is expensive, visitors must look into the whole eco-experience and not just the $$ amounts.

Lapa Rios has 15 bungalows. Hard to give top service, superb meals and a unique and memorable experience with a small number of guests. Their costs are divided into very few rooms, and thus visitors get a personalized, one-of-a-kind treatment by staff members. The middle-of-nowhere location also drives costs up, and thus, hotel rates are not cheap.

But Lapa Rios is definitely worth the price and the many positive reviews confirm this. The lodge is worth all the positive press and awards it has received.

  • Liked — eco-experience, food, bungalows
  • Disliked — no a/c
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgeDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Words cannot describe how much we loved our stay at Lapa Rios. We just arrived home today and I could not wait to send a review to help our new favorite destination spot. It was the last part of our Honeymoon in Costa Rica. Yes, there are stairs...many of them but if you want a secluded bungalow away from everyone and want to live naturally it is for you. A few of our favorites: You can't miss the early morning parade of monkeys climbing from tree to tree. Showering in the forest in our outdoor shower after a day of hiking.Gorgeous Scarlet Macaws in their real home. The Tuna Salad. The French Toast and Guava syrup, YUM!! Swinging on the hammock watching hummingbirds. You can relax and take fabulous tours from kind, intelligent and helpful people who cannot do enough for you. Edwin was a great world of knowledge as our tourguide, spotting birds exotic and beautiful from 50 yards away with his eyes!!! Elvis was our greeter and explained the story and the ways of the Ecolodge, what a sweetheart. Gilbert was wonderful as a horseback riding tour guide taking us through the jungle trails and to the beach for a gallop over the sand. The kayak tour was EXCEPTIONAL skeptical at first, we found that kayaking through Mangroves was a place of solitude, VERY relaxing. We stopped in the middle of the tour on a beach with the guide, Adriana bringing along fresh pineapple and coconuts for us to open and share. Finally we got back in our kayaks to catch the sunset paddling our way back in one of the 4 Tropical Fjords of the world. The water was so warm and is one of the birthing places for humpback whales. Thank you so much for so many memories for our Honeymoon.Thank you to John and Karen Lewis for making this magical place and hope you pass the torch to someone deserving and who will keep its charm.
Sincerely,
Adrienne and Greg Brason

  • Liked — everything!!
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AAMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We really enjoyed this place, but think it is also way overpriced for what it is. It was a fantastic experience though and here are a few thoughts on it:

Value: We paid about $650/night and were surprised to hear that alcohol is not included. It also felt cheap that they limited us to 2 tours. I can understand giving priority to people who haven’t gone on 2 tours yet, but more should be included (I’d feel ripped off if I paid an additional $30 for a night tour that was mediocre). The place is very nice, but not quite nice enough to justify the price.

Facilities & Grounds: Our cabin was great. We loved how private it felt and the view it offered of the forest in the foreground and coast in the distance. We were surprised at how much of a hike it was from our room to the main lodge (we were in cabin 10 and it was about 175 steps…NOT exaggerating…ask for cabins 3-8 as they are only about 55 steps). We felt a robe should have been provided, but that wasn’t the biggest deal. The grounds were in great shape and the access to wildlife was amazing! We saw tons of monkeys and toucans, and a bunch of other things like macaws, snakes, lizards, spiders, a sloth, and much more. It wasn’t until we went to other places like Monteverde that we really appreciated how great animal access at Lapa Rios is. My biggest piece of advice for spotting animals is to talk to staff and other guests as quickly as possible about tips on how to spot things because we found we saw a lot more towards the end of our visit simply because we knew where to look and what signs to look for (i.e., a tree branch shaking abnormally usually meant there was a monkey in it). We were surprised at far away the beach is and what a mediocre one it was. The pool was just okay too. Spend some time sitting around by the pool or on the decks and overlooks as you are bound to see interesting wildlife just by being patient (tip: eat breakfast and lunch on the outdoor area).

Food: It was hit or miss. Breakfast was great (particularly the banana pancakes). Lunch had a great variety of choices and we found some great items (particularly the smoked tuna sandwich with mango, the gazpacho, the flan of the day and the ginger cookies). Dinner was consistently disappointing though as we had only 3 choices and we usually didn’t love any of them. None of our dinner mains were anything special during our entire stay. Feel free to ask for a juice or snack any time of day.

Service & Staff: Generally this was very good, but there were too many fumbles for the 5 star price we paid. Don’t count on the “wake up knock” as they forgot it one day with us (set a back up). Also, don’t count on the wake up drink delivery as they brought the wrong thing (we asked for tea and got one pot of coffee and another of hot water without any tea bags). Double check your bill as they also tried to overcharge us for an excursion we had.

Other activities: Highly recommend doing the dolphin swim and wildlife sanctuary visit. The sanctuary visit was incredible as there were a couple monkeys that jump all over you and we learned a lot about them and most of the other animals around (sloths, toucans, macaws, etc.). Make sure the boat operator stays focused on finding you dolphins though as ours showed us too many turtles and birds and we never actually got to swim with the dolphins (the only time we found them they were hunting and we were told we shouldn’t go in the water with them then). Have Lapa Rios pack you a picnic lunch for the trip.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SEANinSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2008

Fantastic lodge extremely well run. The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. The guides are great. The rooms are very special. The food is very good. There should be more places like this.
The setting is fantastic great opportunity to view wildlife. Great to either kick back and relax or take part in the various activities available.

  • Stayed December 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2007

Lapa Rios is top notch. We stayed there as part of our Honeymoon and had the time of our life. If you enjoy the outdoors combined with a little comfort, this is a sure bet. The staff are wondeful, the guides are excellent, and the encounter with nature is truly special. We will especially miss the wake-up knock and the morning call from the howler monkeys. If you can afford the price tag, this is a great experience and we would definetely do it again for an anniversary.

  • Liked — Incredible experience with nature
  • Disliked — The price is hard on a yound couple, but you get what you pay for (amazing time)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoshFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hometown
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

We absolutely love Lapa Rios! The setting is incomparable, the rooms are private and lovely, and the food amazing.

Ok, so getting there was a bit of a challenge, but once there we were greeted immediately with fresh tropical juice, amazing views, and friendly service. The rooms had screened windows, outdoor garden showers, and lovely bathrooms. Imagine our suprise the first morning as we're showering and a coati runs by just outside the window!

The night hike and hike with a local shaman were very memorable as was the incredible massage we got! Best massage I've ever had. We enjoyed a sea kayaking trip where local fishermen pulled their boat up beside us and shared a portion of their day's catch! The 'lapas' (scarlet macaws), howler monkeys, coatis, iguanas, etc. were so close and undisturbed that we went almost unnoticed.

Another thing not to be missed is a visit to the local school. We brought supplies and gifts for them, but they were closed when we were there so we didn't get to visit. Next time!

Truly, it was like being in the Garden of Eden. Amazing people, incredible setting, and great service make this a place we look forward to visiting again. But maybe we'll try their Nicaragua resort first... : )

  • Liked — Setting, service, ecofriendliness, optional excursions such as hikes, etc.
  • Disliked — No real beach, difficulty in getting there
  • Stayed January 2003, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunLovin'
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabo Matapalo
1.7 mi away
Bosque del Cabo Rainforest Lodge
12.7 mi away
Luna Lodge
Luna Lodge
#1 of 1 in Carate
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Remanso Lodge
El Remanso Lodge
#3 of 41 in Osa Peninsula
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
Agua Dulce Beach Resort
#5 of 12 in Puerto Jimenez
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Encanta La Vida
Encanta La Vida
#4 of 4 in Cabo Matapalo
165 reviews
9.4 mi away
Playa Cativo Lodge
Playa Cativo Lodge
#1 of 11 in Golfito
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula

Property: Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula
Address: Osa Peninsula, Cabo Matapalo, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Osa Peninsula > Cabo Matapalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Cabo Matapalo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a 1000-acre private nature reserve in Central America's last remaining lowland tropical rainforest in Costa Rica, Lapa Rios Ecolodge overlooks the pristine point where the Golfo Dulce meets the wild Pacific Ocean, a destination matching everyone's idea of paradise. Much more than a luxurious eco lodge, Lapa Rios is a model ecotourism project and a sustainable tourism pioneer. Over the years, we have received many awards for social and environmental excellence. Home to a plethora of incredible wildlife, including monkeys, scarlet macaws, pumas, toucans, tree frogs and thousands of other creatures, a trip to Lapa Rios Eco lodges Ecolodges will be the experience of a lifetime. Lapa Rios is one of only 24 National Geographic Unique Eco Lodges of the World ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lapa Rios Ecolodge Osa Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lapa Rios Ecolodge Hotel Playa Matapalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing