We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“more like a motel, with a tiny bar”
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“more like a motel, with a tiny bar”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

our room was a 3 minute walk away in the freezing cold, away from the main hotel area. It was a lovely room, however when we walked up to the main area, we found that there was a reception desk, and next to that , a tiny hatch, where they served drinks from - That was the bar, so dont hold y breath,its not the most amazing place like they try to portray, only about 10 chairs to sit in n that is it. Nowhere else to go. The restaurant was only average ,in a small conservatory, and food was just ok.
Now, if you want to get married there, it is a complete seperate area that looked great, and spa looked ok too, but for independant guests, its rubbish as nowhere to sit and relax and socialise. We paid £119 for DBB with travelzoo and not worth half that !!!
Emma , ran reception, bar and restaurant on her own, she was great , but for a hotel like this we expected more staff, as she was running round like a loonie!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayney123gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    224
    140
    77
    54
See reviews for
115
453
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I visited rookery spa for the day with my partner, i must say we found the facilities were excellent especially the hydrotherapy pool, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. We were shown around the facilities which we appreciated as the staff were very knowledgeable, I'm only sorry we didn't make more use of the facilities whilst we were there as the gym and outside hot tub looked lovely, but we enjoyed the hydrotherapy pool so much we spent most of our time in there! Unfortunately we were unable to have any treatments as it was a Sunday, but I will be definitely booking in the future as the treatment rooms looked lovely. Overall we enjoyed are experience at the spa mainly due to the accommodating staff, and the pool area. Definitely worth a visit if you are looking for a relaxing day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryony e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Myself and a friend booked a spa day at the Rookery Manor, my first impressions were of dissapointment as the 'Manor' appeared alike a motel, its a shame the entrance was around the back of a car park. The spa was small, small pool in a room with loungers and a tiny sauna, this room became too hot to sit in. The relaxation room was nice but on a busy Saturday we felt pressure to leave the room when other guests arrived. The outdoor jacuzzi was nice however the outlook was of brick walls. We did not have any treatments but the treatment area looked professional. You had to decide at the start of the day if you wanted lunch, if you decided after the allocated time then they could not accomodate food. We didn't pay a lot of money for our day but my advice would be pay a bit more and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pampered44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Went to the spa with 3 girlfriends for a birthday - we'd been to the website and were impressed by the photos so were generally looking forward to it...

On arrival the staff were polite and showed us round the facilities. We had to take our shoes off and unfortunately they didn't allow us to drop our bags and so we traipsed from room to room with out arms full. Not the best start - certainly not very relaxing for the guests we disturbed.

Next we ate lunch, the food was amazing! Particularly as it was "free" on the deal we had found. Had a gorgeous Chicken Caesar Salad with a huge piece of chicken, although a friend had an open sandwich which I would highly recommend. Unfortunately the food was served in a FREEZING room - we were assured by a staff member that it only FELT cold as we'd come from a warm room. In fact we had come from a sub-zero outside; the lunch room was COLD.

Back to the spa...

The hydrotherapy pool was cold.

The sauna was a cupboard (we fitted all 4 of us in there, just, but you wouldn't want to be that close if you didn't know people well). We couldn't get the sauna to work initially, when we asked a member of staff they rudely explained that you had to use the timer (this seemed less than obvious).

The relaxation room where you we allowed to talk was lovely. However, the one in silence was terrible. An open door onto the main corridor where one member of staff was marching noisily up and down for the whole hour I lay there. She even came into the room to re-fold some folded towels....?? Not particularly relaxing.

The out door hot tub was lovely, probably the only "spa-worthy" facility and definitely the best feature.

Unfortunately the spa seemed to be geared up for not many guests; the hot tub was small, the sauna a cupboard and most of the facilities there were 2 of - even the changing rooms were small. But there were many guests there when we were there leaving the spa noisy and over-crowded.

In short, don't be fooled by the photos, not a great facility. I certainly wouldn't recommend!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I visited this spa after is came highly recommended by friends, I did not share their view. I felt dissaponted and let down pretty much after leaving the reception area. The staff were very friendly but there was a lack of organisation after no one knew what package we had booked for, we booked an emreld package of spa use, lunch and 30 min treatment of either mani / pedi or massage (back neck & shoulders) £55. we were told we had the afternoon tea package we corrected this saying we were having the emreld package, we were given menus to choose our lunch this was promptly taken off us and we were told again we were having the afternoon tea package and the menus didn't apply, then after checking they were given back to us. We were shown to the main spa area which was very disappointing one spa pool and a sauna that fitted 3 people at a push, we didn't view the gym as we were there to relax, then there were 2 relaxing rooms the quiet room was lovely with great erganomic beds, the other room felt like waiting room but at least it was warm after being in the tea room. We were disappointed with the lack of facilities. We used the spa pool which was lovely but in need of some maintainece - cracks in plaster and loose handrail. We used the outdoor hot tub it was windy and our dressing gowns fell into the floor off of the hangers provided and got wet. We asked a member of staff if we could have dry ones we were told that there was only enough for one per person but we could hire another one at an additional charge so really there were more than one per person. We went to the tea room for lunch, the room was freezing and we were in wet robes it was a horrid experience. The tearoom felt like a conference room with nasty fake plants the tables were heavily scratched, I had a sandwich which the bread was very dry, my friend had soup which was the smallest bowl of soup a massive disappointment for the £55 we were paying. The treatment was fantastic the person providing this couldnt have been nicer and more welcoming it was her massage that made the trip worth while, before she re-entered the room I had a look around the decor was very poor with splash marks all up the wall. On leaving there more hiccups with the package we had booked no one could find it or had heard of it, we had to look it up on the Internet to show it existed the staff were very apologectic but it just seemed like no one was really in charge or maybe more staff training on the products they sell on their website.
Overall for the money paid we felt very let down with the facilities on offer, a bigger sauna and an addition of a steam room would improve the facilities on offer and would be more reflective with the fees they charge, the treatments were perfect, I highly recommend an overhaul of the tea room to make it more inviting and put some heat on in there. The staff were very friendly just a shame no one knew about the package we had chosen.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annapurna08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congresbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I visit the spa frequently and I must say I am never disappointed
The treatments are always first class and conducted in an extremely professional manner
Rebekah the spa manager is always polite and friendly and always goes that extra mile to be accommodating in every respect.
I leave feeling like a new woman
Rookery Spa is my little piece of heaven
In my view that is what a Spa should be like so well done Rebekah for making me feel so special :))

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taylor014-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Spent two days, two nights at the Rookery aim being to fully relax and chill. Hotel is very nice with bright pleasant rooms. Very clean with gorgeous gardens to walk and sit in. Spa is good but could do with a few extra touches to make it great. You only get one towel per day which means you are sitting around damp all day after using the spa pool. The tea room where you eat lunch is soulless and quite sterile. There was water readily available but all other drinks you pay for. Some baskets of fruit in the relaxation rooms would be welcome and not expensive to provide.

The Elmis facial and massage were very good, the beauticians certainly knew their stuff. Book early though - they are quite busy! I would have liked more treatments but didn't book in time.

Dinner in the restaurant both nights was very good, great portions and lovely service.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Looblylu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#1 of 28 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
8.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 28 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
25.0 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Property: Rookery Manor
Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston super Mare BS24 0JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing