We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One nights stay at Rookery Manor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rookery Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rookery Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One nights stay at Rookery Manor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was a treat from my 3 children for my sixtyth birthday. Which included a massage for my girlfriend and myself. One comment is that the hotel and massage facility do not always communicate properly. I phoned up to see what time we could check in 2pm was the reply.
So we planed to get to the Hotel at 1pm wrong we were comming through Bristol and we received a phone call my massage was at 12.40pm. Not really a problem they were very good and rearranged my massage. But we did not know that you could use the facilities from 10am on the day you book in.
The Spa facility was excellent the staff were very pleasent and accomadating my girl friend was a bit under the weather after the journey but the staff rearranged her massage to the next day.
We enjoyed the stay the accomadation was nice, clean and warm our stay was in February.
The meals were good and value you for money but a bit short on choice.
The Hotel could do with a lounge area as MrPhil commented on, we retreated to our room early but if an area was available we dont think we would have.We were only there one night we thoroughly enjoyed the experiance thanks kids and a big thank you to all the staff.
PS Look for a good deal if not through the Hotel try the Spa facility.

Room Tip: Best time to go is out of season, more chance of using the facilities. We were lucky we had a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank switchballs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    216
    134
    73
    49
See reviews for
107
437
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

This hotel is clean and functional but suffers from being neither a 'destination' venue or a travellers hotel. There is no focal point to the hotel; there is no warm or inviting bar area to relax before or after a meal. Most of the rooms are in blocks in the grounds and some( the deluxe rooms) require a walk( which is across the car park and during the winter or when its raining is not good ) to the bistro restaurant which has a small bar serving a waiting area; but isnt somewhere to sit and relax.
The food in the restaurant is limited ( a bit like pub food) but well cooked. Ok for a one night stay on route to somewhere but it's position(5/6 miles from the nearest motorway junction) doesn't encourage this. Overall it lacks character and warmth and has the feel of travellers hotel( certainly not a boutique hotel as it claims) but more pricey than the chains and not worth the extra.

Room Tip: Unless you enjoy walking through a car park to get to reception or the restaurant avoid the deluxe r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrPhil1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Booked a couple of days away at the Hotel and Spa as a Valentines Treat for my girlfriend and I! We had the best time at Rookery Manor and were able to completely relax and enjoy our whole stay here!

We arrived on Valentines Day morning, and following a brief sign in process and ordering of a Spa Lunch we were ready for our treatment! I had a full body massage which was amazing and so relaxing, my girlfriend had a Back, Neck and Shoulders massage and a mini facial! She said that this was lovely too! After this we were welcome to use all of the spa facilities for the whole day! Contrary to what others have commented, although the spa is small, it is not too small! The Spa ensure that there are not too many people booked in at a time and therefore there is always something to do in the Spa. The hydro-pool and sauna were great, and the hot tub was lovely outdoors with the absence of rain for the 2 days that we were there!

After we had a nice Spa Lunch (paninis and a salad) we were able to check into our hotel room. We were very pleased with it, it was spacious with a lovely big bed and a balcony too! The lighting was great and there was also mood lighting which was nice to relax to! With the Valentines package we received a bottle of champagne too, which was on ice in the room on arrival, perfect!

After a relaxing afternoon in the Spa and in our room we made our way down to dinner, there was a single red rose waiting on the table for my girlfriend as we walked in and she was chuffed with it! There was a special Valentines Menu, which was amazing! I had the Poached Duck Egg, Bacon and Black Pudding Salad for a starter, a lovely steak for my main and a delicious lemon tart for dessert!

Breakfast in the morning was simple and to the point, there was plenty of choice and we were able to amble down when we fancied really! We were able to use the facilities following breakfast too which was nice to leave feeling all relaxed having been in the hot tub directly prior to leaving!

Overall, a really great stay, would recommend to anybody, and would love to return at some point!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aclist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a wedding in july 11 (but trip advisor wont let me put the date in right!)-would never go again if you paid me!
Wedding was lovely but the food was nothing to write home about...i had a meal with rice and they re-heated it because i was away from the table when they served it.
the reason i was away was my daughter had wet herself in the lobby so i asked a staff member if they had something i could mop it up with. they gave me a serving cloth (probably the least absorbant thing they could have given me!) when i asked for another cloth i was huffed at and then they managed to find some tissue and offered to take over so i could return to my re-heated lunch!
Our room was not worth the money...have stayed in better decorated travelodges! Had a family room where the single bed was downstairs near the door and bathroom-consequently my partner slept there and our daughter upstairs with me.
The shower cubicle seemed tiny and the shower height couldnt be adjusted so just went over my head!
Breakfast was chaotic! Waiters were trying to bring hot food out of the kitchen door in front of which people were queuing. when we got served i got huffed at when i asked if there was a veggie option. i didnt get an answer as the waiter just served the person behind me!!
One of the worst places i have ever stayed!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doeysma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We spend two days here when we invited to a family wedding. found all the staff to be very helpful and the place was clean and tidy and had all the facillitys that you would like when staying away from home. Great to have the use of the pool and the sauna was a very good way to relax after the travel up. would come back here if we were in the area again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The poor service and untrained staff. I had my suitcase misplaced at the airport on my arrival, I have called 3 times the hotel to make sure they will be able to take it on my behalf. I even asked them to write a note to make sure everyone at reception will know about it. It was very important as inside was my bridesmaid goan and the bridal underskirt for my best friend. Well the suitcase arrived but when I called they've told me twice that no one has delivered a suitcase.. And the suitcase was in the bridal shop!!! This is appaling I could have had all our stuff the day before the wedding... Not even an apology. They just said why the carrier delivered it to the shop??? Well it is at the same venue and the shop had called reception to say they had a suitcase but none was bothered!!!

Room Tip: don't go there to organise your party or a wedding. they ar not qualified enough to accomodate a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Myriam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RookeryManor, Owner at Rookery Manor, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Myriam
Many thanks for drawing our attention to this unfortunate series of events. We pride ourselves on providing a first-class service for all our hotel guests and apologise for any inconvenience caused by the mix-up over your luggage. Please be assured that we have taken steps to ensure this cannot happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Rookery Spa was such an amazing day for us. I went with my daughter and we have previously done a number of spa days together, but agreed that this was lovely from the start. The welcome from the manger Rebekah was so nice, you didn't feel uneasy at all and were made to feel so comfortable and all of our requests were dealt with promptly by a fantastic group of girls.

The spa is slightly small but quaint and had a lovely clean hydro pool, hot tub and sauna, but our favourite was the pool. We both had back massages and I must say personally my treatment was quite easily the best I have had, I can't remember the therapist name but she was very nice and considerate.

The food was nice, and there was enough to see us through the day.

I would defiantly go back and would recommended it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Edingworth
4.8 mi away
Beachlands Hotel
Beachlands Hotel
#4 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
8.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Bristol South - Cadbury House
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (Seafront) Hotel
Premier Inn Weston-Super-Mare (S...
#6 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
The Cleve Hotel & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
5.9 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 29 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Webbington Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rookery Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rookery Manor

Property: Rookery Manor
Address: Rookery Manor Edingworth Road | Weston-super-Mare, Edingworth, Weston super Mare BS24 0JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Weston super Mare > Edingworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Edingworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rookery Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome and exceptional service awaits you at 16th century Rookery Manor – the South West's award-winning, 4-star boutique hotel and spa.Set in the heart of Somerset, this historic estate is a beautiful backdrop for your spa break, wedding, corporate event, private party or dining experience.Owner Ian Clapp, whose family has lived at the manor for four generations, has created a unique venue with stunning lakeside gardens and a luxurious Elemis spa.Ideally situated in 28 acres of countryside, yet with easy access to the M5, Rookery Manor is the perfect hotel for all kinds of special occasions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rookery Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rookery Manor Hotel Edingworth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing