We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this is the dirtiest hotel where i have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Kasbah Itran

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Kelaa M'gouna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kasbah Itran
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“this is the dirtiest hotel where i have been”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have been with my wife at this hotel because our booking was based on the many different good reviews but we were siply disapointed. The room was simply very dirty, the shower as not cleaned The dinner was a tagine tha was totally burned : and my wife was sick afterwards this is our worst experience; I am not happy to recomend this place to anyone:

Room Tip: the tent with the view are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    43
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
35
67
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We loved the uniqueness of this place as well as the authenticity. Excellent service, great food and gorgeous surroundings! Unforgettable memories from the walks in the area. Highly recommended. The only regret was having only stayed for one night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aac287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

You should stay here!!! We had the most amazing night here... eating the best tagine of the trip overlooking the valley and listening to people drumming below us. Hearing the call to prayer echo below topped it off! It is SUCH a neat place and full of charm and character. Definitely a highlight of our entire trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynzeK1584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Great scenery, great experience, wonderful staff! Rooms are simple but nicely decorated, the little balcony with a stunning view over the valley will make me want to come back time and again. It does not have the comfort some travellers might expect, but for people seeking a genuine experience or for hikers it is a very good choice. My bed which I found unconfortable in the first night was promptly exchanged to one I slept very well in, the room was cleaned daily.
Now it is true that the water of the small bathroom did go out some times during the day and night for short periods, but given the place and the almost biblical surroundings, I saw that as adding to the experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Everglad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything at Kasbah Itran is perfect - friendly and helpful staff, beautiful views, an amazing setting, value for money and some of the best food we've ever eaten in Morocco (and we've eaten a LOT over the years!). The breakfast is incredible - a huge variety of jams, olives, breads and pastries all served with an enormous smile and great tea and coffee.
Dinner was beyond delicious and portion sizes are huge - perfect for a hungry traveller who hasn't eaten all day.

The room was beautifully decorated, the bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and the shower was hot and powerful,

My only regret is that we only stayed one night - we plan to remedy this next year by staying at least a couple of days so that we can explore the area on foot and take advantage of the tents on the terraces.

If I had to find a negative point, it would be that the room we were given was incredibly dark. I had booked online 8 months in advance and paid a deposit for a double room with a balcony and aircon. We arrived late, about 6 pm, and the hotel was pretty full so I think the room we should have been given had been allocated to someone else. The room we got didn't have air con and was much smaller than some other rooms. To be fair, the manager did offer to show us another room in addition to this one but we were too tired after a long day's travel to be bothered to move our bags, so we couldn't really complain.

Room Tip: see a couple of rooms before accepting one as some are very dark with small windows and low-wattage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We enjoyed the marvellous location of Kasbah Itran and the stunning view on the valley, as well as the architecture with many terraces, each one decorated with a tent of Berber carpets. It is really very special.

The rooms are simple, but ok for the price. No problem with bed bugs as mentioned in one review...

The staff are very friendly. After dinner they sing and play the Moroccan music with energy, creating a huge atmosphere. We played some games too.

We also hired a day walk (15 km), departure further in the valley. Our guide was Abdou from Kasbah Itran. It was a splendid walk. The organisation was perfect. Abdou knows really a lot about this region (nature, population of the villages ...).

Room Tip: Rooms with bathroom and terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agadir
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

A friend and I travelled from Agadir eastwards and after stopping at Ait Ben Haddou arrived in Kelaa M'Gouna late in the afternoon. On the way there someone recommended this hotel and gave us directions if we followed a road north of the town. it was easy to find and the location and the view were absolutely stunning. Our budget was to spend between 150 and 200 dirhams just for a room, single and my first impression was that we would not get such a deal here. I was wrong and they agreed a room each for 150 Dh per room, which is under 15 Euros.We did not use any other facilities but found the staff extremely friendly and willing to help. My concern was a review I read about bed bugs but it turned out to be unjustified. This hotel is for those who wish to enjoy themselves and spend a night (or more) in a place quite different and impressive by all standards. It is an old kasbah converted and like all conversions it lacks what modern hotels facilities offer but sitting on its balcony in the evening, watching the stars and the full Moon rise over vast plain that stretches eastwards to Sahara is a unique experience. I will certainly like to go back and explore the river M'nouga on which it lies. Our rooms were facing the courtyard, hence the price, others may be a bit more expensive but they have absolutely stunning views over the valley watching the storks 'frogging' and other jewels of this natural wonder. Late March and the days are hot, but nights still refreshingly cool.

Room Tip: Book in advance as it is usually fully booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlladinAgadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Kelaa M'gouna
21.1 mi away
Chez Pierre
Chez Pierre
#1 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
5.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
7.8 mi away
Amskou
Amskou
#3 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
21.8 mi away
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
Hotel La Gazelle du Dades
#4 of 6 in Boumalne Dades
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kasbah Agoulzi
Kasbah Agoulzi
#1 of 11 in El Kelaa M'gouna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kasbah Ait Moussa
Kasbah Ait Moussa
#2 of 11 in El Kelaa M'gouna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Timitar
Dar Timitar
#5 of 11 in El Kelaa M'gouna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasbah Itran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah Itran

Property: Kasbah Itran
Address: Route de Tourbiste (vallee des roses), El Kelaa M'gouna, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Souss-Massa-Draa Region > El Kelaa M'gouna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in El Kelaa M'gouna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kasbah Itran is on the outskirts of a small but busy commercial town in the south of Morocco, El Kelaa M´gouna. Located between the snow of the Atlas and the sand of the desert, Kasbah Itran is a real balcony overlooking the life of Berber Peoples in the Dades valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kasbah Itran Ouarzazate
Kasbah Itran Hotel Ouarzazate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing