We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kasbah Agoulzi
Nearby Hotels
Amskou(Boumalne Dades)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rose M'Gouna(El Kelaa M'gouna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hostel Riad AiT Ali(Boumalne Dades)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Tamlalte(Boumalne Dades)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hotel Xaluca Dades(Boumalne Dades)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chez Pierre(Boumalne Dades)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
86
14
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverroadhospitalitykasbahroses
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 100 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Agoulzi has a fabulous location on the banks of the M'Gouna with views up and down the river, and overlooking the bridge so there's lots to see and ponder as you relax on the terrace overlooking it all. We were made very welcome by the owner Arlette who seems to put heart and soul into her creation, together with a helpful and friendly staff. Though the building is recent, it has been constructed with great care and attention to traditional design and construction techniques.

Our rooms were delightful, food was excellent, and Arlette very attentive to guests' needs. After a restful night, we set off on a walk up the valley with a picnic provided by the auberge - one of those lovely touches that made us feel 'well looked after'.

One of the most enjoyable aspects of staying at the Agoulzi were the bountiful and leisurely breakfasts on the terrace with the best crepes I've ever tasted! Lounging comfortably on cushions and watching the world go by below made for long breakfasts.

We wish Arlette well in her venture - may the Agoulzi continue to provide a restful and delightful stay for travellers for a long time to come. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I hereby reiterate all of the great things being said here about Kasbah Agoulzi!
It is an impressive location, a beautiful Kasbah, great service, greta value, and a completely immersive and relaxing experience.
We arrived hot, dusty, and thirsty after a long drive and was met by Arlette Faven and her team at the door. We were escorted inside first to drop our bags, and then to the terrace where they served Berber tea, cold drinks, and almonds in the shaded corner overlooking the river.
The location is very beautiful and inspiring. “Where there is water – there is life” …and because the river flows from a source in the mountains all the way down the valley, the area is a permanent green and lush “slash” in the otherwise rocky desert. The valley is filled with agriculture, and in our visit there were still many roses – so the air was perfumed with all the different blooms. There are many small walking paths through the fields, with small irrigation rivers and canals, and lots of interesting and different things to see. The nearby “hills” rise up from the green like a beige rocky wall, and in the far distance are the peaks of the Atlas.
The Kasbah itself is located about 15minutes north of Kelaat M’Gouna and the main highway. The road along the valley provides beautiful views and passes by some very impressive villages and traditional houses. Even if you do not stay at Agoulzi it is definitely worth a drive up the valley to see the landscapes, the roses, and the buildings.
Kasbah Agoulzi is a new construction built in the traditional method (and planned by Arlette Faven) that is both ecologically and culturally sensitive. The thick mud and straw walls stabilize temperatures inside making it cool in the heat, and warm in the cold. The plan and details are all based on local patterns, and the windows, doors, and other fittings are all recycled from previous homes and Kasbahs. For any visitors interested in architecture or vernacular construction a visit is fascinating and Areltte can tell you all about the building process. (…a side note though is that unfortunately there is a nearby hotel being built that is exactly the opposite – concrete, modern, and completely wrong and disrespectful for the area! …Oh well ☹)
The rooms of Kasbah Agoulzi are simple, comfortable, and very tasteful in a minimal modern Moroccan style. Our first night we were one of only two rooms occupied. The second night the entire Kasbah was full – however again because of the thick solid construction there was minimal noise transmission, and we hardly noticed. We styed on the second floor overlooking the river and the views through the old wooden ornamented window were spectacular. We were also lucky enough to be there on the full moon, and the entire valley was shimmering in the bright moonlight. …and as has been previously reported – we were serenaded to sleep by the frogs in the river, and we were welcomed to the day by all of the songbirds in the meadows.
The breakfast is a fine Moroccan affair with many small dishes and bread, complimented by crepes, fresh orange juice, and strong coffee. The first morning we had breakfast on the lower terrace in the shaded “grotto seat” overlooking the upstream mountains, on our second day we had it in the gazebo overlooking the river, bridge, and all the school kids crossing on their way to school.
Dinner both nights was served in the large room on the lower floor. The first night was a very fine Tagine served with salads and local fruit for desert, and the second evening was a large homemade couscous platter – both delicious and about 200% more food than we could possibly eat.
Kasbah Agoulzi is a simple, down-to-earth, yet very tasteful place where you can completely forget about the outside world. There is no TV, no swimming pool, and no concierge. The entertainment is provided by singing, music, and drumming of the local Berber guys in the evening, and you can easily imagine this place in a time before mobile phones and internet. The location is an excellent “central point” for day trips to the other gorges, sights, or even an overnight to Merzouga desert. The roses festival and the rose water production cooperatives are a very interesting local industry – worth a look (and a smell), and Arlette advised us where to buy the most authentic rose products. In the end, our only regret on this trip is that we only spent two nights there. We are already discussing our next trip,… and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: The three tower rooms on the upper floor have the best views, but the lower rooms will be cooler and quieter.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank canswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Kasbah Agoulzi was a great place to arrive after a long drive. We pulled up at the imposing looking building as night fell and were warmly greeted by Arlette, the French owner. We stepped into the Kasbah through an old wooden door to find the interior of Kasbah Agoulzi very clean and attractive with soft lighting and candles making it very cosy. Our bedroom was simply furnished but comfortable. The sound of running water and croaking frogs slipped in to our room through the open window shutters. Somewhere down below in the darkness there was clearly a stream!
The next morning we had a delicious breakfast of pancakes, olives, coffee and hot chocolate on one of the terraces overlooking the stream. It was very relaxing – I could have sat on the terrace for hours watching the locals come and go across the water. However with 3 children we couldn’t sit still for long and on the advice of Arlette took a walk through the Berber ‘jardins’ adjacent to the Kasbah. The jardins, tiny cultivated patches of lush green wheat, dotted with poppies, are separated by narrow irrigation channels built up from mud and stones. Well worth the exploration! If we had been there a month later in May, the wild roses growing between the jardins would also have been in bloom.
Arlette and her team looked after us really well, lending us plastic shoes for wading the stream, and giving us a drumming performance in the evening. The food was delicious – for supper, a tagine with lemon confit and a delicious Berber omelette for lunch. We left the Kasbah Agoulzi to go trekking for 3 days through the spectacular Mgoun Valley (or Valley of the Roses) and then returned for one more night before leaving the area. I would highly recommend the Kasbah Agoulzi as a relaxing and comfortable place to stay, particularly if you plan to explore the Mgoun Valley which is really beautiful and well off the beaten track of most tourists. Best months are probably the spring when the jardins are at their most lush and the stream is full.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacquetta E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews