We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, very comfortable, real Toscany”
Review of La Piana

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Piana
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We were two couples in a suite. The whole experience was great, very comfortable. The owner speaks several languages so the communication was without any problem. The location is great, on the hill, quiet, peacefull. There are a few restaurants nearby with typical Toscany food. After a whole day in Pisa we relaxed in a jacuzzi with a view over the valley. We'll come again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Mladen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for La Piana
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 102 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Have you ever dreamt about experiencing the very core of Toscan way of living? Well, at this hotel you will for sure find it. We spent a long weekend here with my wife, and it resulted so nice and relaxing.
The owners run the business, a great couple, who really take care of you the way you want spiced up with the enchanting Toscan way of living. They fluently speak English, German, Russian, some Spanish. This is must-to-see place!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitayZsolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Small and nice hotel with very personal service, excellent breakfast with stunning views over Montecatini and Montecatini Alto. Perfect retreat to relax.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank ChBaeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

My wife and I stayed at La Piana for 4 nights in early June and had a great time. The location is amazing, situated on a hill overlooking Montecatini Terme and the countryside. The building was in top shape and the room the same.

The attention to detail throughout the room was very impressive. We stayed in room 7, which is a double room on the 2nd floor. It is spacious and has great amenities including TV, mini-fridge (stocked), air conditioning (that worked very well), plenty of storage, and a full bathroom. Perhaps the best things are the two windows in the main part of the room that either open completely to the outside and fresh air, or close to where no light at all comes in. That was nice when we chose to sleep in every morning.

The pool at La Piana is equally impressive. It is up the drive from the main building, but that helps with an even better view of the area. It was very clean and refreshing during the hot parts of the day.

One night, we enjoyed a Tuscan dinner on the terrace with all the other guests. The meal was amazing (prepared by their in-house chef) and we ate and drank for 4 hours, having a great time.

I could not say anything bad about our time at La Piana. The owners were very involved and friendly. They even let us use their personal computer to send emails every day we were there.

I would definitely recommend La Piana to anyone looking for a beautiful and relaxing time in Tuscany.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jethers203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

Lovely small hotel in the hills above Montecatini, Tuscany with great views over the surrounding countryside and Montecatini itself. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights at the end of July 2008 in a large suite with double bed, sitting room and ensuite bathroom. The suite was great, plenty of space and the bathroom clean and well appointed. The owners seem to have restored an old property and they seem to have a winning combination of Italian design and Swiss engineering! There were lots of German and Swiss clients there, we were the only Brits but the owners seem to be multilingual. Breakfast was very good, and the pool was lovely with brilliant views. Cannot fault La Piana, it was really lovely. Although tucked away in the hills, there were two restaurants within walking distance, both very good. We will definately return.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonMaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2008

Had a wonderful couple of days at La Piana. Accomodation, food & views were out of this world. Will return asap & recommend it to anyone.

Stayed: September 2007
1  Thank Kewford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2007

We absolutely loved La Piana. It is an old farmhouse that's been renovated into a hotel. Rooms are nicely decorated, quiet, and a good size. We were here with a group, so we got to see 3 of the rooms. Great modern conveniences: A/C, modern bath, etc. The hotel sits on a hill overlooking the valley with a gorgeous view and beautifully landscaped grounds. There is a great pool....you have to walk up the gravel driveway to get to it, but it had fantastic views. The staff here are friendly, and we even received a Christmas card from them last December. Although the breakfast buffet was a little pricey, the quality of the buffet was unlike any other places we've stayed in Italy (great salame, cheeses, fruits, etc)....... we definitely didn't mind the high price after we experienced it. We hope to come back and stay at La Piana in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagdalenaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buggiano Castello
1.9 mi away
Hotel Montecatini Palace
Hotel Montecatini Palace
#3 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
388 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
Hotel Columbia Wellness & SPA
#6 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
1,108 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Hotel & La Pace
Grand Hotel & La Pace
#15 of 107 in Montecatini Terme
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Grotta Giusti
Grotta Giusti
#1 of 2 in Monsummano Terme
849 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Sermolli
Villa Sermolli
#1 of 1 in Buggiano Castello
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agriturismo Amici del Colle
Agriturismo Amici del Colle
#1 of 1 in Borgo a Buggiano
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Piana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Piana

Address: La Piana Via Buggianocolle 8, 51011 Buggiano Castello, Buggiano, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pistoia > Buggiano > Buggiano Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Buggiano Castello
Price Range: $93 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Piana 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the midst of 4 hectares of olive groves lies the villa built in the 13th century. After a thorough restoration in the original Tuscan style, we are now able to offer 3 suites and 4 double rooms with all comforts: air conditioning, satellite TV, WIFI, refrigerator, coffee / tea, microwaves in suites, two suites and a double rooms have private terrace and garden. The rooms are luxuriously furnished with antique furniture of the XIX/XX century carefully restored, large swimming pool and Jacuzzi with breathtaking view over Montecatini Terme ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Piana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing