We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Books”
Review of Haynes Library

Haynes Library
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Goose Creek, SC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Books”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

It was the only place we could get internet service to check in with our family, so it was nice to do that. We spent a little time here, when it was raining out. A few folks looked at us like we weren't local, but that didn't really bother us, just comes with the territory.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Josh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
105 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth a stop to check out in Governor's Harbour”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We went to the library when we had an electrical outage at our rental unit and were very pleased. I would have been sorry if we had missed out on it.
The library was recently restored and is a lovely mix of a lending library for tourists/winter inhabitants and useful for the people who live there as well with lecture series and other children's programs. The selection of books to check out is great (join for a nominal fee). The librarian was very friendly and was able to provide a lot of information about the area and the people of the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhillyVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely, lovely Library”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Just love stopping here every trip we make to Eleuthera. The building is charming and the book selection is big. They do have a selection of books you can take to read if you are a visitor, or for an annual fee you can become a member even if you are not a resident. I like to sit down for a while and and read a history book on Eleuthera or the Bahamas.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreamsofmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laverne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“great historical place”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

the staff is friendly and more helpful than the tourist place, i read two books and donated them to the library..

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissMakeBelieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for families with little children”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

There is a great reading room here filled with books and games for toddlers and little kids! Right on the water too so you can go shelling or just walk the beach from there. There are computers upstairs you can rent for $5 an hour.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank CTsteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haynes Library also viewed

Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
Governor's Harbour, Eleuthera
 
Eleuthera, Out Islands
 

Been to Haynes Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing