We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canouan, a great island & Tamarind Beach, a great hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Stouport on Severn
Level Contributor
208 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Canouan, a great island & Tamarind Beach, a great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

We stayed at theTamarind Beach for 7 nights in a ground floor beach front suite on a full board basis. The suite was huge and probably the best room we have ever stayed in at any hotel in the Carribean (and we have been to quite a few). There is a very large deck outside the room from which access to the beach is gained via a small gate and a few stepping slabs.

Only a quarter of the rooms in the hotel seemed to be occupied and because of this the hotel was very quiet. This meant that we did get very personal service from the staff, who were extremely natural and friendly.

Canouan is a small island and the hotel provides a tour, which takes about an hour. The main town is also right outside the hotel gates and we were surprised how friendly the locals were to us. Nearly everyone we met said hello and smiled.

What can we say about the food. They must have a great chef, as we could not fault it. During the week we worked our way through the whole menu and enjoyed everything we ate. The menu was very varied with Italian and Indonesian influences. The lobster, for which there was no additional charge, was massive.

There hotel does charge for water and all drinks. At each meal you are offered water for which you are charged 5.43 USD per meal. We had wine with each evening meal, which cost us 50.00 USD per bottle. There was a good variety of wines available at this price, but you could pay considerably more per bottle. A small bottle of beer was 6.52 USD.

The beach was public, but we were not bothered by any vendors, which can be real pain on some of the larger islands . The hotel provided recliners and beach towels. As the hotel is adjacent to The Moorings we found the constant comings and goings of the yachts etc to be very interesting and entertaining.

We would like to express our thanks to the staff and management, who made our stay very pleasurable and we certainly have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and go for a suite rather than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Morrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    62
    14
    3
    2
See reviews for
23
99
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Canouan is a small island in the Grenadines. Its perfect if you want a totally relaxed break. Its easy to get a boat out to the Tobago Cays for diving and snorkelling but other than that there is nothing to do, meaning you don't feel guilty about lounging on the sun beds! The rooms are lovely, right on the beach meaning you can constantly hear the crashing waves. There aren't many local restaurants on the island but the food is very good at the hotel. Service was lovely.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are good but if you are staying for more than a few nights its worth asking for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NHomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamley Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

Stayed here for a week and had a lovely quiet holiday. Don't come here if you want a buzzing, lively time - it's not that sort of a place. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing holiday with excellent service in a beautiful location, then this is as good a place as any.

We were fortunately upgraded to a suite - and very nice it was! Hotel was very quiet (only 16 guests) which meant there was plenty of room on the beach (although even if the hotel's full there'd probably be enough space).

Could not fault the service in any way. Staff were fantastic, with nothing being too much trouble.

Food is good - a mix of Italian & Caribbean. Worth trying the lobster!

Room Tip: Pick a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ray663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This island is in the middle of the carribean. There isn't a lot of reasons to go this island except a holiday, as it is a rather poor island.

The hotel itself is nice.

Its directly on the beach, and the beach is a nice soft sand. There are small flies, so make sure you put on some insect repellant.

The rooms are small, but nice.
Make sure you order a pizza as they were amazing

Its a worthwhile stop if you are in the area, but not a destination in itself

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Aussie2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent 5 days at the TBH in November 2011 and loved it. The hotel is right on the beach which is beautifully kept with comfortable loungers, fresh towels and a bar. If you like the sea, this is a perfect place as the crashing waves and lovely sandy beach are directly beneath your balcony. Two restaurants, one a bit more formal than the other, with fresh fish daily - a bit pricey but understandable as the island has to bring everything in from St Vincent. Service is first class both in the restaurants and the rooms and the beach. The island is small, made smaller by the one third tip at the top which was empty when we were there but did not allow access except for a tour which we took around the island. We felt cut off from the world even though the wifi was fine and we were able to keep in touch with the outside. There is not much to do on the island except enjoy the sea and the spectacular views. Trips to other beaches to snorkel are easy to arrange as are trips to other islands. We needed a rest and we certainly had that and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a 2-room suite but the single rooms are also lovely and all of them overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Happytrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in the TBH for one week in December 2011.

The positives:
- Upgrade to a suite upon arrival
- Beautiful room made out of hardwood with amazing floors, bed and shutters
- Right at the beach with wave crashing sounds all night
- Mostly friendly staff and all very well organized
- Good food with authentic Italian pasta and pizza, local dishes for lunch and even fresh lobsters
- Extremely quiet an peaceful
- Nice clean beach right in front ot place with bar, chairs and view of the local pier

Negative:
- Three quaters of the island inaccesible to TBH hotel guests as those are part of Canouan resort (own by the same people as TBH but they won't allow access)
- Remainder of the island is more or less a staging area for construction and support for that resort (and the ongoing expansion of it) so very different feel from most islands in the Grenadines
- Food and drink in resort somewhat pricy

Tips:
- The town is 3 min walk away and allows you to stock your fridge cheaply
- The hotel offers free shuttle service to all beaches of the island - Glossy Beach is amazing and has great sunset views and a bar for drinks
- There is a fast ferry to Bequia leaving at 7.30 am in the morning that make a daytrip possible on certain days (returning 4.15 pm)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Moreyoucando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent three nights ashore at the Tamarind Beach during the course of a 2 week holiday cruising on a friends’ boat in the Grenadines. We wished we had spent longer!
The welcome we received from the management all the way through to the beach staff was excellent. The managers, Cinzia and Angelo, a delightful Italian couple with many years’ experience in the Caribbean run a very tight ship and are constantly present and available to talk to guests. It is clear that they take a close personal interest in all that goes on and they have developed a wonderful team whose only thought is to make your visit as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.

Amongst the staff, special mention should go to Dibin, the Balinese chef who came in especially on his day off to prepare a meal for us and our guests – a meal that will linger long in our memories (and we are used to fine dining). Then there was Felix, the Restaurant Manager, who, with his team, made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The Reception staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious, imaginatively decorated and the linen was impeccably clean.

All in all a delightful experience and a salutary reminder as to how simple, friendly and good hearted people can go a long way to restoring your faith in the human race! We shall be going back!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
20.8 mi away
Bequia Beach Hotel
Bequia Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Friendship
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
9.5 mi away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
23.5 mi away
Sugar Reef Bequia
Sugar Reef Bequia
#2 of 10 in Bequia
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
The Old Fort, Boutique Hotel & Estate
22.2 mi away
Spring House Bequia
Spring House Bequia
#1 of 1 in Port Elizabeth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club

Property: Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Address: Grand Bay | Canouan Island, Charlestown, Canouan
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Canouan > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club is a lively beachfront oasis with 40 seaside hideaways, surrounded by tropical gardens, on a long white sand beach. The low-rise property features two thatched-roof restaurants/bars: the "Palapa Restaurant", with a delightful open terrace right at the water edge, offering Italian and West Indian cuisine and the “Pirate's Cove” an informal Bar serving lighter fare. Beach bar, water sports (hydro bikes, windsurf, canoe and sunfish) and massage facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarind Beach Hotel And Yacht Club
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club Canouan, St. Vincent And The Grenadines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing