We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
David's Beach Hotel(Union Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Petit St. Vincent Resort(Petit St.Vincent)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
97
68
16
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
68
16
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanouan resorttrue caribbeanpizzarestaurant managersaladpirate coverum punchlaid backdinghy dockcomfortable chairssalt whistle bayoff the beaten pathswim up barwell taken caretropical stormsmall tablesome sort
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 189 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

This island is in the middle of the carribean. There isn't a lot of reasons to go this island except a holiday, as it is a rather poor island.

The hotel itself is nice.

Its directly on the beach, and the beach is a nice soft sand. There are small flies, so make sure you put on some insect repellant.

The rooms are small, but nice.
Make sure you order a pizza as they were amazing

Its a worthwhile stop if you are in the area, but not a destination in itself

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Aussie2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We spent 5 days at the TBH in November 2011 and loved it. The hotel is right on the beach which is beautifully kept with comfortable loungers, fresh towels and a bar. If you like the sea, this is a perfect place as the crashing waves and lovely sandy beach are directly beneath your balcony. Two restaurants, one a bit more formal than the other, with fresh fish daily - a bit pricey but understandable as the island has to bring everything in from St Vincent. Service is first class both in the restaurants and the rooms and the beach. The island is small, made smaller by the one third tip at the top which was empty when we were there but did not allow access except for a tour which we took around the island. We felt cut off from the world even though the wifi was fine and we were able to keep in touch with the outside. There is not much to do on the island except enjoy the sea and the spectacular views. Trips to other beaches to snorkel are easy to arrange as are trips to other islands. We needed a rest and we certainly had that and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a 2-room suite but the single rooms are also lovely and all of them overlook the sea.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Happytrav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed in the TBH for one week in December 2011.

The positives:
- Upgrade to a suite upon arrival
- Beautiful room made out of hardwood with amazing floors, bed and shutters
- Right at the beach with wave crashing sounds all night
- Mostly friendly staff and all very well organized
- Good food with authentic Italian pasta and pizza, local dishes for lunch and even fresh lobsters
- Extremely quiet an peaceful
- Nice clean beach right in front ot place with bar, chairs and view of the local pier

Negative:
- Three quaters of the island inaccesible to TBH hotel guests as those are part of Canouan resort (own by the same people as TBH but they won't allow access)
- Remainder of the island is more or less a staging area for construction and support for that resort (and the ongoing expansion of it) so very different feel from most islands in the Grenadines
- Food and drink in resort somewhat pricy

Tips:
- The town is 3 min walk away and allows you to stock your fridge cheaply
- The hotel offers free shuttle service to all beaches of the island - Glossy Beach is amazing and has great sunset views and a bar for drinks
- There is a fast ferry to Bequia leaving at 7.30 am in the morning that make a daytrip possible on certain days (returning 4.15 pm)

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Moreyoucando1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

We spent three nights ashore at the Tamarind Beach during the course of a 2 week holiday cruising on a friends’ boat in the Grenadines. We wished we had spent longer!
The welcome we received from the management all the way through to the beach staff was excellent. The managers, Cinzia and Angelo, a delightful Italian couple with many years’ experience in the Caribbean run a very tight ship and are constantly present and available to talk to guests. It is clear that they take a close personal interest in all that goes on and they have developed a wonderful team whose only thought is to make your visit as relaxed and enjoyable as possible.

Amongst the staff, special mention should go to Dibin, the Balinese chef who came in especially on his day off to prepare a meal for us and our guests – a meal that will linger long in our memories (and we are used to fine dining). Then there was Felix, the Restaurant Manager, who, with his team, made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. The Reception staff was unfailingly courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious, imaginatively decorated and the linen was impeccably clean.

All in all a delightful experience and a salutary reminder as to how simple, friendly and good hearted people can go a long way to restoring your faith in the human race! We shall be going back!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freddy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We had a beautiful all wooden suite right on the beach with 2 bathrooms. We initially couldn't get the internet and our fridge needed defrosting. The staff were wonderful and had the island internet provider come straight out and fixed it and Roland, the maintenance man, immediately replaced the fridge. The food was great and service superb. Just enough people on the beach to give some atmosphere but you could only really describe it as deserted. Beautiful beach. The only other hotel on the island was being refurbished so the island tour is quick but you get to see the Trump golf course - currently with hardly anyone playing. We also took a catamaram tour to the Tobago cays for snorkelling.

I do find one oddity in the West Indies in so far as a 12.5% service charge is automatically added to the bill, then there is space for a tip. On questioning I was told the service charge applies to all staff and the tip was for the waiters. Once, on another island, I filled out the tip and when the bill came back there was another space for a 'gratuity'. When does it end?

Room Tip: There is a security light that flashes on and off. Would be preferable not to be under it.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peter c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews