We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Top Gear awarded road” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Transalpina Road

Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“The Top Gear awarded road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The road is very good and the view amazing! It is worth the experience driving on this road !!! However you need to take care if the weather in not good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleni_gak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“misplaced attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

do update the location of this attraction.
It is in a completely different location.
After the comment almost one year ago I was expecting you to updatge the details.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Razvan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A wide road of intense beauty - "more than 200 km west of Poiana Brasov"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

It is useless to describe it is an old road certified by the Romans and rebuilt over time.It is a road that connects Transylvania - Oltenia, a road located at 2000 m, the highest point being in "Pasul Urdele" 2145 m.
A wide road of intense beauty, somehow they open wide traffic on another road, "Transfagarasanul".
Recently restored, currently do not offer safe havens for sightseeing, inducing somewhat inventive tourists to park cars almost everywhere.
It is a road reopens gate economic development of the area, it having great tourism potential.
Enumerate only a few sights along the way: the glacial lakes of the area ("Lake Calcescu", "Lake Bucura", "Lake Mija", etc..), A series of peaks "Parangul Mare", "Parangul Mic", "Papusa"," Lake Vidra",tourist area " Vidra " that even if left in ruins, with the way he can revive the future, and of course new ski resort" Transalpina Ski Resort ".
We look forward to pleasant things to happen to this area.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bogdan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Note that at the time I am writing this review, TripAdvisor
is listing the Transalpina Road in the wrong location. It is listed
in the Poiana Brasov area but the Transalpina Road
(named DN 67C - meaning National Road 67C) is between
Novaci and Sebes, more than 200km west of Poiana Brasov.

Transalpina is an old road but has just recently been paved (2009)
so for the most part the quality of the asphalt is perfect. Of all the
roads in Romania it reaches the highest altitude (2145m - 7037ft) in
what is called "Pasul Urdele".

The views from the road are extremely nice and you will want to make
several stops to take in those views. Fortunately, when we visited
(a weekday around the end of June 2012) the road was quite empty.
When this happens you will have plenty of time to take pictures
from your car. The drive itself is not easy there are many switchbacks
many of which over ascending terrain.

An added bonus was encountering two groups of donkeys on the road.
The first group were friendly and inquisitive and had no problem sticking
their head through the open car window. An unexpected and amazing
experience :).

On the downside, the last part of the road driving North
(approaching Sebes) was quite bad in quality. This seems temporary, the
asphalt has been broken apart on purpose in quite a few places probably
as part of on-going work for improving the quality of the road. That
being said this last part makes you stop every 100m and will
significantly increase the time it takes you to finish the drive.
Also, there are very few signs on the road, even on the most beautiful part.
For example, we haven't seen any sign informing us of the highest point.
So we used our GPS to get a sense of the altitude we were at.

If you do decide to do this drive (and I encourage you to) you can consider
complementing it with stops at the historically important Alba Iulia town,
the venue of the 1918 declaration of Union (and another attempt in 1600)
which defined Romania as we know it today. Close to Alba Iulia an
interesting place is Turda which has an amazing Salt Mine.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank hexalite2k5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bucuresti
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“incredible views and almost perfect conditions of the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We've just been yesterday on this road and enjoyed the fantistic views and sceneries.
We started from Novaci and then went towards Voineasa. The road is almost impacable, just that for some parts of it there are still holes from time to time where they will build the drain water channels. Also, there are not guardrails all over and we've seen a very serious car accident with a car top down after falling down.
It is very important to check the weather conditions in those areas before going because having an altitude of more than 2.000 m, if the sky is not clean, you can not enjoy the views. You can check this on the dedicated website http://www.transalpina.biz/index.html

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank oanap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transalpina Road also viewed

Gorj County, Southwest Romania
Obarsia Lotrului, Valcea County
 
Mehedinti County, Southwest Romania
Gorj County, Southwest Romania
 

Been to Transalpina Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing