We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its all about the location...”
Review of Spread Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Spread Eagle Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Stourton B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The big plus here is the location which allows out-of-hours access to the adjacent Stourhead NT garden.. Its also a good base to explore the neighbouring parts of Somerset, Dorset & Wiltshire, notable Shaftsbury ( of Hovis ad fame) and Sherborne. Good breakfast and evening meal, Friendly service although could come under pressure when trying to handle the dining room and the bar. Rooms apparently vary, ours was quite acceptable although some of furnishings were getting a bit worn. You may have a problem with mobile signals ( nothing on EE) and the Wi Fi is free but patchy, if these things are critical for you.

As a previous reviewer has said average does not do it justice but very good has to be qualified.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank v700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 221 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2014

We picked the Spread Eagle Inn out of the Good Pub Guide as a place to stoop and have a meal on our way back home from London. Pulled up outside at a fantastic looking place. We had rung at lunch time and booked a table so expected to get a table. Greeted at the bar by a helpful young lady and taken through to the restaurant which had one table reserved (out of 5) but funnily enough that wasn't ours? But as the other four tables were empty no problem, but had they noted our booking? Who knows?
Service was good, menu and specials looked good. Food came quickly and was well cooked (one lamb steak and one rib eye steak). Pudding (sticky toffee) was the best I've had since the Tower Bank Arms at Far Sawry (Cumbria) about 22 years ago, so I guess you could say it was nice!
Price wise, just over £55 for the two of us for two courses and one drink each.
The room was full of character with old mismatched tables and chairs. The two staff were working hard as they were also covering the bar but everything came and went at just the right pace.

Would we go again? Without a doubt yes. It was a great place to stop for a meal on the way back home from London and as we do this trip quite a lot they will get more of our custom.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elf_Bowman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We've visited the Spread Eagle Inn about half a dozen times or so and I never cease to be amazed at how good and friendly the service always is, even though the staff must be getting pretty frazzled by the sheer number of customers.

The food is simple but reasonably priced and I've always found it to be of good quality. Today, as on other occasions, I really didn't think that they'd be able to find room for us, bearing in mind the number of customers they had. However not only did they find us a table, but the service was unexpectedly speedy and with a smile.

We'll definitely be going back and the service has even tempted us to take advantage of their special rates on out of season accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ook900g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

If Trip Advisor had a Good rather than Very Good Rating then that would have been our choice. The spread of ratings are about right.We had booked a room for one night because we wanted to experience Stourhead without the crowds and it certainly achieved that in the evening and following morning. The peace,tranquillity and beauty is superb and your are alone to digest it all.We had decided also to stay at the Inn because we expected a NT owned property to be that something special. Yes the location is superb and the building is a typical old inn. Our room was rather small for the price (others seemed much larger on the fire safety diagram) although nicely decorated and equipped even though the upholstered chair did block the access to the wardrobe somewhat.The TV (small but digital flat screen) was located on a rickety table- we expected old but not shabby. The kettle lid was broken but not obviously until boiling water was poured from it (reported and replaced). The bed was a rather small double but comfy and the bed linen crisp cotton and of good quality. The bathroom was lacking in quality for a place like this.We have stayed in many old country hotels/inns and love them but usually the bathrooms have been updated. This certainly needed refurbishment- the shower head is dented and would not stay in the holder. The main inn boiler and pipework is located within a rather tatty looking cupboard which when the door swung open revealed a very dirty interior with bits of wood strewn all over. The bathroom was too hot because of the boiler/pipes in the cupboard and also made the bedroom too warm.Not good in Summer I guess.Our window (only one opens) looked out over the back entrance canopy (which could do with a sweep over) and a line of conifers which block what would be a lovely view - why can't they be reduced in height? We had Dinner in the Green Room- service was friendly and very efficient. There were some reasonably priced wines and the food we chose was excellent.The room was quite cool( one lady had a jacket on) on what was a cold night following a warm day and it is a room which needs warmth on such an evening. All staff are very pleasant and obliging. Some aspects of this place are excellent- the whole hotel could be with a little investment; tlc and attention to detail which is what we expected of the National Trust above all.

Room Tip: Ask about the room sizes. Room 1 is the small one but not mentioned on the website or differentiated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Popped in here after a ramble around the lake.

Just the nicest ever cider - Lily's Apples and Pears. If I wasn't driving, I'd still be there drinking. A lovely Copper Ale by Palmers, and a couple of Stourton brews.

The only issue - Price. £6.50 for a ham sandwich with a pinch of ready salted crisps and salad. This was the smallest, lightly hammed sandwich you would ever see, and a well dressed small side garnish.

Don't abuse your captive opportunity with prices like this for food like that.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeAndDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Having visited Stourhead before, I had always wanted to stay at The Spread Eagle located within the grounds. The winter offer is good value and we stayed two nights. We had dinner on the first night which was very good. We went to the Bell & Crown a short drive away on the second night and again the food was very good. Hotel is very olde worlds and the staff are very friendly. We were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PortsmouthRosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The Spread Eagle is half way between my house in Devon and my brother's in Dorset so we arranged to meet for Friday lunch. The bar was welcoming and warm; the "pub grub" food was substantial and delicious; the range of local beer was just right and the service was sensitive and prompt. We arrived at noon and finally left after two servings of excellent coffee at 5pm. We've been to several places to meet up over the last few years and this is the best. We'll definitely be back !

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank HM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stourton
9.4 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
627 reviews
12.2 mi away
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stourhead Gardens B & B
Stourhead Gardens B & B
#2 of 2 in Stourton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Castleton House
Castleton House
#1 of 2 in Mere
220 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Walnut Tree Inn
The Walnut Tree Inn
#15 of 24 in Warminster
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spread Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spread Eagle Inn

Address: Spread Eagle Hotel Church Lawn | Stourhead Estate, Stourton BA12 6QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Stourton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stourton
Price Range: $107 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Spread Eagle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Spread Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spread Eagle Hotel Stourton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing