We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Gatwick guest house”

Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A very good Gatwick guest house”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Tanglewood is a large detached house of modern construction with double glazed windows (so no noise from Gatwick!) which has been fitted out to a high standard. It is set back from the road and there is parking for about 6 cars in the enclosed front garden. It is only 5-10 minutes away from the two Gatwick airport terminals.
We stayed here in January 2013 on our way back from Sicily. We arranged to leave our car at Tanglewood at the start of our trip and we were dropped into the airport by one of the family. On our return there was a vehicle (and driver) waiting for us at the terminal and we were transported back to the guest house where we had a really nice room with ensuite shower & WC, comfortable bed, central heating and everything was nice and clean. We had tea and coffee making facilities, a supply of cooled mineral water and in the morning we had a good cooked breakfast (which we chose the night before from a menu) which was delivered to our room which was big enough to have a King bed and a table and 2 chairs.
We researched the Gatwick area for accomodation and car parking prior to our trip and although we found other possible locations we thought that Tanglewood offered good value for money. The test as far as we are concerned is "would you stay there again?" and a definate yes would be our response.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Plymouthtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
61
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Avliotes Corfu
2 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2013

A lovely, clean, well equipped room. En suite facilities, with a good shower. Comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities. Everything you need for a comfortable pre flight night. We traveled by train, and the family picked us up from the airport, they also took us to the airport for early check in that evening, and then again the next morning for our flight. All three trips were included in the price of the room. Definitely would use again, and would happily recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kas020803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maesteg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Really first rate room and personal service. I have got agree with Ken S by far the best overnight stay and parking package. Clean & spacious room with everything to hand with a small fridge stocked with water, tea and coffee facilities, breakfast was served on a trolley which was delicious . Guest rooms have their own entrance. I recommend this B&B highly, and looking forward to going back in March , I give this B&B 5 out of 5 and would not consider booking any where else, please try you will be going back that's for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea, uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed bank in October and parked the car for 18 nights.
Myself partner and 8 month old son stayed overnight as we had the baby going down the pub for food was out of the question as the baby was tired so asked if there was any local takeaways that delivered and were given a handful of menu's. The couple that own tanglewood could not do enough to help us. The room was spotless and everything was to hand with a small fridge stocked with water tea and coffee facilities. Breakfast was served on a trolley in the room which was delious and more than enough and we were offered more toast and coffee. I could not recommend this b&b and looking forward to going back in June. Def a 5 out of 5 would not consider booking else where.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stressed-already
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Clean & spacious room with breakfast brought to you. We could hear aircraft, but they seemed to stop operating between 11pm & 6am when we stayed. The owner was friendly and helpful. It is very handy for both Gatwick terminals and yet in a leafy suburb. The guest rooms have their own entrance, which we liked. We'll probably go again and park the car there too.

The local pub, Parson's Pig, is OK and a short walk away. Worth taking a torch in winter as the path runs out and the road is busy. You can get good food, well kept real ale and a friendly welcome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhileasDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Really first rate room and personal service. By far the best overnight and parking package we have tried. The room was like new and nicely fitted out and decorated. The personal collection and delivery service is a lot better than waiting around for courtesy busses and worrying about whether they will leave enough time. Will definately be using this option again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alanya, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My husband and I stay at this guest house for one night on our way back from France. The lady came and picked us up from the airport herself, saving us a taxi fare. What a great personal service. Our room was on the ground floor and it was perfect for us. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed was so comfortable. The en-suite had a great size shower, but some reviews have mentioned the sink being too small, it was alright for me but maybe if you're a man and you are having a shave then it's a problem. The room had tea & coffee making facilities and breakfast is brought to your room. You can choose what you want from a breakfast menu. It was excellent. When it was time to leave they took us back to the airport for our next flight. This is a family run guest house and they are very friendly and helpful. This lady also went out of her way to do us a personal favour and we are very grateful to her for her help and kindness. We are also in the same business in Turkey and we provide the same type service and have gained many returning customers, so in turn we will definitely be returning here again and I'm sure many others will too. Good Luck.

Room Tip: Super service and comfortable rooms, Book It!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMYBT13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tinsley Green
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport (North Terminal) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Ibis London Gatwick Airport
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Gatwick Airport South (London Road) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BLOC Hotel Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Hilton London Gatwick Airport
1.0 mi away
Courtyard London Gatwick Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House

Property: Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House
Address: Tanglewood Radford Road, Tinsley Green RH10 3NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Tinsley Green
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tinsley Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanglewood Guest House is an imposing detached house, set in mature gardens, offering comfortable en suite accommodation at affordable prices. 5 minutes drive from Gatwick Airport. Free transfers. Parking available. Tanglewood Guest House offers distinctive accommodation with style and quality. All bedrooms are in the continental style with white walls and terracotta floor tiles. All rooms are fully equipped with en suite facilities - shower, hand basin and WC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Tanglewood @ Gatwick Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing