We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge
Certificate of Excellence
Veldhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great place and stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed at Surucua lodge for two days. In one word it was great. Adrian and Laura were so kind!

Adrian showed us around and has a keen eye for spotting birds. It is really fun to walk with him through the jungle and getting the excitement of spotting a bird! Also kayaking on the Rio Iguazu is good fun

Laura is a really good cook. She cooked 3x per day a meal for us and each of them was wonderful. Local dishes with a lot of vegetables (good to have this change in the meat eating Argentina). They were made with local ingredients and all very tasty.

The lodge itself is well build. Beatifull wooden look, solid furniture, hammocks and animals to be seen around the lodge. The lodge is really in the middle of the jungle. The wooden walk bridges are even build around the trees. The room itself was clean and well maintained.

Adrian and Laura really took good care of us and felt like friends. We felt really nice there. It is a warmly recommended stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pieters81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurucuaLodge, Propietario at Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thank you Very Much for your visit!!!! We had Great Time with you and shared a lot of experiences!!!!
When you plannig return to Argentina please remember visit us again, we will waiting for you!!!
We remain at your disposal.
All the Best!! Hugs, Laura&Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
62
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Welcome to a little paradise in the middle of the jungle. No internet or mobile connection, just you and nature. Not used to being disconnected? Don't worry, Laura, Adrian and the rest of the crew will guide you and make sure you're comfortable. Guided (bird-watching) tours through the private jungle reserve and kayaking will make you hungry, so excellent food will be waiting for your return. The meals are (partly) made from local delicacies and contain plenty of vegetables (unusual in the otherwise meat-centered Argentinian restaurants). All in all, a perfect way to relax, but bring mosquito repellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurucuaLodge, Propietario at Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you Very Much for visit us!!!
We are really happy with your visit and because you like it Surucuá!!!
We spent very good time with you!!
We want to improve our service and offer a really good stay to our guest.
We remain at your disposal and wait your visit again.
Hugs, Laura&Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at the Surucua Eco-Lodge with a crew of 5 people and had a wonderful experience, with the right combination of feeling like family but without any obligations or expectations. Laura and Adrian who run the lodge provided our group with a nice mixture of the rustic Argentine life/food/culture parlayed with an up to date eco-lodge

We arrived in the town of Andrecito at about 6pm and were picked up by Adrian at his uncle Carlos' house- complete with a welcoming drink of Yerba Matte. We loaded our gear into his 4X4 vehicle and drove about 35min down an unpaved jungle road. This was a magical ride under a pitch black sky filled with the stars and Milky Way that traveled along the Iguazu River and the boarder between Brazil and Argentina.

We were welcome at the rustic and cozy (in the fact that it is all hand cut wood and from the local forest) lodge to cold beer and and fantastic multi-course meal all from local ingredients, farmers, mongers, bakers, and butchers.

The Lodge is tucked into the forest/jungle and surrounded by dense forest that sloaps down into the Iguazu River. There are surrounding organic Yerba Matte fields (a few of which supply Whole Foods). There are 5-6 cabins that connect to the Lodge with a raised platform. The lodge is set up for bird watching and is adorned with photos that Adrian has taken. There is a grand fire place, lounge, library of ecological books and field guides, a mini bar, a grand family style dining table, an up-stairs lounge and observation area, and a back deck with hammocks/chairs and tables.

We were comfortable in the cabins which have a combination of beds for couples or solo. Each cabin has heated water/showers, a wood stove to heat at night, electricity/lights, a sitting porch (unscreened) and a bureau for cloths/gear/blankets.

Laura and Adrain provided 3 home cooked meals a day with a full bar if desired. Each meal was a combination of traditional Argentine cuisine with Laura's gourmet twist. Everything was uber fresh, handmade and local.

We spent 3 days and 2 nights at the lodge and did a combination of hiking, walks, sleeping in hammocks, reading, nature watching from the decks, and a canoeing/kayaking trip on the Iguazu River.

The river trip was fantastic. The Iguazu is very wide but shallow and calm at that location. On the one side of the river is a Brazilian Reserve that stretches at least 10KM in and the other side is a protected Park in Argentina. So there were no other people on the river and almost no structures (A few scattered houses) or obstructions along the whole trip.

We didn't have time to do more but the lodge offers many other excursions and bird watching and nature adventures.

We would highly recommend Adrian and Laura's lodge as part of trip to the Iguazu Peninsula/Falls!

Room Tip: There are 5-6 cabins and the only difference is they bed- for 1 or 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurucuaLodge, Propietario at Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you Very Much Michael for your visit!!!!We are Really Happy because you like it Surucuá!!!
We spended Great time with you and the group!!!!
We want to improve day by day our service.
We remain at your disposal and wait for you in other visit to Argentina.
All the Best!! Laura&Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posadas, Argentina
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

At Surucua Ecolodge you can truly disconnect from your hectic life. You can just sit and admire the nature, watch and listen to all kinds of birds, go hiking or go on a kayak tour.
The service was fantastic. Our hosts surprised us with delicious food (typical food) not only for dinner and lunch but also for breakfast, with homemade bread, chipitas, homemade marmalade, etc. They catered for our every need to ensure we just relaxed and felt at home.
The main house is nice and cozy and the rooms are very comfortable. Each one has a private bathroom and is detached from the other rooms.
The kayaking experience was just amazing and a must do. We had never done this kind of activity before, so we were kind of scared at the beginning, but Adrian and Laura were able to guide us so well that we soon gained confidence and did kayaking (successfully) as we enjoyed the most amazing view.
Highly recommended for those out there who are looking for a new experience, want to just chill and admire nature, and for birdwatchers.
Best,
Luciana S.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurucuaLodge, Propietario at Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Thank you Very Much Luciana & Fernando!!!!
We are Really Happy with your visit!!!we had good times with you!!!
We want to improve our service day by day.
We remain at your disposal
All the best,
Laura & Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you like being in remote places where you have a sense of being in touch with the environment - but at the same time you don't want to forego a comfortable bed - then this is for you! Surucua is at the end of a 25 minute dirty track drive - deep into the rain forest. The home which Laura and Adrian have built provides accommodation for only a select number of guests - specifically to share their experience of the jungle environment - without loosing a sense of intimacy. The coming and going of humming birds and beautiful blue morpho butterflies make breakfast a unique experience! Laura's cooking is amazing - and features local dishes, from ingredients which are gathered from the forest - like Palm Hearts which grow here in abundance. We stayed with Laura and Adrian as part of a cycle tour of the area organised by Iguazu Bike Tours, but took advantage of a canoe trip down river, organised as part of the experience which Surucua can offer. Although our visit was short (one night only) we left feeling that we had been staying with friends and sharing a very special and intimate moment with people who truly care for their environment.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean but basic - in line with the 'eco lodge' experience. There is a wood bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SurucuaLodge, Propietario at Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you So Much Chris & Linda!!! You are GREAT and SPECIAL people!!!!
We are really HAPPY because you visited Surucua!!!!
Our purpose is improve day by day.
We hope you can return to Argentina with much time to visit us!!!
All the Best!!! With love, Laura & Adrian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andrecito
2.3 mi away
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
Cabanas Del Lenador Hotel
#35 of 48 in Puerto Iguazu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
22.2 mi away
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
Canzi Cataratas Hotel
#45 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
21.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
Belmond Hotel das Cataratas
#1 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
Sheraton Iguazu Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Iguazu National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
24.4 mi away
San Sebastian de la Selva
San Sebastian de la Selva
#2 of 3 in Andrecito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
22.1 mi away
San Martin Resort & Spa
San Martin Resort & Spa
#33 of 78 in Foz do Iguacu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge

Property: Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge
Address: Lote 8 Paraje Peninsula, Andrecito 3385, Argentina
Location: Argentina > Litoral > Province of Misiones > Andrecito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Andrecito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being just 70 km from Iguazu falls, Surucua Lodge is a family-run business which offers lodging, regional cuisine and adventure ecotourism activities. It also offers unique experiences as you have a close contact with nature, and as you learn about the rainforest and its secrets by means of the personalized services we provide. We offer birding, hiking, biking (through Surucuá reserve's trails, like jungle bike) and kayaking along the Iguazu River. We are waiting for you to share this Great Experience, Authentic and Personalized. We remain at your disposal, Laura & Adrian. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Surucua Reserva & Ecolodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing