We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave it another go”

Hay Point Hotel Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Hay Point
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Hay Point Hotel Motel is committed to providing its patrons a responsible, friendly, safe entertainment environment, and to ensuring a safe and enjoyable place in which to work for all staff members. Imagine... Whale spotting in winter Seeing exotic native animals, marine life and birds Excellent fishing and crabbing Great food Pokies Bar and Bistro Bottleshop TAB Friendly, happy and relaxed staff
Hay Point, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gave it another go”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Decided to give it another go and this time it didn't disappoint, meal was delicious and presentation was great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummalewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hay Point, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Had the chicken parmy, chicken was very dry & had very little sauce, service was quick and staff were friendly, place could do with better seating not too comfy

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummalewie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Things changed for the better!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Food is really good! Sad to see the clientel is quite loud and drunk. You cannot say it is cosy inside, but dine outside and you're in a totally different place. Tip: try the squid!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaat86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Things have changed”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

New chef great food, very happy,tried the soup,then had a steak,everything was great sure there is new management now.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Whitsunday
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So, how bad can pub grub be?”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Woking nearby, on Monday April 2 a workmate suggested we try the local hotel for a meal, a couple of beers and see if they had the footy on.
Big mistake. Once you negotiate the pokie machine room with a few forlorn players, the bar area looked just as seed. No, the footy would not be on. So, fortified with a beer, I checked the menu.
Ah, fish of the day with chips and salad. Expensive price, but the manager says the fish is Barramundi, so give it a go. What turned up almost turned my tummy. Grey and looking like something pre crumbed and frozen it was not the prized Barra. Now I've trained commercial Barra fishers up in the Gulf at Karumba, so I know what Barra looks and tastes like. I don't like being lied to and don't worry, I will not be eating there again. A hotel? I don't think so. I now understand their advert slogan "I got hooked at the Hay Pt Hotel" too bad no Barra were hooked.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank CapnDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hay Point Hotel Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing