We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhanachuli
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I like hills .. Unfortunately most of the popular destinations are too crowded ... this place is as far away from crowd as you can get ... in a remote setting on top of the Hill between the clouds .. amazing location ... staff is very courteous and cordial ... food options are as much as the cook can cook .... beauty of the place is that there is nothing to do and no tv in the room ... but once you find yourself in the middle of nature you just forget for once about your job or tv programs or Facebook etc and start living in the moment ... this place is awesome and would come here again in winters when snow is there ...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amit G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
56
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is the place you come to if you want to do nothing absolutely nothing BUT just sit and ideaiate or just want to relax and NOT check your mobiles for any sms/FB updates every 10 mins!!!

Absolutely a bliss and actually time stands still here. The resort is separated by cottages private and all got a separate theme of its own. The rooms have a very vintage look n feel.

We were upgraded to Attic room for no extra cost. The staff is really hospitable. Attic room comprised of two rooms one upstairs - which had a cozy small bed/ chairs n Coffee/tea makers + Books. From this room you can see the godly sunset n sunrise over the Himalayas over a sip of hot coffee and see the sky changes the colors every minute.

The room downstairs had all the basic necessities needed with hot n cold water all the time and a private small balcony.

The chef was kind enough to cook us the meal which we preferred rather than on the menu. this was due to fact we went in off season. And on the last night of the stay in the hotel, the staff gave us the surprise !!!!!!! the whole resturant was tea-light lit all across the room and on the tables. Really made our last night at Te-aroha a memorable one. This could also be because, we were the only guest in the resort on that night. but none the less, love them for their gesture :D.

The best and really helpful ways they made our stay comfortable was giving extra blanket for night and keeping hot water bags in the bed to keep in warm at the time we went for dinner and in the restaurant angethi (hot burning coal) was kept near the sitting area. Since in the end -November it was really getting cold and these simple thoughts only made us more comfortable.

Transportation is also provided by the hotel in case you want to go sight seeing or pick/drop to railway station.

Although there is CD/DVD collection and common room for video watching, we preferred to sit in the lawn and rather enjoy the hot sun in the chilly days of November. :)

One thing i found a miss was, cloth hangers were are not present. But really appreciated fact is that on this feedback given, the proprietor of this resort followed up to look into in this matter via email post our visit :).. So not sure they have introduced the cloth hangers now ;)..

Only bit high priced for the snacks if you want to order and no liquor served. you need to carry your own.

Overall a memorable trip!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the room with Himalayan ranges view. The top ones are better than the lower ones. Pick Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DvAsh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Te Aroha is one of the most well thought and crafted properties. This boutique hotel is so beautifully decorated that you see the effort and the heart at the right place. It screams "In the mood for love". Every piece of furniture and artifact is a collectible item. The entire place is a good mix of retro and modern. Sumant Batra, whose brainchild this place is deserves all the praise for putting up this amazing place at such a naturally beautiful place.

The hotel has different variety of rooms and suites. All of them are given different names and a different look/character. The price range differ for each of the suite or room.

The cafe/restaurant serves one of the most delicious local food. Since we celebrated my birthday there , they arranged candle light dinner for me and my friends. They also arranged for a cake (on request) to surprise me at 12 at night.

The museum is another attraction at this place. From old film/advertising posters, film reels, typewriter, telephone to many more such antique artifacts are preserved here. You can't get enough of this place. There is also an extension of cafe where you can play board game and watch some television (there's no Television in the other rooms)

The way to reach Te Aroha is: take a overnight train to Kathgodaam from Delhi Railway station. It starts around 9:45 PM reaches there around 6 AM. Mr Dev the manager will be constantly in touch with you. The cab will come to pick up and in an hour you will reach Te Aroha. They welcome you with an amazing drink and a basket of fruits and cookies. The place is an expensive affair but totally worth the money. You will never forget the time you will experience here. Experience the close by treks also.

The staff is friendly and very efficient.

If you want to experience perfect holiday , this has to be your destination.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but have a look at all the rooms before zeroing on a particular room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yellowbag_86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Te Aroha is one of the finest places that one can stay in, around the Nainital district. It is a summer home of a corporate lawyer Sumant Batra and we were simply impressed with how tastefully he and his team have done up the place. While its a beautiful place what further adds to the superlative 5 star experience is the fine, warm and impeccable service provided to you by a team of 20 employees running the place. All of them were brilliant and while we were booked for 2 nights, the overall experience made us extend by one more night. We strongly recommend Te Aroha and have been raving about it since we returned looking at the next possible opportunity to go back with some of our friends :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinghParivaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

A place for special occasions. Take the train to nearest railway station. Visit the quaint old village. Take leisurely walks in the hills. Take s away the stresses of city life. Surprise s like a movie museum in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellraiser007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We went for our annual vacation here .. it was literally a vacation taken after a year.. and I thank myself for my choice ... I just cudn't have asked more for from this place ... right from the booking to us boarding our train back to Delhi .. the resort staff along with their manager Mr. Dev was always there for any help (they got our tickets booked via tatkaal for our return journey).. coming to the property ... we were pleasantly surprised to find ourselves upgraded to one of their suites .. the Attic .. first two days we were in an absolute awe of our suite .. it is a duplex setup .. the deck above opens to the Himalayan ranges in front of you .. and we could see Trishul from our suite .. it is a beautifully done up place .. where every minute details have been take care of .. be it choice of Twining for your tea to cozy poker room or a nice little library ...the resort has 10 rooms, but if you afford a bit more , I would recommend you should go for the Attic or the long house or the Masters Room .. each room has its own characteristics but along I felt these three are the best to stay... the staff will always welcome you with a broad smile and would try to go a mile further to make your stay more comfortable .. we were here for 4 nights .. now when I think this was just not enough ... we did some lovely treks to the nearby Jungle where the Rhododendron forests would welcome you ... a trip to the local village (might be stressful as it is about 6km walk through the hills) or the Mukteshwar temple ... you may also go down for a visit to Bhimtaal .. roads are nice and resort staff can arrange for a car for your trips ... A trip to Almora or BInsaar will take about 3.5 hrs but we decided to skip them and stay in the comfort of the resort .. nothing like relaxing in the morning sun after a hearty breakfast ... also there is a nice chocolate house where you get assorted home made chocolates and a boutique of Uttarakhand tourism where you can get nice mountain herbs and woolens if needed .. the evening sunset from the resort is a treat to watch .. make sure you do not miss that ... they serve great Indian and continental food .. bit expensive but it is worth the taste ... they do not have alcohol permit .. so in case you want .. you can carry your own booze .. the best way to reach this place is to take the Shatabdi to Kathgodam from Delhi at 6.15am and while returning take the evening Shatabdi from the resort .. Nainitaal is 2 hrs from this place .. I would strongly recommend not to stay at Nanital, maximum you should take a one day trip to Nainital and come back .. lastly the resort guys it was our anniversary as well .. on our last night of stay ... they had arranged a beautiful candle light dinner for us with a homemade cake .. can't ask for more .. truly amazing experience !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Somnath17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Hotels on the hills, esp. the commercial hills like Mussorie & Nainital are a confused lot. In the run for more revenue, they pack in rooms which give no flavor of the surroundings, which is the reason why anyone rushes to the hills for a vacation.

Enter a place like Te Aroha, with the heart in the right place which gives you the right dosage of the things which make you want to go the hills. And in case, you went to Te Aroha, the small things that make you want to go back.

A nice drive of about 2 hours or less from Kathgodam gets you to this hotel. Build with lots of effort & dollops of love, you can see that this isnt a 'resort-resort' hotel. The moment you step in, you can see that the owners have put in things which they liked and collected over the years and have been able to create a small boutique hotel which celebrates the exteriors and the surroundings more than itself. What that means, is that the rooms are nice & comfortable but it urges you to step out and enjoy the views of Himalayan range, work up an appetite moving up & down the stairs ( lots of them, be fit :)), take small treks around this place (highly recommended), breakfast on the sun kissed patio in the morning,tea by the swing in the afternoon & bonfire in the garden at night. The food is warm and nice, not too many items but just what you need.
The common rooms like the library, yellow roofed dining room with a tree in the middle, small poker room, entry lobby of the main wing, even the hand railings of the stairs, have so many personal touches, that in case you are there, stop by these small corners & take sometime to absorb whats around you.

The difference, as it is with any place, is people. The owners are not running this for the love of the place, the passion of having created a nice comfortable abode to share with like minded people & to share the joys they had got from the surroundings. The same feeling comes from the 17 member staff at Te Aroha, who treat you as guest & not (full payment recd in advance, so why bother) like many other places.

Go for the experience, go for the tranquility and the surroundings.

Room Tip: Heard the long house which is their signature room is the best!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mayukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhanachuli
7.5 mi away
Soulitude in the Himalayas
7.2 mi away
Aamari Resorts
Aamari Resorts
#2 of 4 in Ramgarh
140 reviews
16.5 mi away
AyurVAID Kalmatia
AyurVAID Kalmatia
#3 of 16 in Almora
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Neemrana's - Ramgarh Bungalows
4.2 mi away
Jilling Terraces
Jilling Terraces
#1 of 102 in Nainital
41 reviews
13.1 mi away
The Naini Retreat
The Naini Retreat
#1 of 49 in Nainital
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Te Aroha Dhanachuli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Te Aroha Dhanachuli

Property: Te Aroha Dhanachuli
Address: Dhanachuli Bend | Near Mukteshwar, Dhanachuli 263132, India
Location: India > Uttarakhand > Nainital District > Dhanachuli
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dhanachuli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Te Aroha Dhanachuli 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Te Aroha is a boutique resort located amidst the scenic surroundings of Dhanachuli. The original structure of a British style summer house that once stood on the property has been successfully preserved to retain its original charm. Furbished thematically, the 4 spacious suites and 6 luxury rooms offer spellbinding views of Dhanachuli’s landscape and the snow peaked mountains. Huge decks and terraces, antique furniture, massive glass windows and the high ceilinged lobby replete with carefully selected furniture can transport you through time to the bygone elegance of the colonial era. Our personalized service, presented in an atmosphere of understated elegance, is sure to leave you with wonderful memories. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Te Aroha Dhanachuli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Aroha Dhanachuli India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing