We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Red Lion Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sedgebrook Hall(Chapel Brampton)
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hopping Hare(Northampton)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
$42
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Travelodge Northampton Upton Way(Northampton)(Great Value!)
$37
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Highgate House Hotel(Creaton)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveler rating
102
59
17
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
102
59
17
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsscotch eggpuddingbirthday lunchtempura prawnssea breamquaint country puba great eveningwhole eveningfood was absolutely fantasticchildren's menulovely atmospherefamily meallast sundayvery comfortable roombooked a tablepork bellypate
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 185 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Cruising the country lanes on a summers afternoon and stopped here for lunch. WOW. The staff were very welcoming. We ate outside on a beautiful afternoon. The food was excellent. Had to take a moment to admire the presentation and it all tasted as good as it looked.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Dave,

Thank you so much for your great review, the staff are very chuffed with it, makes all there hard work worth it. Our gardens are really beautiful at the moment, our gardener works very hard on them, so he'll be very happy to know they're being enjoyed.

hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Was recommended to come here and what can i say, the service was excellent, we were in and out within the hour as we weren't drinking that night. The staff were attentive and the food was exquisite. Had the scotch egg starter which was lovely and the beef in red wine was to die for, the meat melted in your mouth! Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Hi Mari,

Thanks for your kind review, they are always passed onto the staff, who take great joy in hearing our guests opinions.The scotch egg is a particular favourite of mine too.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Fantastic experience. We were guests at a wedding there and stayed for three nights. Food and service excellent. Bedrooms: tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Staff delightful. Plenty of parking for guests. Lovely gardens and outdoor areas.

Room Tip: A real gem.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcinsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoeBuckey1, General Manager at The Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Thank you for your kind words, they shall be passed on to all staff who take great delight in customer feedback. Hope to see you again one day in our little pub in the countryside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We were welcomed by a lovely young Asian girl that greeted us with a bouncy personality and she was attentive to all our needs. She made our evening enjoyable and recommended food that I would not usually try and they all tasted fabulous, especially the Chicken and Duck liver pate.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Marksandle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had a superb meal here this evening.The service was outstanding,just so attentive.
The cleanliness of the restaurant is above average.In the area are several establishments who are striving for perfection ,my advice is to go and see how it's all done here then maybe you will get it right.
Impressed that you didn't have to pay for sauce to accompany your meal.Also meal comes with more then a tomato and a mushroom !

Go and see for yourself ,it's simply the best.

Room Tip: The best in the area
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 24conway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews