We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveler rating
461
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
461
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roll top bath attention to detail cookies homemade bread top quality warm welcome b and b lovely village home made local pub little touches continental breakfast large walk in shower lovely breakfast rooms are beautiful stayed for one night high standard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 463 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Me and my partner booked this B&B for a night away for his 21st Birthday, as it was just half an hour away from his house. We saw it and thought the rooms look fabulous and a real home from home & we definitely were not disappointed.

As soon as I had booked within 24 hours we received a message from Sam at The Swallows Rest to confirm our booking and to tel me if we needed anything leading up to our stay to let her know. She recommended restaurants for us and booked us a table at Tap and Kitchen which is about 15 minute drive and she offered to sort us a taxi out to take us to dinner. Also, she helped me with every question I asked and she also did a fabulous job of getting some balloons and banners for the room to surprise my boyfriend when we walked into the room! She really made the stay extra special.

The breakfast we had was continental as we stayed Sunday night into Monday, we woke up to freshly baked croissants and Pain Au Chocolate, fresh fruit salad, yogurt, home baked bread, and cereal. It was absolutely delicious.

Nothing was too much trouble for Sam and I'm very glad we made the decision to stay here. It really is a gem and I shall definitely be returning.

Room tip: Affordable, Modern, Cosy, Underfloor heating, Separate Shower and Bath
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holly_Heer1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallows_Rest_1, Owner at Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thankyou Holly, for completing this lovely review. So pleased we could assist in making your boyfriend's birthday extra special. Look forward to seeing you both again, sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were greeted with a warm welcome by Sam and shown to our superb bedroom with en suite bathroom. It was fabulous! A stylish, comfortable room with everything you could possibly need! With views over the pretty garden to fields beyond, it could not have been nicer! We woke up to the birds singing in the trees and to a delicious continental breakfast with scrumptious homemade bread, Brigstock honey and homemade jams and marmalades plus a host of other choices. I would not hesitate to recommend this delightful B & B. It was a 5 star delight!

Room tip: We peeked in all the rooms and they were fabulous!
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PavBux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallows_Rest_1, Owner at Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Swallows Rest so much - it certainly is an idyllic spot and beautifully quiet. Hope to see you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived we knew we had found a gem. The decor in the room was to a very high standard as was the bathroom. Sam, the host was lovely & couldn’t do enough for you. She booked us into a local restaurant whilst we sat drinking tea in the lovely garden.
She offered lots of choice for breakfast which was served in the dining room. ‘Overnight oats’ were fantastic (so good I got the recipe)
Can’t wait to visit again

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallows_Rest_1, Owner at Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks so much Lesley - look forward to welcoming you back sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2019 via mobile

We spent two days at swallows rest and were so impressed by the warm welcome from Sam and all the assistance she was happy to provide. Gorgeous room . The bathroom was big and had a wonderful roll too bath and large walk in shower.Fantastic breakfast.lots of home made or local ingredients. very quiet and peaceful.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Geoffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallows_Rest_1, Owner at Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

It certainly is beautifully quiet and peaceful in this lovely corner of the Northamptonshire countryside! Thanks so much for your lovely words, much appreciated :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2019 via mobile

We met Sam, the proprietor, earlier this year on a ski trip and were impressed by her description of her business. Having planned a quick visit to this area it seemed only right that we book a room.
This is simply the best B&B I have stayed at in the UK. A great welcome, easy parking and a short step to our room. The bedroom and en-suite would have been outstanding in a top class international hotel. Beautifully designed and perfectly furnished, nothing had been left to chance.
Saturday morning breakfast was great too. Plenty of choice from the healthy through to a traditional full English with freshly baked bread. A perfect end to an excellent stopover. Sam had been able to book all of her guests dinner in a couple different local gastro pubs which had also been well received.
Well worth a visit and highly recommended at the right price.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank AncientMariner24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swallows_Rest_1, Owner at Swallows Rest Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2019

Was lovely to meet you both and many thanks for taking the time to complete a review for us. So pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Swallows Rest! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews