We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A REALLY GOOD TRIP, WORTH THE MONEY”

Warner Bros. Studio Tour London - The Making of Harry Potter
Book In Advance
More Info
$92.72*
and up
Harry Potter Tour of Warner Bros. Studio in London
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Leavesden
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Warner Bros. Studio Tour London is a behind-the-scenes walking tour which immerses guests into the world of film-making. The tour features authentic sets, costumes and props that showcase the British artistry, technology and talent that goes into producing world famous and successful movies, created at Warner Bros. Studios Leavesden. The Studio Tour will initially focus on the Harry Potter film series which has made the Studios its home for over 10 years.
Durham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A REALLY GOOD TRIP, WORTH THE MONEY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited in the Easter holidays, but did not find this attraction overcrowded. It is really smoothly-run, with lots of helpful staff available, and plenty of information. The exhibits are dramatic and interesting, and presented with lots of space around them so you don't feel crowded. The creators have selected wisely, and the tour is not too long (around 3 hours) so even our slightly older child did not get bored. Surprisingly, the food available is good-quality and healthy (nice sandwiches) and very reasonably-priced (a good doorstep cheese sandwich for £2.75). The facilities are very clean, with really good toilets and parking. You are not bombarded with extra costs (apart from pricey DVDs/photos of your child flying a broomstick, but these are always pricey at theme parks etc.), or tacky things to buy. The gift shop is vast and has pretty good-quality stuff; it is expensive and hard to find anything very cheap, but not as bad as we had feared. I would really recommend this day out. It ends with a particularly breathtaking exhibit which blew all our minds!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank nevillescrossgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28,823 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23,720
    4,018
    745
    207
    133
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Brilliant, fantastic. The experience was just fantastic, very expensive, but you expect that. If you are a Harry Potter fan you will not need the Audio recording, which is extra. Very informative staff. The gift shop was extremely expensive, the Harry Potter jumper the £70, so the kids did not get one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BHWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First class Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a fantastic place to visit. We went as a family of four. Two adults and two children aged 5 and 9. It was a birthday treat for my 9 year old son. all the staff made a fuss of him wishing him a happy birthday, he even got a special treat at the start of the tour(I won't say what so I do not spoil it, just tell a member of staff when you first go in) The place is spotlessly clean and well set out. you are not rushed and it will take you about 3 hours to get round it all. The food is a little over priced as is the gift shop at the end but no different to an other type of attraction you go to in the uk. Please remember this is NOT!!!!!! a theme park it is an aircraft hanger filled with costumes, props and the technology they used in the making off the films. would recommend a trip to all Harry potter fans young and old and even those who have never seen the films or read the books. The place really does have a magical feel especially diagon ally and Hogworts castle. I am sure we will visit again very soon. Thanks very much Warner Bros for a very special magical day.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A must for a harry potter fan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

We visited via a coach company which had tickets included in the price so no idea what the entrance tickets were to get in. from the foyer there is numerous pictures of the cast and you get to see the cu bored under the stairs where harry lived with the dursleys. You then enter a room where there is a short talk about the tour followed by a small cinema where there is a short film the screen opens up to the entrance doors of Hogwarts which lead you into the great hall the tables are set and each corner represents each house with the costumes what were worn by the cast. This section is a guided tour, because of the number of people in there we could have done with a few more minutes to be able to take pictures but were asked to leave the great hall and enter the next room so the room could be empty for the next lot.
The following was all self guided, we saw loads of sets including umbridge office,dumbledores office, boys dormitay ,potions class room.the gates into Hogwarts,the weasley kitchen, ministry of magic.we also saw the props such as the horcruxes ,delumiater, costumes from the yule ball and the ice sculptor's from the ball along with the food.
There was a opportunity to learn how to cast spells with a wand and also to ride in the blue car and a broomstick with a green screen behind you. This we never did because the queues and there was no prices on how much it would cost.we also thought this was a bit to much gimmicky like a souvenir picture of rollercoaster.
we then went out side section which holds the nightbus,voldermorts father tomb,the bridge,harrys parants house and the houses from privet drive which was good as the real Hedwig was there as they had a event on. You can go on the night bus but only the bottom step you are not allowed inside or upstairs there is also a photo opportunity to sit in hagrids motor bike. In the outside section there is numerous tables you can sit down and have lunch thankfully we took our own as the prices were steep. We did try the butter beer which is served in a small plastic cup for £2.95 or you could have it in a choice of glasses what you can keep these were a small glass with a butterbeer logo for £4.95 which looked extreamly cheap and tacky or you could have had a small glass with a handle for £7.95 which was better quality but the glass was no bigger than a small mug. In this section there is also a smoking area tucked behind harry potters parents house.
We then went in to the special effects bit where you had the inferi and all the masks for gringots .models of dobie,kreacher,aragog ,buckbeak .the dragons, greyback,werewolf..
we then went into diagon alley which was fab they had the weasleys shop ,olivander,gingots and all the others because of the event they had live owls in the animal shop.
we then saw the artists sketches on how things should look and the small models which helped build the final props,
we then went round the corner and saw the most amazing huge model of Hogwarts which you walked round one half was in daylight whilst the other was at night. after which you entered the gift shop which would agree with the other comments was stupidly expensive. cups were £10 scarfs from the houses were 27. a timeturner keyring was 8.50. A small jar of jelly beans was 8.50 ,cloaks were £75 even the cheaper stuff like a fridge magnet were 4 quid.You can also buy the wands for 25 quid
on the whole it was a great day the tour time is about 3 hours plus.The attension to details for the props is amazing the statue magic is might which is in deathly hallows is huge and great detailed. its a must see for any harry potter fan.My top tips though would def be to take a packed lunch inc drinks.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sarahh672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Happy Birthday to me!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

What a great day out. Made me quite teary at times, I loved it so much. Fabulous to see all the props, costumes animatronics etc and to realise the genius behind the films. We loved it all!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mallyfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warner Bros. Studio Tour London - The Making of Harry Potter also viewed

 

Been to Warner Bros. Studio Tour London - The Making of Harry Potter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing