We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem - Hidden Away but close to everywhere” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goonearl Cottage Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Goonearl Cottage Guest House
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A gem - Hidden Away but close to everywhere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here only for one night on business - but have to say that I will be visiting again whether it be on holiday or on business. The reception given by Geoff and Sarah make you feel welcome straight away. The guest house is really 'home from home'. The room 'daffodil' was excellent (a little small perhaps but had a lovely balcony as well.
The choice of breakfast was also very good!!
Overall - dont hesitate and book!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffordBagnalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your great review it is always a pleasure to know that we have made your stay welcoming and freindly, and very pleased that you plan to stay with us again we will look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards
Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    5
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
29
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was my first stay at a B&B , usually opting for a chain hotel when I'm working away.

The Goonearl was fantastic - excellent location , excellent hosts, sparkling clean rooms, and to top it all a cracking breakfast.

No more Pr**ire inns for me !!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hi, Thank you very much for your great review we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we will look forward to your next trip here. Our aim is to make you feel at home and give you the best possible stay.
Kind regards

Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Well to finish off a week in a cold holiday cottage with goonearl was superb! breakfast was great as always! Rooms were brill, snacks in the evening were brilliant and most of sarah & geoff were great again. Keep up the Good Work!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJHELIBEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hello to you all once again, it is always lovely to see you all and look forward to your stay with us time and time again, we love to hear what the children have been up to, lets hope the weather will be kind to you if you get the chance to come down when the air day is on.
Love to you all
Sarah & Geoff x.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

yet another great stay at Goonearl , just like home from home because that is what sarah and geoff make it feel like , great warm comfortable rooms and fantastic food weather it's breakfast or cream teas keep it up ,

Room Tip: speake to sarah and geoff with your requiremants
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RONALD E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Hi, Thank you for the great review it is always lovely to see you all again and we look forward to your visit with us everytime. Hope to see you all again soon.
Kind regards
Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

A very nice appointed Guest House situated in very nice gardens. Geoff & Sarah our hosts gave us a great welcome. We had a small room with balcony of which I must say was small but was beautifully decorated and clean. The en-sute bathroom was also compact but well put together with a superb shower. Breakfasts were fine w3ith a preorder system that worked well and made breakfast a relaxed affair. One thing yo bear in mind that although evening snacks are available and well presented thet cannot be classed as full meals. However there are a few pubs around that can serve up a good meal.All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackfree100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Hi, thank you for the lovely review and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay,and we agree with you that your room was small but as you so nicely pointed out very nicely put together, ref the meals we do do a 3 course evening meal Monday to Friday which is pre bookable and we do snacks everyday from 12pm to 9pm and equally are very lucky to have some lovely pubs who do great meals which we also suggest in the bedroom information folder.
Look forward to seeing you again when we may be able to offer you one of our bigger rooms.
Kind regards

Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We were 12 weeks into our 17 week round the World holiday, when we were disappointed with the accommodation we had prebooked in Porthtowan.
Happily, a landlady in Porthtowan took pity on our plight and found a room for us at Goonearl Cottage. It was the best thing that could have happened to us. Sarah and Geoff, together with their Mom, gave us the equal best weeks Bed and Breakfast we could have wished for. Every breakfast is designed and cooked to how you require, we would take up too much room telling you of all the variations available. The rooms we occupied were more than adequate, especially on such short notice, the first was a large king sized bed with a large ensuite, then we moved into a smaller room, with a queen sized bed and adequate ensuite, but to compensate for it being slightly smaller there was a large balcony that we could have used if the weather hadn't turned wet and windy. Nonetheless, the size did not mean we were cramped, we weren't.
We enjoyed the friendly banter between us all, it was as if we had known them all our lives. They had plenty of advice to offer about local places of interest.
We live in Australia, with little prospect of revisiting Cornwall, but if we ever do, Goonearl Cottage will be the place for us. So if you are thinking of visiting Cornwall, give them a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussiePomKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Hi, Thank you for the great review that you have left us, it was our pleasure that you had found us and we where very pleased that we could offer you some accomadation. It was very nice to meet you both and share your interesting chats. You must have experienced alot of places during your time away, maybe you could write a book about your trip we are sure you could tell a few stories about it. We hope you have a lovely trip back home. All our very best to you both.
Kind regards

Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Level Contributor
128 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Let`s put one thing straight this is a guest house, that means although you pay you are paying to be a guest in a house. Also to people who complain about the size of room it gives all room sizes on the web site. We stayed together for a few days and I stayed behind for work in the area when my wife had to go home. Our room was in the annexe where Sarah mum and dad lived, mum became affectionately known to us as the milk monitor. The welcome we received from the whole family including the cats was second to none. The breakfast were simply the best, made with all local products a full Cornish breakfast, the fish pie was again excellent and Geoff`s curry better then the local Indian restaurant. The only down side was the rain which no one can control, the evenings I was there alone it felt like being with family and there is a very good draught beer on tap with a good choice of local bottled beers & cider not forgetting a decent choice of wine, Thank you Geoff & Sarah we will return

Room Tip: Read the web site and you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RicRicardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goonearl, Owner at Goonearl Cottage Guest House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
What a lovely review you have left us, and what a very freindly person you are, it was also very nice to meet your wife and it was a shame she had to go back early. My mother is still handing out the milk to our guests, she does such a good job we have givern her the title of milk monitor.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking forward to your next businness or pleasure trip.
Kind regards

Sarah & Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scorrier hotels
0.7 mi away
Plume of Feathers
Plume of Feathers
#1 of 1 in Scorrier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Goonearl Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goonearl Cottage Guest House

Property: Goonearl Cottage Guest House
Address: Goonearl Cottage Wheal Rose, Scorrier TR16 5DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Scorrier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Scorrier
Hotel Class:4 star — Goonearl Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Cornish cottage guest house, set in its own beautiful grounds & perfectly situated for visiting all of Cornwall. It is positioned in open countryside, with magnificent views across to the North Cornish coast. Within easy reach of the golden sandy beaches of Porthtowan, Portreath & St. Agnes, close to the A30 (1 mile) giving easy access to the whole of Cornwall. Towns within a few miles are Redruth, Perranporth, Newquay, St. Ives and the beautiful cathedral city of Truro. Further afield, but still within easy travelling distance, you will find Lands End, Penzance & Falmouth with its wonderful Harbour & many other towns, villages & famous coves too numerous to mention, also, superb attractions such as the Eden Project. For the more energetic, scenic walks & the Portreath tramway are close by. All our rooms are beautifully decorated to provide a relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. Open all year and licensed. Ample Parking situated within the grounds. We are sorry to say that we cannot accept pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Goonearl Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing