We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of The Old Inn

The Old Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Drewsteignton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Inn
Hedgerley, Bucks, UK
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed one night at The Old Inn at the end of June and had a fantastic experience. We received a friendly welcome on arrival from humans and dogs alike and shown to the room which was clean and comfortable if not spectacular. What was spectacular though was the dinner which was worthy of a michelin star as other reviewers have suggested. Between us we had six flawless courses and I had the good fortune to have two of the superb scallop amuse bouches as my wife is allergic to seafood.
Coffee and pastries were delivered to the room in the morning and the croissant and pain au chocolate were the best I've had in the UK.
If i was nitpicking then a couple of shelves in the bathroom and shower would be handy and although the coffee tray arrived when we asked for it we had already been awake for an hour by then and so coffee making facilities in the room would have been useful.
Also if you don't like dogs then you may want to think twice about coming here as this is their home and they, and the world's most laid back cat, are a central part of the experience.
i wouldn't hesitate for a moment to come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan morgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just returned from three day stay at the Old Inn following a week's holiday in Cornwall plus one day stay on our journey down. Missing you already and cuddles with dogs and Socks. Thank you Anthea and Duncan for looking after us so well, for suggesting the walk to Castle Drogo and instructions on how to get there which gave us one of the best days of our holiday. Anthea, you are an amazing hostess and Duncan you are a true artist in the kitchen. Hope the dogs are not missing their 'treats' too much - I did rather indulge them didn't I?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Visited again to celebrate a friends birthday. The food was exceptional and the service from Anthea was more than one would expect. The rooms are very very nice and we had such a good time. It deserves a michelin star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed yet another dinner, bed and breakfast at The Old Inn, Drewsteignton.

We were welcomed by the hostess, Anthea and two dogs, Tyne and Teign and arrived to see the small village bathed in early evening sunshine. The village is very pretty with the church at one end, a quaint pub, post office and The Inn and some beautiful thatched cottages.

After dropping our overnight bag in our room, our host, Duncan delivered us a very welcome Gin and Tonic before we changed and came down to the comfort of huge sofas in front of an established wood burner. Very snug and cosy!

It was a very busy evening but we were very well looked after and inbetween sips of our drinks, we're offered sticks to play with from the dogs. (they only bother customers who want to play!)

Dinner was delicious - all locally sourced and very tasty. We enjoy Duncan's interesting menu and are never disappointed.
The amuse bouche is so yummy, scallop with sweet potato and lemon grass - could easily eat that as a starter (with maybe three scallops!)

After dinner we moved back to the sofa and had coffees and then retired to bed.

Our room, number 5, is a favourite, very light and nicely decorated. The bed is very comfortable. The best part is the large window at the foot of the bed, where you have the most beautiful view across the moors - its the only bedroom where we don't close the curtains, so that you wake up with the sunshine (if you are lucky) and enjoy the view.

Anthea brought us a pre-ordered cup of tea with an added bonus of a pain au chocolat each. Half an hour later its down for breakfast - also very good and large, don't need to eat again today!

We highly recommend dining here and if your trip here is a long one, or you want to try the wines then we suggest you book to stay too.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lulie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We'd heard good things about the restaurant at the Old Inn and we weren't disappointed. The welcome is warm and includes being greeted by the two dogs, Tyne and Teign. Socks the Cat ignored us but retained his place on one of the settees. This first room doubles as a bar and has comfy sofas and chairs. There are two dining rooms - one for couples and one for larger parties. The decor throughout is simple and elegant.
The menu is based on four choices for each course and it's currently shown as the sample menu on their website. We both started with red mullet with pickled ginger and a coriander consomme. For main courses we chose turbot and lamb and for puds, a lot of chocolate and a souffle. The cooking is exquisite, the portions are perfect and it made for one of the best dinners we've had in a long time. We drank red and white house wine by the glass but the full list is good and none of the prices look outrageous. The house white is a Pinot Blanc and the red a Pinot Noir.
All in all this is restaurant that is small enough for the chef to take an interest in his customers and still offer superb food. I was reminded of eating at Raymond Blanc's Manoir aux Quatre Saisons when he first took it on and before it became the huge enterprise it is today, although Chef Duncan doesn't actually come at sit at your table and chat to you after the service.
Go before it gets a Michelin star and is booked out for weeks on end.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesRadish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Duncan is a very good chef. the place is very homely.My only concern is that after 3 visits this year,the menu doesnt change much.with only 4 choices on the menu it would be nice to something new on the menu.Since our last meal we have been out 3 times else where purly for this reason.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrcooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Had my birthday meal here last week with friends. We had eaten at the Duncan ( the chef and proprietor's ) previous resturant in Chagford. However, this has taken his cooking to a new level. The food is much more refined and I am really surprised it that he does not have a Michelin star. We have eaten in lots of starred places where the food, ingredients, presentation and service were no where near as good as this.
I need to say how good service is. We were staying in the rooms above the restaurant. When we arrived we were met with tean and cake. Service during the meal was exceptional.Our friends who were also staying the night , had tea and freshly made croissant in bed before breakfast. We then had a super breakfast.
The rooms are comfortable, clean and quiet ( great shower and Molten Brown toiletries ). Please go this place.......you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Drewsteignton
1.7 mi away
Mill End Hotel
Mill End Hotel
#2 of 2 in Chagford
494 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Oxenham Arms Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Gidleigh Park
Gidleigh Park
#1 of 2 in Chagford
1,069 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Okehampton Whiddon Down
3.2 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 2 in Moretonhampstead
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Inn

Property: The Old Inn
Address: The Square, Drewsteignton, Dartmoor National Park EX6 6QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Drewsteignton
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Drewsteignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 17th Century guesthouse has recently undergone huge changes, carpets have gone & original floors, walls and fireplaces are now exposed. All five rooms have been entirely refurbished. We offer good food, sourced locally - organic where possible - and cooked well, from great breakfasts to dinner in the evening. The Inn is in the centre of Drewsteignton village, Castle Drogo is less than a mile away and the Two Moors Way passes the front door. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing