We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good pub meal”
Review of Angel Inn

Angel Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Glynneath
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A good pub meal”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This pub has a great atmosphere and sits in a beautiful setting which adds to its appeal, the menu I ate from was the lunchtime menu which had a good choice and was good value, the only let down was two of our party ordered and were told the dish had sold out which was fine as the rest of the menu looked appetising. The chips were beautifully homemade if just a little underdone and the gammon I had was juicy and well cooked, only weak points were floppy undercooked frozen onion rings and only one vegetarian option available. All in all a great pub lunch in a fantastic setting.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodOlJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    52
    23
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A good Welsh country pub”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a hugely popular venue for hill walkers in South Wales. It sits at the southern edge of the Brecon Beacons National Park and has many walks on its doorstep. It has a wide range of beers and lagers and an extensive menu. The food is very 'pubby' food, angled towards the hungry, it is good hearty stuff with generous portions. The inside of the pub is all wood and nostalgia with one of the biggest collections of water jugs I think I have ever seen. The food itself has that home-made style to it, gravies don't come out of a box, someone has taken the time to make them, the mash with my dinner was obviously made there, not out of a box. The braised meat tasted of itself - home cooking. What a cracking place. The staff really pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishonsaturday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llanharan, Wales
Level Contributor
136 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good restaurant near Beauty Spot”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Angel is a very pleasant place to eat and drink for those taking the footpath to the local waterfalls – a well surfaced and gentle gradient.
Meals were being served from mid day through to 9pm on what was a Bank Holiday Monday. We called in at noon but it was full (bookings needed for that first hour), even so we were made very welcome and assured that when we returned from the walk, a table should be available – and so it was. The menu covers a wide range – our party had steaks, Glamorgan sausages and Welsh Black beef lasagne. All were excellent and the chips were some of the best we have tasted in a pub. The extra mushroom sauce was a little on the thin side but that did not detract from the flavour. We were attended by pleasant waitresses and although there was a bit of a wait it was because the restaurant was full and the food was freshly cooked. Even paying was a pleasurable experience with genuine conversation. Most expensive were the steaks at £14.95. The room was full of ornaments and trinkets which gave it plenty of character. There is a car park alongside, but plenty of road side space if it is full.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Llanharan_WalesLlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A friendly welcome, and excellent food at good prices”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My party of 6 were directed to this establishment after being rebuffed by the New Inn in Ystradfellte for having the temerity to expect a self-proclaimed 'gastropub' to serve food!

The Angel Inn couldn't have been more different. Food was served quickly, and portions were excellent. The 3 year old in our group could in no way cope with the child's portion, which seemed little smaller than an adult sized one. The corned beef pie was particularly good, and the beer was pretty good as well!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ITravelLighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Family night”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Great value , great menu, great service and great staff...food was really nice..
I'll go again no problems...

Helpful?
Thank Radiomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Angel Inn also viewed

Pontneddfechan, Brecon Beacons National Park
Penderyn, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Glynneath, Neath Port Talbot
Neath, Neath Port Talbot
 

Been to Angel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing