We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transport yourself to a real Hacienda”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Was there for 2 nights with kids and husband. Wonderfull place and service, the food is trully spectacular. I've been to other Haciendas in Merida, this one is very special, since the location is just in the middle of a town called Santa Rosa and everything is geniune. Take a tour to the garden of the property, and also to the "talleres" where real people are doing wonderfull arts & crafts. The pool is fine, specially the one outside the rooms, just a perfect spot for completely forgetting about everything and relaxing, whish I was there in this very moment !!!

Room Tip: Chose a room with direct access to the pool, beautiful and with hamacas...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelissaCordoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2012

Dear MelissaCordoba,
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hacienda Santa Rosa,for us the most important, is that our guests enjoy and live the experience that we want to transmit. Hacienda Santa Rosa "es su casa" we hope to welcome you and your family again.
Best regards,
Roberto Otálora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

We are fairly regular visitors of the Luxury Collection Hotels in Campeche and Yucatan. This one stands out for it's location and for the food! The rooms are, as always with this hotel group, perfect but the one thing that will always stand out for us is the food service and the fabulous quality of the ingredients they use here to prepare amazing meals for their guests. We only stayed a couple of nights before heading off to Hacienda Uayamon in Campeche. A super unique and flavorful experience, even for the seasoned traveler!

Room Tip: Go for the premium rooms. They are breathtaking.
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2012

Dear Donald T,
We feel flattered that you visit us and describe the experience you had in our Hacienda. We are delighted to welcome you and we look forward to meeting your expectations.
Best regards,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I stumbled upon this hotel from a trek in the dusty countryside about 8 years ago. It was truly an oasis in the Yucatan. I have returned many times with students, work colleagues, family and friends and intend to do so again. On one occasion, we happened to be in the area without a reservation and the front gate was locked. We went around back (it was off season) and they opened the hotel for my student and myself...we had the whole place to ourselves and they were apologetic for not having everything up to par and having to cook whatever they had on hand (with help from the villagers) UNBELIEVABLY hospitable, warm, caring and spectacular setting...almost afraid to write this as the tranquility is a welcome change from other types of holidays. Having said that, you must be prepared for it being isolated, in a village with the usual village noises that are unavoidable and nothing else around for miles..

Room Tip: There is not a bad room...I believe I have seen all of them..
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lechlitnerlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear lechlitnerlaw,
Greetings from Hacienda Santa Rosa!!!!.
We received your comments and on behalf of the entire team we thank you so much for your sincere comments, we are so glad you found our property and services surpassed your expectations and made your vacation so special for you and your students.
Our staff is extremely dedicated to making your stay an unforgettable one, so I will share your comments with our team who I am sure will be thrilled with your recognition of their service with a smile attitude - that is exactly what makes this piece of paradise so special.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Yours Sincerely
Roberto Otálora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was in Hacienda Santa Rosa for five days around Christmas 2011. It was overall an incredible experience. The Hacienda is beautiful and from the moment you step in you have stepped into an old world of too often forgotten elegance. The service is attentive and friendly and the staff did their best to accommodate our food requests (my husband is vegan, I am vegetarian). As a vegan-vegetarian couple it may be hard at times and the food can become a bit boring. The chef at the Hacienda ( who is, hard to believe, from the village) prepared every evening diverse and elaborated food with local fresh ingredients. We have rarely felt so spoiled. For once being a vegan was for my husband not a crippling thing.

The rooms are lovely and the grounds of the Hacienda spectacular.

The Hacienda supports the local businesses and integrates with the village of Santa Rosa. Employs locals and encourage visitors to walk around or to get a bike and cycle to the next village.
You can ask for a map of Santa Rosa and walk around the streets and into houses. Everyone is very friendly and welcoming. We walked into an old man's house. A man who has been weaving hammocks all of his life, we sat with him and he talked to us (although my spanish is really not that good the conversation had its flow), and we walked out with a very special hand woven hammocks. His house was small and you can see where he works. It takes him 2 months for hammock.

We have learnt a lot about Mayan communities and thoroughly appreciated the efforts of the management in supporting the local economy.

As for service, what to say, it was just incredible. We went to the seaside one day and the made us find in the trunk of our car a very caring basket with soft towels, mosquito repellent, water and whatnot. Everything is done in a warm caring way. It doesn't feel like an hotel, it feels a bit like family. The day we left they made us (gifted) a little package with bananas, water, avocado and tomato for the road. Any other place would charge you a fortune, they just wanted to wish us a good trip and make sure we were ok. it has never happened to me in a hotel before and I travel a lot.

I would go over and over and over again and I wish everyone would be so lucky to go too.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Siuzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Director General at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2012

Dear Siuzie,
Greetings from The Hacienda Santa Rosa – we thank you for your visit and I also thank you for your sincere comments regarding your stay with us. I am so glad you and your husband had such a great experience with us and rest assured I have shared your comments with all of our staff – we are indeed privileged to have such valued communities both dedicated and friendly.
Thank you for taking the time sharing your detailed experience as it is moments and messages such as these which we cherish and encourages us to continue on the same path of delivering consistent bespoken service to each and every one of our guests.
It is indeed a pleasure to have Ambassadors such as yourselves spreading the word on our homes which we fondly call Paradise and I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Your sincerely,
Roberto Otálora
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

We had a nice experience at Hacienda Santa Rosa but it wasn't nearly as nice a hotel as some of the other Starwood Haciendas in the area that I have visited. We were there to relax, which in our opinion included lazing in hammocks and enjoying some good regional food.

Pros:
-Well appointed rooms
-Beautiful tub
-Flowers all over
Comfortable king bed
-Attentive staff

Cons:
-Really mediocre-awful food and supremely overpriced. We knew it would be overpriced but we had no idea that they wouldn't deliver on the quality. Huge disappointment.
-All of the locals sleep in hammocks and the construction of each room of the hacienda includes hammock hooks. Unfortunately no one had the forethought to make sure that the hammock hooks were still sturdy and we weren't able to hang hammocks and relax in the manner that is most traditional to the region. This was a big disappointment since we were there to relax
-The hacienda is in the heart of Santa Rosa. The town is very small but there are many dogs barking at night. During the day there are trucks that drive around with speakers blaring offering all kinds of specials on items to the local community.

Overall, I wouldn't stay here again but I'd definitely stay at a different hacienda managed by Starwood. The most important things would be to check out the food quality and the distance of the nearest village.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FlapperWashington_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2012

Dear FlapperWashington_DC,
Thanks for your comments, feedback is the best way for improving our service and we appreciate for taking the time to write the review.
We are sharing your comments with our food and beverage manager, as well as the operations team so we can be sure Hacienda Santa Rosa has the same level of service and facilities than the other Haciendas of Starwood. We also wan to provide the same type of experience, so thanks again for your detailed description of your stay.
Best regards,
General Manager
The Haciendas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Outstanding as to setting, accommodation, service, food perhaps a bit less so, overall, the Luxury Collection Haciendas (Sheraton) can but be recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, General Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2011

Dear suesli,
Thanks for taking the time to post this review. If you have additional comments that may help us to improve, please send us an e-mail to thehaciendas@luxurycollection.com.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

We stayed there two nights in spring this year. We loved it - it was just perfect. Beautiful Hacienda with everything one can dream of. Very good restaurant; we recommend to book the romane package for couples - the dinner in the garden is an unforgettable event. This Hacienda is ideal to start a Honeymoon trip in Yucatan or for the grande finale of such a journey!

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank RHW1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHaciendasLC, Manager at Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2011

Dear RHW1974,
We thank you very much for your comments, we're very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. The recommendation by word of mouth is very important for us.
We appreciate for taking the time to post this review
Best regards,
Hacienda Santa Rosa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa

Address: Carretera Merida Campeche, Maxcanu 97800, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Maxcanu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Maxcanu
Price Range: $174 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the heart of the Mayan archeological zone, Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rose showcases its splendid building from the mid-19th century. Formerly an important property of the nobility, the structure has become a luxurious residence through the generations. Just a 50 minute drive from Merida’s International Airport, our hotel in Santa Rose, Yucatan, Mexico is surrounded by natural beauties such as the Calcehtok and Oxkintok Caves, and cultural sites such as the Ruins of Uxmal and the town of Becal. An enormous door, meters and meters high, gives access to this wonderful hacienda which has 11 comfortable guest rooms and suites. Hammocks and wicker chairs, a private terrace and a garden make this place a perfect spot to live an unforgettable experience. Its aloe field is home to a Mayan style little house where one can enjoy enchanting moments outdoors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Santa Rosa Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa Hotel Merida
Hacienda Santa Rosa, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Santa Rosa Mexico/Maxcanu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing