We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (80)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveler rating
34
18
12
7
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
18
12
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day bed spa villa morning cuppa wood fire two nights short drive relaxing weekend hideaway cottage sauna gatsby daybed seclusion daylesford property relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 80 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Dusk Villa and it couldn't have been more perfect. I thought I'd get so much more done around the Daylesford area but I did not want to leave the Villa! The photos on their site do not do the retreat justice. This place gave me the best sleep I've had in months. Will definitely be back before the year is up.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank MJFrankling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and how fantastic that you had such a good night's sleep.Thank you for taking the time to let others know how relaxing and enjoyable Blue Cliffs Retreat is and especially the Dusk Spa Villa. We look forward to hearing from you when you need a getaway from the city for a few nights in the bush in comfort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2017

A hidden gem nestled in bushland with wonderful views of forest and gardens. We stayed in the 'Hideaway' Spa Villa and it was exactly what we wanted for a romantic escape in Autumn. We had the biggest and excited smile when we drove up to the cabin as it was soo quaint and cute! And we weren't disappointed when we stepped in! The warmth of the cabin was thoughtful and welcoming. The decor was charming, and basic necessities were there.

We had the fire going (Coonara) and it was a wonderful ambiance; double spa was great with beautiful garden surrounds through glass windows; deck view gorgeous; just perfect setting for a couples romantic getaway.

About a ten minute drive to Hepburn's Main Street for cafes, and less than 20 minutes drive to Daylesford main Street.

Purchased our two nights stay through Groupon voucher.

We will be back!

Room tip: The Hideaway Villa was close-ish to another villa but it still felt secluded and we had total privacy.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rosie_Rose_Ro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Hi Rosie,
And what a gem you are for taking the time to write such a wonderful overview of what it is like at Blue Cliffs Retreat this time of year on the property. Thank you for sharing your experience with others who are looking for peace, relaxation, comfort and silence in a bush setting.
Paul & Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2017 via mobile

So after a disappointing visit to the Hepburn chalet, we then made a last minute decision to get out of there and made a last minute booking here. Because it was last minute we were given $100 off for the two nights.
upon arrival we were directed to the dreaming suits which in my opinion are 100% better than any chalet . This is a stunning PRIVATE getaway.
Beautiful spa bath, sauna and an inside shower and an outside one. You don't even need to visit the bathhouse as it has everything already.
A beautiful sun bed and access to a BBQ.
Can't go wrong here.
Owners are lovley and highly accomodating.
Of course being out in the bush way there were few insects. Nothing that bothered us

All I have to say is a huge thank you to Paul for accomodating us last minute, your suites are beautiful and we can't wait to take a walk down to the creek later tonight!
Highly recommended, we personally think this is one of the nicest new modern luxury accomodation in the area.
Short drive from the town and all other amenities.
We will be back again ❤

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Lauren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2017

Hi Lauren,
We love when guests have such a beautiful way of appreciating and expressing what we have created. We look forward to hearing from you when you are ready to leave the chaos of the city and come and chill out in the peace, serenity and silence.
Paul & Joy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the dusk villa for our ten year Anniversary. This was the most romantic place. The villa was beautiful, surrounded by trees. Stayed for two nights. Did not want to leave. Would definitely come back

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Natalia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017

What a delight to have you stay at Blue Cliffs Retreat and appreciate and enjoy what we have created. Thank you for your kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

Beautiful isolated private resort for our anniversary.

We chose the spa suite , although very pricey $880 for 2 nights & considering that the very same spa suite was being offered at $690 for the same weekend stay and at the same time on the website stayz and agoda . Hard to comprehend

It had a private house and our own pool and spa Jacuzzi , beautiful bed and fantastic room and bathroom.

Something that my partner & i discovered on arrival that was ambiguous, was the pictures on the website for our spa suite.

The spa suite is an outside extension of the owners house, so although it appears on the website that your walking out from the house( that you think you have hired) directly onto the pool deck your actually not.

It was fine as the owner and his family weren't there but it does contradict the pictures ( what if they did show up in the middle of our trip ?)

its ok but be transparent when your taking a booking to potential clients. The privacy was immaculate and overlooking the wonderful tranquil scenery apart from the pond which doesn't look remotely anything like the pictures on the website either.

We did call prior and ask if it would be ok to check in just after 2pm, the owner said it shouldn't be a problem .

We arrived at 2.30pm and it was still being cleaned, finally after 3.30pm the cleaners left.

I really didnt see the point if you state that it shouldn't be a problem and that it says via email that it will be available after 3pm .

If we left after our check out time im sure we would more than likely be charged for an over stay

On another note if blue cliffs resort is part of qantas frequent flyer program or velocity , you should state it with your email or phonecall .

Dont make the client chase points after the fact we all bemeon that, if your not part of the program anymore then take yourself off the qantas FF website.

From a selfish point of view my partner and i being sporting tragics & since the pool deck is part of the owners home . possibly have a tv mounted undercover (wanted to watch the big bash cricket and the tennis)& have the option of the pool being heated.

The big question would we stay there again , for comfort & privacy and the views yes.

but for the price, what you think your getting according to the pictures and what you really get then unfortunately its a no.

Room tip: Ask more questions upfront
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueCliffsRetreat, Owner at Blue Cliffs Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2017

This is a case of mistaken identity.
This couple knew exactly what the Gatsby Spa Studio when they booked it and as described in very accurately in the confirmation email sent to them. They seemed to enjoy their experience but chose to provide hyperbole instead of providing valuable information for future guests. They chose to come and act as if they had not received any straight forward information such as "The Gatsby Spa Studio , with your own totally private for your use only salt water, solar heated swimming pool, is a very private large portion of the house with its own drive, entrance, verandah, sunroom/living room/dining room, bedroom and spa room with spa bath, delightful corner massage shower and large two person sauna. There is no one else in the house when the Gatsby Spa Studio has guests." The guests then say 'as long as the owners are not there' as if they thought that was a possibility (which it is not). We love and value getting honest feedback on what we provide and what we say we provide. We look forward to future reviews that provide such information for guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews