We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wiss to Go Back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalbar B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 23, 2012

What an absolutely wonderful place to spend our first wedding anniversary!
Sara, the host, is a lovely, warm person who made our night away even more special. We had booked the Lionel Room with the ensuite, but due to not being fully booked, we got to stay in a beautiful room opening onto the verandah yet still use the ensuite.
Plus, we enjoyed the most spectacular 3 course meal with our own private (romantic) candle-lit setting on the verandah - thank you Sara for your thoughtfulness. We loved not knowing what was on the menu and being surprised with each course. Along with dinner, a delightful afternoon tea and a hot breakfast the next morning left us feeling like a king and queen (full ones at that!).
The house is an architectural beauty filled with history, style and luxury.
Enjoy the peace and serenity of Wiss House and Kalbar!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

What makes me enjoy my role so much is meeting great and warm people such as yourselves who really appreciate what l do , so thankyou for coming to Wiss House and for taking the time to write a review.
ps- the cointreau dessert l created for you that night that you said was the best you had ever had in your life is now a regular on the menu and much enjoyed by all!
Hope to see you next anniversary! kind regards Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 65 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Definitely stay at Wiss house if you love old Queenslanders! A beautiful property with a charming, helpful host. Beds and linen are luxurious and the house is beautifully maintained. The area is peaceful with wineries etc. to visit. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask if the ensuite room is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

My partner and I recently stayed at Wiss House for a quiet weekend away. The interior of the house is absolutely beautiful, very well cared for, and filled with character. It is a wonderful place to enjoy a few peaceful nights in the heart of the scenic rim. While the town of Kalbar is quite small, there is much to offer in the area in terms of natural scenery, walking and hiking trails, and wineries. Sara, the hostess, is absolutely fantastic and makes you feel welcome from the moment you walk in. Sara cooked us the three course dinner on Saturday night and the food was delicious and of restaurant quality- one of the best meals we have eaten since moving to Brisbane a year ago. Eating in the beautiful dining room on fine china and by candlelight really made this a special experience. Wiss House provides the comforts of home, while adding the luxuries of an upscale hotel. It really was a wonderful weekend, and we would recommend Wiss House to anyone looking to stay in the area. Thank you Sara for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Jackie, thanks so much. I am so glad you had such a wonderful time and thankyou for taking the time to write a review. Come back again please. Kind regards Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have stayed at this property 4 times now as it's nearby a convention centre I attend annually. After experiencing woeful accommodation options for several years in the surrounding district I was thoroughly delighted to find Wiss house and now have a standing booking with the host Sara every time I attend the conference. Staying at Wiss house delivers the kind of experience that all other B&B's should aspire to. The warm hospitality, the impeccable presentation, the unique beauty of this restored Queenslander, all verify you made the right choice in choosing a B&B'S as opposed to a hotel. The house itself is like an old friend. It has a personality and charm of it's own that invites you to drop all that stress at the door, grab a good book and curl up on one of the couches on the impressive wrap around verandah, listening to the sound of the wind as you unwind and relax. The host Sara makes a lovely 3 course dinner which I highly recommend if you are staying for a couple of nights. Breakfast is lazy affair of continental style followed by a hot cooked option. If all you did was come for a couple of nights and did nothing but eat, sleep and go for gentle strolls in the town I guarantee you would leave refreshed and renewed. Perfect weekend escape for someone needing to just get away from it all.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlygirlSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had the opportunity to get away for a mid week break a couple of weeks ago and decided to stay at Wiss House.
We booked the Lionel Room (ensuite) with dinner and breakfast.
When we arrived Sara the hostess said we could have the pick of the rooms she had left - probably not the best thing to do with us as they where all lovely rooms and it took about 5 minutes to decide. Eventually we decided on a room at the front of the house with shared bathroom (which didn't bother us as it was all part of the adventure), opposite a massive mango tree, beautiful views and a veranda that we sat on for about 2 hours and totally unwound with a bottle of wine each.
When dinner was ready we where asked into the beautiful dining room (chandelier, antique table and chairs) and enjoyed a lovely three course meal intimate dining experience, which at around $60 each I would have to say was great value.
Breakfast the next morning was just as enjoyable and we left revived and rejuvinated.
The house is heritage listed and very well looked after by Sara.
Thanks Sara for a lovely stay and being such a wonderful hostess - smiling the whole time even though you weren't well.

Room Tip: If you want an ensuite with claw foot bath the Lionel Room is lovely, but even if you have a shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandMWeekendsaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2012

Thankyou so much for your review and for taking the time to write it. Its always a pleasure to have your company back here. See you next year and hopefully l might visit you in Bali xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We have just spent a wonderful 2 days at Wiss House. The home is beautiful and full of old world charm. We had delicious cooked breakfasts both days and Sara did a great 3 course meal Saturday night for us. She accommodated my food allergies which I really appreciated. The rooms are delightful, and the shared bathroom no great worry. There is an ensuited room which is really lovely. There is a selection of activites to do in the local area and we spent a day touring the local area visiting the Wiss Emporium, the lavender farm and winery, a afternoon tea at Lake Moogerah. The afternoons we spent relaxing on the pretty wrap around verandah at Wiss House reading and watching the sun set. Very relaxing!!!!

Room Tip: Be prepared to share bathroom facilities. If that's not your thing book the ensuited room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlfromoz_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 13, 2012

Thankyou so much for your lovely comments and for taking the time to write a review.
I always ask if people have special dietary needs and am very happy to cook special meals for my guests. A beautiful meal in our ornate dining room is all part of a great experience when you go to Wiss House.
Again thankyou
Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in April. Room was spotless & v comfortable. Separate bathroom accepted but too small to be comfortable. Hostess cooked us a beautiful dinner on the night of my birthday - beautiful setting and lovely meal but far too expensive for roast lamb and poached pear dessert. $110 for two with no wine; not value, too expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anlezarksrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

I thank the guest for their positive comments however l would like to further explain to readers that $55 is for 2 course meal (or $65 for 3 course) is for silver service- under a crystal chandelier on a beautiful antique table using crystal glasses, gold plated high end crockery and solid silver cutlery is not expensive, if you had it in a pub yes but the food is way above pub standard. My five to six hours in the kitchen is rewarded by the compliments l get and the happy faces and obviously not from the $55 per head. I think it should be noted that If l included wine as the writer suggests my prices would be the same or below the local pub. Menus change here all the time but guests can request preferences when booking.
I offer meals here because l have a passion for cooking and want to offer that service to my guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalbar
7.9 mi away
The Old Church Bed & Breakfast
18.2 mi away
Spicers Hidden Vale
Spicers Hidden Vale
#1 of 1 in Grandchester
747 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Kooralbyn Valley
5 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wiss House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Kalbar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalbar
Price Range: $132 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wiss House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Wiss House is in the small rural town of Kalbar in the Scenic Rim. Wiss House oozes elegance, style and luxury with guests offered a chance to step back in time and experience what life was like for a wealthy merchant in the early 1900’s. Fully air-conditioned with four guest rooms, a guest lounge, an opulent banquet room with a magnificent crystal chandelier and pressed metal ceiling, guests are served gourmet meals on fine china using silverware and crystal glassware. Other features include guest lounge, wide verandas surrounding the house and a classic pool with spa. The area has stunning scenery with 5 national parks, waterfalls, cafes, art galleries and wineries close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Wiss House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing