We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WISS HOUSE.. Best Jacuzzu near Brisbane”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wiss House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Kalbar B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 8, 2011

My husband and I had a two day break out near Boonah, South west of Ipswich by about 50 K's at Wiss House Kalbar. It was a walk back 100 years in time staying at this lovely old Queenslander. It was built by the Wiss family who also owned a thriving business in the township, it's still there! The original photos from the family line the walls of the hallway. The current owned has been lucky enough to hang onto many pieces of furniture which belonged in the house. It's worth a trip there just to see two of the most wonderful mirrors I've ever seen. We had the front bedroom with it's impressive four poster bed and doors opening onto a rambling balcony which just about circles the house. One of our days was very hot and the pool beckoned us. There's a secret button near wide steps and by pressing it the water explodes to massage aching shoulders or back. There were only 5 other guests staying while we were there but conversation was lively and I made a good friend. The dining room is just lovely, perfect atmosphere and our hostess made a lamb roast and pear dessert. There's a library with historic books to explore and a well stocked DVD. We felt well at home and very comfortable. The facilities are shared, but there was no problem. There's a bathroom with a free standing bath somewhere in the homestead, but we didn't find it until looking at photos of the house on line when we arrived home. The shower area is very small but the water hot and plentiful. I really enjoyed my stay Sara, the owner was very friendly. My only criticism was the two breakfasts which were continental. I'd read other people were lucky enough to have a hot breakfast and I would have really enjoyed that.There was a very low door in our room too which intrigued me. I meant to ask where it led. It was like an Alice in wonderland sized door. I think there are a lot of interesting aspects to Wiss house to explore. Hope you enjoy your stay there. Cheers Dianne and Peter.

Room Tip: The front room is beautiful, but the bed is quite firm. I have a very bad back so I notice this more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dianne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

The deal with Spreets was for two nights B&B and one two course dinner in an award winning B&B in beautiful Kalbar. Value $550. It was the Wiss House B&B and we checked their website and it all looked good. We actually paid the B&B owner herself the same sum as the Spreets Deal was so she came out better in the deal.

What we got was two nights with a very dubious continental breakfast and a dismal dinner. Not cooked by the French chef (as their web site said) she left last Christmas. The owner made it very clear that we were second class citizens paying a specal price through Spreets and shouldn't expect anything better than she supplied. She even said that she hadn't intended to include any breakfast at all and that Spreets had put that in without her consent, but previous Spreets customers had, quite rightly, complained so we got a "sort of" breakfast.
So the value not $550 at all. Closer to $320...maybe. And the shared toilet and shower were very basic. The pictures on their website suggested something much more glamerous. What is the point in people using Spreets offers to attract customers and then making them feel bad because they paid a lower price?

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bandit92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

This couple did not buy a Spreets deal, it was over but l offered him the same deal of $250 for 2 nights with dinner.
The Spreets deal never included breakfast.
For dinner l cooked them a spinach and leak risotto with organic chicken breast and poached pears in red wine and maple syrup on a bed of baked ricotta. All other guests have raved about these meals, as witnessed by my guest book but she obviously didnt enjoy it as she ate less than half of the meal. He ate everything and thanked me.
I have since removed this dish from the menu as l only want to provide dishes that are always complimented on.
When they arrived she was disappointed to be sharing a bathroom with the other couple so l gave them their own bathroom in the ensuited room. We have only one ensuited room as this property is Heritage listed.
As far as the French chef is concerned she had left to visit her parents for a holiday which everyone is entitled to do and l had removed this reference off my website before they purchased their deal.
The man was very nice and appeared very happy but his wife was extremely rude and started yelling at me in front of the other guests when she was told the deal did not include breakfast but that l would give them complimentary continental breakfast which included a platter of fruit, cereal, toast , tea/coffee and juice.
This woman was the only unhappy guest l have had in 9 years, there was just no pleasing her.
I will do anything to please my guests and tried very hard to please her to no avail.
She left her tioletries bag behind and l even called her to tell her and posted it back to her home.
If she had gone to a motel she wouldnt have got 2 nights with dinner and breakfast for $250.
The fact that l had an unhappy guest greatly upset me but l did all l could do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

The Wiss House is a character filled "Queenslander" style heritage-listed house. The photos of the original Wiss family make you feel as though you have stepped into a part of Queensland's history when you walk down the hallway.

The furnishings are tasteful and fit in well with the style of the house. All the guest rooms lead out onto a large verandah. Each room has airconditioning, and ours had screened windows and also some fans.

Sara, the host serves a good breakfast. It includes fruit, cereal, toast, orange juice, tea, coffee, and a cooked menu. The crispy bacon was fantastic!!!

The guest lounge has a great selection of DVDs, magazines and books. The pool looks quite inviting (but we didn't go in).

You need to be prepared to share a bathroom. There were 3-4 guest rooms (each I think had king beds), and we only saw one toilet and bathroom. As you would expect with a house of this era, there are a few creeky floorboards.

The only thing that really needs attention is the lighting. We had to go to the guest lounge to read at night time because there were only a few lamps that cast light over the bed in our room.

The 'little' things were there - like a jug of water on arrival, aerogard on the verandah, some chocolate at night time, bathrobes, nice towels and face washers.

We found this location provided easy access to the bushwalks around Spicer's Gap, Cunningham's Gap and Lake Moogerah.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnonOzTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lovelylife57, Owner at Wiss House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2012

We have an ensuited room called The Lionel Suite which has a deep claw foot bath and shower.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kalbar
7.9 mi away
The Old Church Bed & Breakfast
18.2 mi away
Spicers Hidden Vale
Spicers Hidden Vale
#1 of 1 in Grandchester
738 reviews
23.5 mi away
Lillydale Farmstay
Lillydale Farmstay
#1 of 3 in Rathdowney
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Boonah Motel
Boonah Motel
#2 of 3 in Boonah
45 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wiss House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wiss House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 7 Ann St, Kalbar, Queensland 4309, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Scenic Rim > Kalbar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kalbar
Price Range: $130 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wiss House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage listed Wiss House is in the small rural town of Kalbar in the Scenic Rim. Wiss House oozes elegance, style and luxury with guests offered a chance to step back in time and experience what life was like for a wealthy merchant in the early 1900’s. Fully air-conditioned with four guest rooms, a guest lounge, an opulent banquet room with a magnificent crystal chandelier and pressed metal ceiling, guests are served gourmet meals on fine china using silverware and crystal glassware. Other features include guest lounge, wide verandas surrounding the house and a classic pool with spa. The area has stunning scenery with 5 national parks, waterfalls, cafes, art galleries and wineries close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Wiss House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing