We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quiet place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loxton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Loxton Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loxton
Certificate of Excellence
Morwell, Australia
Level Contributor
431 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“A quiet place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Okay not a great range of choices in Loxton but this was a good choice.

We had one of the newly refurbished river view rooms which was seperate from the main hotel. It was a large room and was well equipped.

Having the hotel and bistro close we enjoined a great meal within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colint50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    9
    4
    5
See reviews for
22
36
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Staying in Loxton means you don't have a big range of accommodation options but the loxton hotel does just fine. The rooms are large and comfortable if somewhat dated. It's a typical Aussie country motel but that's not a bad thing. It's located very close to the river and is just down the bottom of the main street. The pub attached also serves decent food. I have stayed here regularly over the last 10 years and I have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flicky_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Riverland area is beautiful and Loxton is a great, quiet little place to stay as you tour around. We had one of the recently renovated garden view motel rooms and you could still smell the new paint (but not in a bad way) !! The room was spacious and the bed really comfortable. The bistro in the hotel itself serves up reasonably priced good food and wine. A short walk from the hotel and you're on the riverbank - very peaceful ! The staff are very friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: Can recommend the garden view rooms and they are away from the main hotel so might be quieter. Nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LizG10959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped for accommodation and found an executive room with queen bed, all newly remodeled. service was friendly and enjoyed our visit. It's located on a main street close to the Murray river. An elevator is available for use.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Got to try out one of the newly renovated rooms recently. Wonderful! Lovely decor and very, very comfortable. Will definitely be back. Dinner in the Bistro is great too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have stayed at the Loxton Hotel twice in the past year.
The staff are friendly & very helpful, the rooms are neat & the meals are delicious.
In Winter the roaring log fires in the dining room make it extra cozy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwimWithTheTuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
490 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We looked for somewhere in Loxton to have lunch, didn't see too many option so went with the local Hotel. Lucky us! it's so nice to receive a warm welcome from waiters and bar staff. The dining room is huge and bright with a real fireplace. It seemed to have been recently decorated. The old fashioned salad bar looked very fresh and inviting. We started with a bruschetta which was topped with avocado, cheese and strawberries in balsamic, plus a 'while you wait plate' (love the name of the dish!) both were fantastic and had very generous portions. The coffee was excellent and to top it off the bill was reasonable.

Room Tip: didn't sleep over!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Loxton
11.5 mi away
Berri Hotel
Berri Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berri
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
21.6 mi away
Renmark Hotel
Renmark Hotel
#2 of 5 in Renmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
21.4 mi away
Econolodge Citrus Valley Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Barmera Country Club
Barmera Country Club
#1 of 2 in Barmera
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
17.8 mi away
Renmark Resort
Renmark Resort
#1 of 5 in Renmark
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
22.3 mi away
The Frames
The Frames
#1 of 2 in Paringa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loxton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loxton Hotel

Property: Loxton Hotel
Address: 45 East Tce, Loxton, South Australia 5333, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Loxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Loxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Loxton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1908 the historic Loxton Hotel is proudly owned by the community of Loxton, channeling operating profits back into local charities, projects and events. The magnificent and massive 100 year old building has been extensively and tastefully renovated, ensuring a seamless blend of new modern facilities and heritage areas.51 self-contained rooms. Outstanding Bistro dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner (7days). Conference and functions rooms. Swimming pool and BBQ area. Saloon bar, bistro bar and main bar. Gaming room. Thirsty camel drive-thru bottleshop and browse area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Loxton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing