We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Convenient Motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Marco Polo Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a Convenient Motel.”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My family and I visit Sydney for the first time for about one week and decided to book this motel due to its reasonable cost and apparently good location. The ride from the Sydney airport to the motel was about 10-15 minutes drive with moderate traffic.

The motel is very secure and modern key cards are used despite its old exterior appearance. There is no elevator which posed a slight problem as my family and I had luggage to carry and our room was on the third floor.

Although the room was a bit old and seemed a bit outdated, but the bed was really comfortable. There were a lot of amenities that pleased my family and I as we did not expect this out of a 3 star motel. There was a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, coffee, tea and other things that either quenched our thirst or settled our stomach.

Even though the motel had no restaurant, Ashfield mall is nearby and there are a lot of foods nearby.

My family and I felt that the service of the staff was very good as they were not only friendly but they also were very helpful with what every inquires we had about the area especially the train services that were in walking distance.

So in summary, there was good service, good location, good beds and good hygiene.

I'll come again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hahahahaha12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Hahahahaha12345,

Thank you for choosing our motel Marco Polo Motor Inn for your recent stay in Sydney and for taking the time to post your review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your visit with us and you have found Marco Polo “such a convenient motel”, found our beds comfortable and our motel a safe place to stay during your visit to Sydney. A special thank you for your kind words of appreciation for our staff. We will let them know about your comment.

However we are sorry to hear that you felt a little disturbed by the lack of an elevator, as your room were located on the 3rd floor. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address this issue.

Once again thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, it is always endearing to us to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Marco Polo Motor Inn soon.

With best regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    49
    38
    23
    25
See reviews for
57
40
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

average motel quest must have car to travel around city , nothing close to motel for breakfast or dinner,also bed sheets dirty,toilet used with dirty toilet paper in. but very good and helpful front desk girl nothing was too much for her very polite and happy person.

Room Tip: basic rooms ,can do with upgrade,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGAST_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear MGAST_13,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and for taking the time to share your experience.

Our team of staff are sorry if we have failed to meet your expectations, especially in relation to the cleanliness of the room. We appreciate your comments, it is through such feedback that we are able to continually improve our property to meet and exceed the needs of our guests. Our Housekeeping Supervisor and our laundry contractor have been informed about your constructive feedback.

We are located only 5 minutes walk from Summer Hill Village where you will find the Summer Hill train station, with trains to the city and Olympic Park, Franklin's supermarket, bars and restaurants. You will also find a new McDonald's restaurant within only 10 minutes walk from Marco Polo Motor Inn.

However we are thrilled to hear that you were pleased with the friendliness of the mentioned staff. It is very heart warming to us, to receive such a positive feedback.

Our goal is to keep our guests happy and help them to enjoy their stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn.
Please do not hesitate to contact us at: 02 90379888 or bookings@marcopolosydney.com.au if you have any further inquiries.

We once again thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to Marco Polo Motor Inn in the future.

Marco Polo Motor Inn, Sydney,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Myself, husband, mum and two kids stayed here overnight on a Saturday night. For the cost, it was absolutely spot on ! Yes, the rooms were basic and it needs a major facelift but it was absolutely spotless. First impression isin't great i.e. bit old and tired but clean and comfy is good enough for me. Extra touches such as toiletries and amenity packs surprised us. Parking was free and secure. We asked for extra pillows which were provided straight away, no problem.The garage across the road served us well with bread, marg, cereal and milk for breakfast the next morning. For value for money, it made what could have been an expensive stay in sydney, very pleasant. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
01 May 2013

Dear Adele C,

We thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn, Sydney and for your valuable feedback and kind words of appreciation for the motel.

While we cannot change the age of the building, our focus here is on maintaining a high level of cleanliness and maintenance of the hotel and in delivering the signature Marco Polo Motor Inn, Sydney branded warm and friendly service, and we are glad that you and your family had the opportunity to experience it.

A special thank you for your kind words of appreciation for our service and for your useful insight regarding the local grocery stores.

Once again Adele C, we thank you for your post and hope that you will have the opportunity to stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn the next time your travel plans brings you back to Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

we had to stay in Sydney for hospital visit ,so stayed at the marco polo motel.this was the dirtiest motel I have ever been in.Obviously sheets hadn't been changed from last guests,hair through beds and over floors.Made me ill.Vomit on pillow,NEVER AGAIN

Room Tip: don't even go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco_Polo_Sydney, Manager at Marco Polo Motor Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
01 May 2013

Dear Allana J,

Thank you for your recent stay at Marco Polo Motor Inn and taking the time to post your review. Our team of staff are sorry if we have failed to meet your expectations, especially in relation to the cleanliness of the room and we apologize for any inconvenience or distress this may have caused you.

Our focus at Marco Polo is on maintaining a high level of cleanliness and great service. Therefore, we make sure that our Housekeeping Supervisor has approved the rooms before we assign them to our guests. However, we have tried to locate your reservation in our system, but have failed to find any reservation under your provided name, so we are not able to investigate your concern any further.

We strive every day to ensure our guests have a wonderful stay and a marvellous time at Marco Polo Motor Inn, Sydney. Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. It really means a lot to our team of staff.

Should you require any assistance, please contact our reception team.

Marco Polo Motor Inn, Sydney,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Summer Hill hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We recently travelled to Australia and decided to stay here as where we normally stay was booked out. After reading some of the reviews we were expecting it to be pretty seedy. Our initial reaction as we entered this motel was whether it was going to be a safe place for our children to stay however during our stay we felt quite safe.

Although the motel and rooms look tired and in need of refurbishment, our room was clean. What was attractive was the microwave and toaster we found in our family room. With 3 small children this was an added bonus.

The motel is in a great location. Just two streets away is Summer Hill train station which will take you straight into the city or out to Parramatta. Alternatively, you can walk outside and catch a bus into the city.

If you are looking for something to eat, you can cross over to the other side of the train station where you will find some nice shops, restaurants and coffee shops. We also found a supermarket.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vergis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We have stayed here about 6 times now. It has changed owners since the last time, and the new owners have taken away some of the nice little touches the previous owners gave you (complimentary biscuits, newspapers, etc), a minor irritation, but an obvious cost-cutting measure. One thing I don't like is the smokers out on the landings outside the rooms, often gabbing for ages on their phones, the stink tends to hang around the well inside the buiding, and the noise echoes. This is not caused by the new owners, this problem was always there. Still good value for Sydney, a handy location for bus or train to city. Will I go there next time? Maybe!

Room Tip: If you don't like climbing stairs, try for the first floor, there are no rooms at ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jimw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me and my family stayed in this hotel for a week and found our stay to be very comfortable and pleasant . The rooms are haggard but spotless clean , first impression of the rooms may not be good but a closer look reveals that the rooms have been cleaned perfectly and has all the amenities like TV,kettle,microwave,fridge, toiletries, utenstils, AC etc

The parking is safe and free which is very rare at such reasonable price. The staff is friendly and helpful.

There is a seven-eleven mart right opposite which is good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peterthankachan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Summer Hill
Shilla Lodge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Strathfield
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
480 reviews
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Motor Inn

Property: Marco Polo Motor Inn
Address: 42 Parramatta Rd, Summer Hill, Ashfield, New South Wales 2130, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ashfield > Summer Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Summer Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marco Polo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marco Polo Motor Inn offers budget 3 1/2 star accommodations conveniently located half way between Sydney City CBD and Olympic Park at Homebush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marco Polo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Motor Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing