We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Touch Down!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Touch Down!!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

This might be one of the most expensive resort in Australia, and it is quite a long way from Sydney.....BUT this will be one of the BEST experience you could ever had!!!!!
As working in the same industry, I am a person that always complain, but this one, beside no complain, I would like to recommend to the world!!!!
Orginal price AUD$2,000 per night, special package around $1,300 per night.
The resort located within 1 hour drive from central of Lithgow NSW, it surround by moutians and it is in a National Park, it is different with sunshine and beaches, but NATURAL.
The resort pick us up from a cafe @ Lithgow, warm welcome by duty manager and staff. When we arrived the lobby, instead going to check-in desk, receptionist come over and greet you, show you around and give information of the resort.
The room was really nice, warm, awesome, can not really think a word, just perfect.....with a 27 degree indoor pool, a fire place, huge changing area, it is awesome!!!
This resort is all inc. The food are really good, even the manager had 'warn' us not to eat too much, but can not say NO to the beautiful food!!!!
It is really a touch down service, I really enjoy the service they provided, I feel like I am the one, staff take care of every single guest and treated us as VVVVVIP!!!!!!:)
ITS WORTH TO GO....MAYBE A FEW TIMES IN A LIFE^^

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Ariellaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    739
    95
    34
    8
    3
See reviews for
169
581
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle NSW
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2010

From the moment you arrive at the front gate, your every whim is catered for and all your cares in the world are left behind. In the most magical location of the Blue Mountains, is a private escape in our own backyard. The staff are extremely professional and bend over backwards to ensure that from beginning to end, you are entirely catered for.

Really not sure why a previous reviewed was so fixated on not being able to access the public pool in the resort. If that's all that traveller can think of to entertain themselves while at the resort, then i'm at a loss!

The villas are wonderful designed, with thoughtful architecture and stunning interior design. The detail is incredible, and the theme of Heritage Australia really is a perfect match for the location and the style of the resort. The bathroom is huge, with lovely rainwater shower heads under a skylight. With your own private year-round heated lap pool, there's no real need to use the resort pool in the main area.

And then there's the bed.....not sure what i can say other than to confirm my nights at Wolgan Valley offered the best nights sleep i've had in years!

The food and wine are sourced from local suppliers where possible, which i think is perfect. Fabulous menu options for each meal, and an excellent selection of wine.

I'm a travel agent, so am fortunate enough to have stayed at some of the best hotels and resorts the world has to offer. This experience at Wolgan Valley was flawless, and i feel it will be hard to top. It's more than certainly worth the nightly rate, and then some. I will be returning again soon without a doubt.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDiva4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2010

WOW,WOW,WOW!!!

Looking at all the photos on the web site doesn't do any justice to this place at all. You have to experience it to believe it. It still amazes me how such a place of pure luxury even exists in such a remote place.

We took the Bells line of road route to Wolgan valley from the northern suburbs of Sydney and it took about 3 hours. I certainly recommend this route above going via the busy M4.

We finally arrived after much anticipation, and we were greeted by a friendly security gaurd at the front gate. We had travelled about 13km on a very bumpy corrugated road to this point, so leave the Ferrari behind and take the 4x4 instead. It was only a few mintues of waiting until Jayson arrived in a much bigger 4x4 than ours to take us up to the main Homestead. It was only on this part of the final journey we got our first glimpse of the resort with the whole valley behind it. Breathtaking!!

We were welcomed by Andrew the Guest Sevices manager who sat us daown for our check in. That was followed by a personal tour of the main homestead and an escort to our suite. I can safely say it was the most welcome I've been made to feel when arriving at any hotel I've been to in the whole world.

Our suite (Heritage) is another story which I could write about for hours, but in a nut shell, all I can say is that it was pure luxury! To have have our own pool in the room is just insane. The room layout is so practical with a log fire in the wall splitting the lounge and the bedroom, it was very cosy. The huge closet doubled as a spare room for our 1 year old.

We had such an amazing dining experience and all the staff were just fantastic, making you feel so welcome without the over the top false smiles you would normally get in a busy hotel. It felt like you were part of a family.

Horse riding, mountain biking, property tours were all included and I fully recommend doing them all.

Two nights were not really enough time to absorb everything in, but for a total escape from the hustle and bustle of the city, then this is the place for you.

I'll be back as soon it is possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MHJSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This resort can best be described --in relative terms— as Amman or Four Seasons Resorts on steroids! The accommodations, the services, and the food all stellar.

We stayed three nights at the resort and wish we booked for more. Our Wolgami suite (Suite number 2 has nicer view than suite number 1) is well furnished, spacious and the views are very scenic. The staff is exceptional. Their general manager Joost Heymeier seems to have a hands on approach and talked to the guests almost every day. The guest services manager Andrew Adam Smith was intent on making sure that the guests are happy with their stay. Front desk gals, Lisha, Katherine, Rachel, Julie and Andrew took care of our needs well. The chef Evan Pemberton went out of the way to accommodate our vegan dietary needs and made great vegan food. Restaurant staff including Raef and Gyan honored all our requests and very courteous. The tour guides Stuart, Elwin and Hue were very informative and passionate re their resort. The general tenor and service spirit of the entire staff reflect the general manager’s attitude towards servicing the guests.

We went on the introductory tour of the estate, hiked the Glow tunnel trail, took their stargazing night tour, and the night fauna watching tour. On the last day of our stay, Andrew the guest services director arranged a nice tour. Elwin took us to a remote spot in the estate and furnished the stop with two chairs and a table along with two bikes. He came back two hours later and took us to a second remote spot called Lamb’s place and brought great vegan lunch with two bottles of wine and soft drinks. A few hours later, we were taken back to the resort from Lamb’s place.

The spa services were decent but may not match the great caliber of this resort. Better training of the spa therapists ( who were extremely pleasant but, in our opinion, less well trained) may improve the caliber of the service.

The occupancy rate for the resort when we visited was low since it was a shoulder season. This certainly helped the staff to meet our special dietary needs etc but the general service oriented spirit of the resort is exceptional.

The resort is about 3 hours by car from Sydney and 50 minutes by helicopter flight. Peter the helicopter pilot who took us from Sydney to Wolgan valley was very friendly and tried to desribe the Sydney harbor landmarks. The pilot who took us back from Wolgan Valley Resort to Sydney was less helpful. Also, the helicopter company demands that we leave Wolgan valley by 3.30pm even though the resort staff allowed us to stay as late that afternoon as needed. The helicopter company also had stringent demands re the luggage you can carry, even if the weight limit is met—you can’t take too big a suite case even if it light in weight. Hope the helicopter services improve.

Kudos to their general manager and his staff. They execute a standard that Amman and Four Seasons may want to emulate.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2010

Having been to other notable resorts that have not met my expectations, we departed for Wolgan Valley hoping this time would be different. And different it was. From the moment you arrive, you feel calm, relaxed and in awe of the masterpiece in front of you.
The detail and effort that have gone into this beautiful resort appear effortless. Details such as the original fence posts from the property forming the reception wall, to pieces of metal found in the original homestead being turned into charming pieces of art and furniture, this resort is truely unique.
The scenery is spectacular and never fails to impress no matter you look. The buildings and suites also impress. The suites are very large and spacious, but features like the two-way fireplace and over-sized ottoman make them warm and cosy. Not to mention the Nespresso machine! Ladies, who needs a walk-in robe when you have your own dressing room! And then there is the bathroom, complete with slate tiles and a walk through shower with sunlight!
The mountain bikes and boot cupboard on the porch are the perfect finishing touches. Although each suite has it's very own swimming pool, the resort pool is a standout.
The food was amazing and Ben matched it perfectly with local wines.
The staff were fantastic, lead by GM Joost and made you feel welcome and looked after.
I was lucky enough to have my boyfriend propose while we were there, I couldn't think of a more perfect place for it to happen! Now, it is not a want to go back, it is a need!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bjwill28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie living in Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2010

I was fortunate enough to spend 2 nights at the Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort. Being in the Travel Industry I was very eager to stay at the Resort and see what it had to offer.

I was blown away by the whole experience (which is what it is). Right from the start upon entrance into the foyer of the Resort it was all sensational. I haven't stayed in too many high end properties like this one but the attention to detail was quite prominent.

The service of the staff such as Katherine, Gyan and Raef was absolutely excellent. They really did go above and beyond and made our stay there extremely enjoyable. The food at the Resort was also outstanding. Some of the Lobster I tried here is making my mouth water just thinking about it.

Its very quiet around the Valley which is just what we were after. Really felt like you were in a different world as you didn't hear any traffic or many other people.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hodgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
298 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Wolgan Valley is an amazing place to stay and only a short and easy drive from Sydney - the website suggests 3 hours but we took 2.5 hours driving along the Bells Line of Road - it would definitely be longer if you were to drive through Katoomba etc. The resort is nestled in a very beautiful valley surrounded by stunning escarpments. There are no cars near the resort apart from the ones that ferry you from where your car is parked at the front gate (about 5 minutes' drive from the resort buildings). Golf carts are the form of transport when needed - or the mountain bikes that are located at your front door. It is extremely peaceful.
The suites are all in individual 'houses' each with its own indoor swimming pool. The suits are beautifully appointed and in harmony with the surrounding bushland. There is a huge attention to detail - a large assortment of teas and coffees with yummy biscuits etc in the suite, along with binoculars, a sketch pad, coloured pencils and a pencil sharpenener !!!!. I think the bed is the best bed I have ever slept on - I could have stayed in bed all day!!

All meals are included and the food was faultless - a great choice and largely using locally sourced ingredients wherever possible. There is also a large range of local wines (included) as well as all the usual wines from other regions and overseas(not included)
The staff was great - all very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable, especially Elwin who took us on our bushwalk.
I have nothing but good things to say about this resort - a truly world class establishment easily reached from Sydney - a helipad is on the property if you are pressed for time!
I will return!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Seclusions Blue Mountains
17.6 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lithgow Workies Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Property: Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing