We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect long weekend away!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The perfect long weekend away!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I spent my 40th birthday weekend at Wolgan Valley and we just loved it so much that we didn't want to leave on Monday afternoon and actually considered booking in another night at the resort. Our experience was first class from the moment we arrived at the front gates. All the staff with which we had contact with was great - friendly and super helpful. The villas were luxurious and we had a hard time choosing between our own villa & individual pool or the infinity pool near the main house. Most of the days were spent by the infinity pool b/c of the gorgeous mountain views and the constant food & beverage service provided pool side. Food was exceptional and the top shelf local wines and beers offered made choosing difficult. My husband and I both had wonderful massages and the spa experience was fantastic. I would happily go back to Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa any day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    92
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
152
547
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wentworth Falls, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

What do you buy your Dad for their 70th birthday who has everything and has travelled widely before? A surprise weekend at Emirates wolgan valley. Way beyond expectation, we arrived late about midnight but still made to feel welcome, greeted with champagne and asked if we were hungry to be served room service dinner in our room. The weekend was very relaxing, fantastic food and wine and to top it all off we had th Sydney symphony playing for us during the weekend. Well recommended for anyone, certainly one of the top stays in Australia.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DamienSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Wow what a place! From the moment you arrive at the gatehouse where you park your car and get taken by four wheel drive - across creeks - to the very impressive reception you know you are somewhere very special. This is one of the best resorts we have stayed in. Our villa was just superb - large, luxurious and indulgent with its own heated lap pool. The four poster king bed was amazing as was the double sided fireplace. The mini bar was fully stocked and free! All the meals were included and although of a high standard were not the best we've ever had but certainly up there. We loved the tranquillity of the property and really enjoyed the horse riding - we ended up being taken on our own which was very romantic. There are also lovely walks and heritage buildings around the property to visit. Each villa has 2 bikes on the front porch you can use to ride around - which was great fun. We also had treatments at the spa which were fabulous. Words cannot do this place justice - its very impressive and worth visiting. However, it is a solid 3.5 hours drive from Sydney airport so you need to allow extra time to visit the many lovely villages along the way specially around the Blue Mountains. Arrive as early as you can so you can make the most of your day. Plan for at least a 2 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ozi1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I returned to Wolgan Valley for the 2nd time and thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days at the resort. The managers and staff were very much focused on providing superior service to the guests and in conversations with some, the consensus was that the ambiance felt while at the resort would leave many pleasant memories and many guests returning. The accommodation and layout of the property in the valley is just a beautiful sight whether it be fog, rain or sunshine. The food was also amazing and we have already booked to return for our 3rd time. Highly recommended.
Gwen & Gordon

Room Tip: We enjoyed staying on the higher level - suites 11 to 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LillianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

The team made the stay exceptional during my stay on the 28th to the 30th Dec. Those 2 days there was definitely special which made the long trek (2.5 hrs) from Sydney worth it.

Wildlife Walk with Leigh - Wolgan seen through your eyes is that much more spectacular and we both came out a little more knowledgeable after that walk. Leigh was very passionate about the nature and his explanations of history of Wolgan, Australia etc etc lifted our spirits for the entire day.

Gastronomical Heaven in Wolgan - The food was exceptional... I think its the best meal I've had during my trip to Australia. Wolgan is the only leg of our holiday where I ordered double portions during lunch

(PS - the private pools need a bit of cleaning though. I understand its out in the wild and creepies can come in but perhaps a big clean when possible to get the webs away?)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gweyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

I think I read In the Australian newspaper that the resort was budgeted to cost $80 million and ended up costing $130 million. There's absolutely no doubt that no expense has been spared! Emirates Wolgan Valley Resort is not that easy to get to but it is no sense remote. From Sydney it is a 2.5 - 3 hr drive via the Blue Mountains so not a bad idea to stop off at somewhere like Leura for a coffee or drop into Katoomba and take a look at the Three Sisters famous rock formation. Once you are off the highway and take a right to Wolgan Valley (the Resort is sign-posted) it's about 25km to the property. It's all tarmac apart from a small section of about 500 metres of dirt early on. If you end up on a twisty dirt road you have gone past the entrance! Arriving at Wolgan Valley you'll see a tall timber post entry with the logo emblazoned on it. The name of the property is also on a big rock but in the sun it can be difficult to see. We didn't see it and thought the entry was to the helipad and continued on another 8km on the dirt and had to come back after getting directions. It might be a good idea to make the sign easily legible in any weather from a moving car Emirates. When you roll up at the gate house you are met by a member of staff who will offer you a cool drink or use of the bathroom facilities there as it's about a 10-15 minute wait before one of their four wheel drives will arrive in the car park to drive you to reception. The short drive through the property is a nice introduction to what is to come. At reception you are warmly greeted and offered a cool towel to freshen up and then a glass of sparkling or whatever you prefer. Lunch runs until 4pm with check-in at 3pm but they certainly don't have a problem with you arriving before 3pm and going to have lunch. Lunch is nice and casual in the "cafe" with its doors pulled open in good weather so you can enjoy the spectacular view. Local Australian wines and beers are included with your lunch (and dinner) and there's a good selection. Service is warm and friendly and definitely not obsequious. Along with breakfast, lunch and dinner, various other activities are included in your daily rate including property tours by 4 wheel drive (a must - and the canapes and sparkling at the old homestead at the end are a very nice touch); and an arena ride on horseback down at their impressive stables. You'll find mountain bikes parked outside your suite and there are endless walking opportunities. There's also extra things to pay for like spa treatments and horse rides. Our suite was beautifully designed and furnished - nice pool, sitting room, verandah with great views, divine bed and huge shower inside the decadent bathroom. A welcome bottle of wine with glasses was on the table to greet us but this mysteriously disappeared on day 2. Not really a problem as there is a fridge with complimentary beer and wine in your suite together with packets of nuts and other good stuff. Dinner in the dining room is a very nice affair and there's a choice of a 5 or 6 course menu or a la carte or a mix of both. Whatever you want you can have at Wolgan Valley Resort. Breakfast is in the dining room also and it depends on occupancy levels as to whether the buffet is out or you order a la carte - whatever, it is all excellent and lots of local produce. This is relaxation at its most exclusive without a hint of stuffiness. Full marks to Emirates for having a resort of this exceptional quality far from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yungkara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

Simply sublime and a very authentic Australian experience . Nothing is too much trouble or too challenging for the staff. Ok the glitterati if the world may have been here but even those humble of us (like me) are welcomed as the same. There is no standing on ceremony. The staff are discrete at all times and knowledgable of the local history. You can do everything or nothing. The Timeless Spa is a must and like me you can get a very sore butt from two different saddles - equine & mountain bike. Thank you Matt for your patience and brilliance as a trail guide. You make an 1.5hr fly but you just know and share so much.Highlights so numerous - an exquisite degustation event under the stars at the original homestead, relaxing in my own indoor/outdoor pool, having an upfront acquaintance with a common wombat -but I guess getting up in the predawn and walking through the mists capturing that unique indigo light with a morning chorus of birds and, surrounded by native animals who are as curious of me as I am of them, is just one of those lifetime experiences.

Room Tip: every room is the same and is a heavenly experience - especially the fireplace at night. There is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodyR2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
14.0 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
20.5 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
17.5 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 mi away
Seclusions Blue Mountains
19.4 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
17.6 mi away
Lithgow Workies Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Property: Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Prestigia, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing