We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Beautiful Property. Villas are fantastic, indoor pool, wrap around verandah and huge comfortable bed. Very well thought out. Food is superb. Service (for Australia) is excellent. Special mentions to Vera (front desk), Matthew at the stables and Narelle (great massage) at the Spa. Plenty of activities should you choose otherwise just relax in the spectacular surrounds.

Room Tip: Villa 17 or 41 for extra privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,014)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,015 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights here in a standard suite. I have never before spent this much money on accommodation. After the delight of the past few days, we think we need to save a little harder so that we can indulge again in a couple of years time.
The setting is wonderful with the complex situated in a beautiful valley and the individual accommodation units each offering views of the valley and a sense of privacy. The nature and wildlife is abundant - roaming wombats on your porch!
The food is good but a tad short of excellent. My wife is vegetarian and the staff did not hesitate to construct bespoke plates "off menu" which were always tasty. When the "fine dining" in the main dining area felt like too much, we had a lovely more casual meal delivered to our room.
The customer service is outstanding - as good as anywhere I have experienced. We went for a 3hour bush walk one day and asked if they could pack us some fruit and they promptly delivered a small backpack with medical kit, radio, yummy snacks and water.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank GlynAJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from our three night stay at Wolgan Valley. Wow! This place is really special.
Absolutely loved everything about it. The staff are friendly and welcoming and nothing seems to be too much trouble.
I loved the villa with our two mountain bikes parked outside . We rode to and from the main building for all our meals. The food is great and I loved that the produce and wines all came from the local region or within a 150 km radius.
There are lots of activities to enjoy or you can relax and do a lot of nothing. We enjoyed our walk up to the tunnel to see the glow worms . We also loved our bike ride out to Platypus Deck . On the way to the deck there is a little tin hut with chairs and a table. Great place to stop and just enjoy this gorgeous part of the world.
The villas are beautifully appointed and so even when the weather turned it was a great excuse to stay "home " and just sit in front of the fire and enjoy the beautiful view. Nespresso coffee, Byron bay tea, mini bar filled with snacks and drinks, magazines and movies and a fabulous bathroom filled with pampering products and a bath with a view. No mobile reception yet great Wi fi . What more could you ask for?
Look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

A great resort situated in a national park in the Blue Mountains. We stayed for two nights to celebrate our crystal wedding anniversary. The villa had a great fitout. We love the verandah which was entirely surround with flyscreen making it very comfortable. Our private pool was kept at 28 degrees so is perfect for year round dipping. The bedding was very comfortable, almost like floating on clouds! The free mini bar is a treat as I don't often snack on junk food but since it was free I tried everything!

The food is good but not great when compared to other luxury resorts in Australia. This would be the only downside but albeit a minor one if at all. We did the complimentary activities and rode the mountain bikes that came with each villa and it was great fun! I most certainly look forward to returning but my car may not like it as part of the road to the resort is on gravel road meaning your car will change colour after a trip to Wolgan Valley resort!

Room Tip: Villas 19 to 41 are best as the verandahs facing the bush rather than another villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChuckM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Absolutely loved it! We went with my partner for a relaxing weekend. The staff were very helpful, many activities to do onsite and the area. The lodges had our own pool , had in room service with candle dinner, bike rides in the morning, tennis in afternoon and most amazing sunsets and surroundings. Thank you so much for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gitana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We stayed over the long weekend to celebrate a big birthday. What a wonderful way to relax, get away from phone, and just soak up the magnificent environment - both natural and man-made. The design of the resort is fantastic - from the wonderfully comfortable individual "suites" which give great privacy, to the "homestead" and adjoining pool and terrace.
We checked in late afternoon, a little hot and weary having had a half day bushwalk in the mountains on the way over from Sydney. We were greeted with a glass of champagne after our four wheel transfer in from the carpark, and driven glass in hand in the buggy to our own little house, where relaxing music was already playing. We were shown quickly how everything worked, and left to relax, so it was straight into our own private plunge pool to cool off on a hot day. That was followed by a soak in the huge bath (with wonderful bath salts added) . This is a genuine two person tub, and has a wonderful view of the sunset. We had thought about a nature guided tour in the late afternoon, but decided relaxation "at home" was more what we needed until dinner.
On the first night we chose the degustation menu - five courses with matching wine. My husband's dietary requirements were readily accommodated with additions from the a la carte menu. The food was delicious, and the service excellent. Our server was very helpful, and knowledgeable about the matching wines she served us. The trip to the cheese room is a lovely touch at the end of the meal, and the cheese and accompaniments were great - especially the combo of goats cheese and truffled honey.
After the wonderful full breakfast, we chose to go on a self guided bushwalk nearby on Sunday morning, on the Glow Worm tunnel route. We were provided with a backpack with food, water, sunscreen and a radio to call for pick up when we were finished. If you like the bush, this is a great walk - about 3 hours at an easy pace with lots of photo stops. Scenery, variations in vegetation and birdlife are all fantastic, and the glow worms impressive when you turn of your torch in the darkest part of the tunnel. A quick radio call at the end brought the very welcome air conditioned ride back to lunch of delicious pan fried trout by the pool, We then went on the aboriginal cultural tour that we had booked, with Lauren, one of the nature guides. We were the only takers so had an individual tour, and thoroughly enjoyed an hour of very informative and interesting discussion on the pre-settlement lifestyle of the local indigenous people. Then back to our little house for a swim, and a sunbake in the beautiful screened porch overlooking the view. I had booked a massage for 5pm, but found myself so relaxed and reluctant to go up to the spa, that I sent my husband, who had more aches and pains than I did. He thoroughly enjoyed the treat.
For our second night, we chose from the a la carte menu. Again the food was delicious - my spanner crab entree was amazing, with a coriander foam. We had the same delightful server. The lamb main course was a little on the small side for a hungry male, and she spotted his empty plate and immediately brought him a second plate! After dessert, another trip to the cheese room and a special sticky completed a wonderful meal. Our server, Carys, then voluteered to go and speak to reception about a late checkout on our behalf.
After a good sleep in, in a wonderfully comfortable bed, another large breakfast was followed by a bike ride to the restored 1832 homestead and beyond on the tracks that wind through the property. Back for checkout at 12, and then we spent an hour swimming in the main resort pool, and relaxing on the great day beds soaking up the wonderful views on another perfect day. Another wonderful lunch on the terrace, a quick shower and change in the gym area (multidirection jets were great) and we reluctantly left the resort about 2pm.
What a great weekend - even the traffic through the mountains was not too bad for our run home.
I read the previous review, and was really surprised. We were amazed how smoothly everything went for a fully booked weekend, and by the lack of a sense of crowding. Our experience of the service was outstanding - friendly and engaging at all times. We may have been lucky with our timing at meals, but we had no delays or problems. We will definitely be back - perhaps in winter to experience the cosiness of the suites with the wonderful fireplace!

Room Tip: I don't think there could be a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgsSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed here over the October long weekend. I'll start with the positives: Let me say that this was without a doubt one of the best holidays of our life - it was really the perfect weekend getaway. The room/lodge/suite (whatever you wanna call it - basically your own individual little house) was AMAZING. It had *everything* you could possibly want in a room and then some. You will not be disappointed in the quality of the rooms.

The people were incredibly friendly and helpful in every way. Always smiling, courteous, and everything you'd hope to expect from a place of this quality. The field guides were particularly fantastic - we had a great experience for every activity we went on and the guides were very knowledgeable.

The food was very good, definitely above average resort food but it falls short of being high-end restaurant quality. Some dishes were exceptional but others were very average. The weekend was very busy (the hotel was full) so it's possible that the food would be better under different circumstances. Breakfast was exceptional.

The property was great. Lots of great walking and bike tracks, plenty of wildlife around and so quiet and secluded away from the hustle and bustle of sydney.

Now for some of the negatives - some of which I suspect are accredited to the fact that they were so busy on the weekend.

Upon arrival and check-in we had our first lunch before heading to the room. My fiance ordered the wagyu burger and it came out with the patty almost cold - a disappointing start but they were happy to rectify and bring out other items.

There was a bug on our pillow when we got to the room and some cobwebs around the outer areas of the lodge - we were in the bush so it's to be expected a bit but you'd hope they'd ensure the room was clean for check-in at least.

Dinner on the first night had some poor service. Not in the sense that anyone was unfriendly - but more so overwhelmed and/or incompetent. We were seated at the bar lounge to have a drink and it took forever before anyone came to take our order (ended up ordering at the bar), and then a long time before they sat us at our table. The meal was good but a couple of times they placed the wrong food at our table and were confused about what went where. They never really explained the dishes or wines and just plonked them down before hurrying off.

Breakfast the next morning was great in terms of food but I had ordered one side dish which simply never arrived. When we checked in they had asked us what newspapers we wanted - we selected the SMH and AFR and ended up getting The Herald Sun the first morning.. ok? They got it right the next day though.

Last issue was that prior to arrival they called us and asked if we wanted to book in any activities. I asked them if anything is likely to book out since it's a busy weekend and we wouldn't want to miss out. They mentioned the only thing might be the arena horse ride so I booked that in for the two of us at 11:30am on Sunday morning. At dinner on Saturday night a field guide came around and asked if we wanted to make any bookings and after a bit of discussion it was revealed we were never booked into that slot and it was now fully booked. Felt like they had had shoddy communication on their end. The issue was resolved though and they were able to fit us in at a later time.

Oh also the coffee was absolutely awful. Just simply undrinkable - on two separate occasions we tried it and both times they burnt it beyond belief and it was incredibly harsh/bitter. Bread was pretty terrible too - breakfast, lunch, dinner, side dish or in a meal, it was only ever the same type of bread.

All in all though none of those issues were too large or anything more than a minor annoyance - and they were mostly rectified to our satisfaction quickly enough.

We really enjoyed the weekend and for the two nights we spent we felt we did a LOT in terms of activities and experiencing the property yet still felt completely relaxed and at peace at the end of it all. We intend to try to make this a yearly visit. Hopefully we can visit at a less busy time and not have the minor kinks and issues that we did for this trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GodlikeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
367 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
718 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Cedar Lodge Cabins
Cedar Lodge Cabins
#2 of 2 in Mount Victoria
36 reviews
18.6 mi away
Turon Gates
Turon Gates
#1 of 4 in Capertee
212 reviews
15.4 mi away
Lithgow Parkside Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range: $1,385 - $3,003 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Prestigia, Agoda, Otel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing