We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly enjoyable weekend; some misgivings though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly enjoyable weekend; some misgivings though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My fiance and I recently stayed here over the October long weekend. I'll start with the positives: Let me say that this was without a doubt one of the best holidays of our life - it was really the perfect weekend getaway. The room/lodge/suite (whatever you wanna call it - basically your own individual little house) was AMAZING. It had *everything* you could possibly want in a room and then some. You will not be disappointed in the quality of the rooms.

The people were incredibly friendly and helpful in every way. Always smiling, courteous, and everything you'd hope to expect from a place of this quality. The field guides were particularly fantastic - we had a great experience for every activity we went on and the guides were very knowledgeable.

The food was very good, definitely above average resort food but it falls short of being high-end restaurant quality. Some dishes were exceptional but others were very average. The weekend was very busy (the hotel was full) so it's possible that the food would be better under different circumstances. Breakfast was exceptional.

The property was great. Lots of great walking and bike tracks, plenty of wildlife around and so quiet and secluded away from the hustle and bustle of sydney.

Now for some of the negatives - some of which I suspect are accredited to the fact that they were so busy on the weekend.

Upon arrival and check-in we had our first lunch before heading to the room. My fiance ordered the wagyu burger and it came out with the patty almost cold - a disappointing start but they were happy to rectify and bring out other items.

There was a bug on our pillow when we got to the room and some cobwebs around the outer areas of the lodge - we were in the bush so it's to be expected a bit but you'd hope they'd ensure the room was clean for check-in at least.

Dinner on the first night had some poor service. Not in the sense that anyone was unfriendly - but more so overwhelmed and/or incompetent. We were seated at the bar lounge to have a drink and it took forever before anyone came to take our order (ended up ordering at the bar), and then a long time before they sat us at our table. The meal was good but a couple of times they placed the wrong food at our table and were confused about what went where. They never really explained the dishes or wines and just plonked them down before hurrying off.

Breakfast the next morning was great in terms of food but I had ordered one side dish which simply never arrived. When we checked in they had asked us what newspapers we wanted - we selected the SMH and AFR and ended up getting The Herald Sun the first morning.. ok? They got it right the next day though.

Last issue was that prior to arrival they called us and asked if we wanted to book in any activities. I asked them if anything is likely to book out since it's a busy weekend and we wouldn't want to miss out. They mentioned the only thing might be the arena horse ride so I booked that in for the two of us at 11:30am on Sunday morning. At dinner on Saturday night a field guide came around and asked if we wanted to make any bookings and after a bit of discussion it was revealed we were never booked into that slot and it was now fully booked. Felt like they had had shoddy communication on their end. The issue was resolved though and they were able to fit us in at a later time.

Oh also the coffee was absolutely awful. Just simply undrinkable - on two separate occasions we tried it and both times they burnt it beyond belief and it was incredibly harsh/bitter. Bread was pretty terrible too - breakfast, lunch, dinner, side dish or in a meal, it was only ever the same type of bread.

All in all though none of those issues were too large or anything more than a minor annoyance - and they were mostly rectified to our satisfaction quickly enough.

We really enjoyed the weekend and for the two nights we spent we felt we did a LOT in terms of activities and experiencing the property yet still felt completely relaxed and at peace at the end of it all. We intend to try to make this a yearly visit. Hopefully we can visit at a less busy time and not have the minor kinks and issues that we did for this trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GodlikeRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    93
    31
    8
    3
See reviews for
158
564
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
271 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 411 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our second stay at the resort and we really enjoyed the culinary experience. On the first night we had 6 courses prepared by Brett Graham and Neil Perry's chefs and the second night the 7 courses were prepared by the in house chefs. Both were accompanied by an excellent choice of wines. It was a tribute to the in-house chefs that most people we spoke with rated their food and presentation higher than the previous night's effort. We felt that their standard of food was higher than on our previous visit.

Overall the experience was fantastic and we particularly thank Shane in the restaurant and the resort general manger and his staff for their first class service and attention to detail.

BTW - there is now only 3km of dirt road left which, although a bit dusty, is well graded and had been widened.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyConcordian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The place is fantastic, the lodge had everything you could need, the food was great. The private pool I want one. I just have to work on my other half to make it an annual visit.

For people outside of Australia you will enjoy the wildlife.

We enjoyed the massage (not included) and the picnic hamper (extra cost) but we loved our lodge so much we didn't do too many activities. I was injured so staff were great at picking me up and driving me to where I wanted to go.

Service is Australian 5 staff that is probably how to explain it we don't to unobtrusive service but great service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crankikirki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Amazing, going back again next year. There is nothing that I can fault about this place! From the moment we arrived we had perfect service and were made to feel very special. :D The Horse riding, picnics and beauty services were all really well done. Total luxury.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viviennefrancescia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EnaLEnaL
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We ended our journey through Australia at Wolgan valley and there is no other way I would have wanted it to be. The rooms (HA! Bigger than some apartments/homes) are extremely relaxing and have the most wonderful bed I've ever slept on. The private pools are heated during the day and the view from your 2 person bathtubs is amazing. The nature surrounding you is just breathtaking. The kangaroo's, wallabies, wombats, falcons, horses are all around you. I actually startled a wombat grazing outside my front porch, or he startled me it's still a debate.. The daily guided walks/hikes are very well done and the access to the Valley is easily marked. A definite place to visit for nature lovers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnaLEnaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We booked a kid free break (first time in 10 years), and it was worth every minute. Tucked away in the gorgeous Wolgan Valley, this resort offers everything you could possibly imagine. Each villa is exceptionally appointed, with fine bone china, nespresso coffee, and wonderful inclusions of mini bar. Each room includes a private swimming pool, gorgeous fire place, and beautiful shower and bath accessories. Whilst you may feel that some of the villas are too close to each other - they really aren't. You feel like you are in your own private sanctuary, and sitting on your balcony with a glass of red watching nature is so relaxing.

The food is exceptional, and there is SO much of it. We enjoyed both the degustation and al a carte menus, with the included wines, and it was all so very amazing. Nothing was too much trouble, and you can choose to mix with other guests at the bar, or do your own thing.

We did quite a few activities, including a trip to the glow worm caves and day hike. The staff made up a picnic for us, and backpack filled with so many essentials - water, 2-way radio, first aid kits and amazing food/snacks.

The group activities are fantastic - and the small group sizes ensure that you really do get the right amount of attention. The staff are extremely passionate, approachable, and knowledgable. Nothing was too much trouble. The only thing we didn't use was the day spa - although we did purchase some of their products and they are amazing. We went on a big mountain bike ride for a few hours, and underestimated the size of the property! There is heaps of wildlife - wombats, kangaroos, wallabies and birdlife, and you really do feel as if you are in a very special place.

The main building is an old homestead, and there are enough different nooks and crannies to feel like you are not on top of each other. We had early dinners most evenings, only so we could go back and enjoy our room at night. The cheese room is impressive, and the staff extremely knowledgeable. Very impressed with the resort sourcing local produce and supporting local businesses.

The drive there can be a bit tricky - extremely windy roads, and when we were there they were upgrading the current gravel road to bitumen, so there were a few delays.

This resort offers everything and it is worth every cent. You can even take a bit of the resort home with you. We stayed for 3 days, and wish we had spent a week there. Whilst we went as a couple, it is equally as well suited for families as there are so many activities on offer, and staff are there to help.

Fabulous weekend away...

Room Tip: Don't worry about being in a villa too far from the main homestead - the walk there is gorgeous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klsmall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Waking up to the stunning views of the blue mountains, after spending an evening with a cheese platter by the fireplace, our stay at Emirates Wolgan Valley was unforgettable. Everything one could want had been thought of, mixing the right amount of privacy with small group activities, passionate eloquent staff, inclusive activities and meals at call in the most exquisite setting. We spotted so many kangaroos, wallabies and wallaroos, and staying at a reserve with no cell phone network was also a nice relief! Some activities we did included trail horse riding, planting trees, and an excursion around the reserve, it was good being so close with nature leaving the busy city behind. I had already high expectations, having stayed at the sister resort from Emirates, yet this was much better than my imagination.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Seclusions Blue Mountains
17.6 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
15.7 mi away
Lithgow Workies Club Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Property: Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing