We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply The best accommodation in Australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 9, 2013

and likely some of the best anywhere. This is a superb resort. From the windy gravel road, you reach a gatehouse where your car is left and you are transferred to the main building. it's as if you're heading to Jurassic park. (though thankfully I didn't spot a single escaped velociraptor). We were welcomed, offered champagne then lunch and only then did we get escorted to our suite. (and this hotel is where the word suite really means something. They all have private indoor/outdoor pools. beautiful furnishings of exquisite quality and taste. The hotel has a brilliant mix where you can be as active or as relaxed as you wish. in our short 1 night stay we managed a wildlife tour. (where we spotted an Albino Kangaroo, which even for an Aussie is amazing). 2 bike rides, a horse ride and also managed to have some lovely meals overlooking the stunning scenery, The staff are wonderful friendly and warm. From Joost the General manager to everyone we met, they were wonderful. My only gripe about this hotel is that we had to leave. I cannot wait to return. Yes its expensive, but it's exceptionally good value. I've travelled a lot and there isn't anything i've seen to compare in Australia and there are few places to match this in the world. I'm also planning to buy their bed. It's the best one I've ever slept in.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. I don't think they have a bad room (they only have 40 of them)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie_trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

814 - 820 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

It is far away from the living world, but when you are there it is beautiful and quiet. The suites are marvelous and it is nice to be able to bike around on your self as there are no dangerous animals. A good job to make this parkland as it was before it were farms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We went for a 2 night break with high expectations and they didn't disappoint! The resort is set in a wonderful location with stunning views all around. The villas are amazing and the attention to detail inside is impressive. For those who prefer a more active holiday, the resort provides all guests with mountain bikes which you can use to explore the resort's grounds. You can also go horse riding or you can go for a walk or swim in the resort's pool or your own private pool. If you're more like me and like to do very little then have a soak in the spa, make use of the sauna and steam room facilities and, if you're willing to splurge, book yourself in for a nice long spa treatment. The food doesn't disappoint and the staff were all very friendly and the level of service was great and consistent. The price can seem a little high but it is worth it - particularly if you can get a good deal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

A2night break away to this out of the way resort was a wonderfull experience all was amazing the experiences mountain bike riding,horse riding ,spa walking ,wildlife ,carriage riding was matched by the highest quality food and wines all served by experienced staff dinner of degustation was world class finished by a cheese room of wonderfull local and overseas cheeses served by the log fire everything is provided with snacks wine soft drinks all in the mini bar ....was a great experience and look forward to returning to enjoy another season there

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sekip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My husband and I and another couple spent 2 nights here to celebrate a special birthday. The resort is really fantastic - location, views, villas are all outstanding and certainly deserve the 5* rating. We experienced a number of hiccups which were certainly not adequately addressed either at the time or after we wrote to the resort management after returning to Sydney.

These issues were (in no particular order):-

- on arriving for dinner the first evening we were shown to literally the worst table even though we had pre-booked a "table close to the window" and had specifically stated that we were celebrate a special birthday. This was in spite of the restaurant being less than one third full. When we told the hostess that the table was not acceptable she became very unfriendly, almost aggressive. She reluctantly gave us another much more suitable table.

- the dinner was extremely disappointing - very meagre portions - we thought they had run out of food (and none of us are particularly big eaters). The quality was also marginal.

- once we were seated the sommelier immediately approached us and tried to up-sell us on very expensive wines never mentioning the wines which are included in the room rate.

- while one of the guides is supposed to discuss your next day's included activities at dinner, no one approached our table to do this - given that all activities (which are included in your rate) have very limited numbers you can easily miss out if you don't book the day before.

- after dinner on the first evening, upon returning to our respective villas, only one had had the turn down service - housekeeping had forgotten to do one of our villas even though they were side-by-side.

- we tired calling the activities desk several time (during the day) and not once was the phone answered.

- similar attempts to call the spa had the same result - no answer and no voice mail even though we called during opening hours.

- dinner on the second evening was somewhat better than the first evening - but this time the service was extremely slow - it took nearly 3 hours to get all courses served.

- breakfast on the second morning was a total disaster - it took 25 minutes to get a cup of coffee and that was only after several complaints. The food on the buffet was almost always empty with long waits for things to be replenished. When later in the meal we ordered a second cup of coffee, it never arrived - we just left.

- the lunch in the cafe was fine but the service left a lot to be desired - one example, even though beverages are included they are never offered (and are not on the menu) - you need to specifically request these - then be prepared to wait and wait. Likewise for dessert.

All in all - we loved the resort and would like to return to experience it in winter - nearly all the staff were friendly. In the end we figured that they must have been under-staffer particularly in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I have stayed in good hotels in many countries - but this tops the lot. It is expensive but the standard of luxury in the individual villas, complete with private plunge pool, is outstanding.

The staff are attentive, but respect one's privacy. The food is superb and the price includes excellent local wines, beers and soft drinks.

The resort is equipped with a spa if that is what you fancy, but the outstanding feature is the inclusion of interpretive trips to look at the environment in between two fantastic National Parks, the wild life and local Aboriginal and other history. This is guided by 9 young and enthusiastic knowledgeable guides.

One of the best experiences I have ever had and worth saving up for the admittedly high cost.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balfronStirlingshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

owned by emirates, i was expecting nothing less than an over the top resort. it really is pure class. the private villas were amzing. the scenery is second to none. the staff were very professional. the tours were great and the guides matched well. the cost is very high but in my opion justified. this place just oozes class.

Room Tip: all the villas feel private. perhaps ask for one a bit further away from the main house if you reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bucket_list_patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
388 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 6 in Lithgow
485 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.8 mi away
Bushman's Motor Inn
Bushman's Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Wallerawang
56 reviews
16.8 mi away
Lithgow Parkside Motor Inn
17.6 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#4 of 6 in Lithgow
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range: $1,501 - $2,173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is an ultra-luxury conservation-based resort, located 2.5 hours’ drive from Sydney (190kms) in the World Heritage-listed Greater Blue Mountains region. Set on 7,000 acres of carbon-neutral conservation and wildlife reserve, the resort combines absolute luxury with a quintessentially Australian bush experience. Occupying just one per cent of the total land area, the resort features 40 elegantly appointed villas reminiscent of the Federation period, each with its own swimming pool, double-sided fireplace and private verandah with stunning valley views. The resort offers a unique blend of seclusion, native wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation and heritage combined with unsurpassed luxury facilities and outstanding food and wine. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is part of One&Only Resorts and a member of Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing