We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence with a capital E”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellence with a capital E”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Have just spent 4 days at the Wolgan Valley Resort & Spa.This has been a bold venture by Emirate Airlines, but it really works.Its an easy 3 hour drive from Sydney CBD.When you arrive you park your car or whatever just inside resort gates and are picked up by a driver in a 4 wheel-drive .After arrival at the resort the first thing you notice is the grandure of the location.The resort is basically in a 'Y' shaped valley between 2 National Parks.Surrounding the resort are majestic sandstone escarpments .Hard to guess the height but would guess most are at least in the 100 to 150 metres range.From the bottom of the escarpments to the edge of the basically cleared valley there are great stands of trees, mainly gums.
The resort covers around 4000 acres,not sure what that is in hectares.
Because its between National Parks the resort is managed as a conservation reserve.Many activities are slanted towards this ie.Nature walks and bike rides,Australian versions of daytime and nocturnal safaris by vehicle.There is also horse riding.
Accommodation consists of separate villas, they range in size from one bed-room to to larger ones for families and groups.Each villa has a private lap pool.At the main resort centre there is also a very large pool.For those who like being pampered there is also a Spa.
I should mention the range of animals you will see here.
There are mobs of grey kangaroos,also wallaroos,the latter are black for males and grey for females.As a nice surprise the ones at this resort have a gene that produces albinos.On our walks and safaris we saw two of these.There are also red necked wallabys.
There are many varieties of birds ranging from Wedge Tail eagles to tiny Blue Wrens.The river that runs through the property also has Platypus.
The property also has a very large community of Wombats.To see these you will need to do the Nocturnal safari.
I should add that for those not wanting to walk from villas to main building to eat etc, there are plenty of buggies available to pick you up on request.

On the current packages the resort is basically all inclusive.The provisos here are that you drink the local wines ,mainly from Mudgee and Orange areas.I found these to be very good.An exception is Champagne (the real stuff) and cocktails etc which carry a separate charge.Prices for these were reasonable.
The food was excellent.Breakfast was either a buffet or basically same items ordered and bought to your table direct from kitchen.Lunch was in the restaurant on ground level, light dishes and very enjoyable.
Dinner was back in upstairs restaurant. Currently it is a degustation menu, over the 4 nights it changed and was very popular. In the future they will also be introducing an ' a la carte' menu as well.
I mentioned the Spa earlier ,if you check the current packages some include and hour fee Spa treatment (ie. a facial or massage) per person.
I notice that other reviews have mentioned the unsealed road into resort.Its around 14 Kilometres.I was told today that work to seal this section of road is due to start soon.
Finally the thing that makes a great hotel/resort, the staff.
Without exception at all levels the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: Go for one of the packages .All villas are well positioned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahame l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    99
    35
    8
    3
See reviews for
179
604
18
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (258)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney - Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my time at Wolgan valley, the team there were friendly and could not be more cheerful. The area is fantastic and the villas and main area designed very nicely.

The road in is dirt, getting sealed soon, but be aware if you have a low slung car and it is corrugated dirt road in sections.

I rate the service as a 4 (almost a 3) as dinner service on both nights was encountering problems, constantly ask for water or other beverages - should never have to do that at these rates (ever). I understand its remote, but I've been truly remote and encountered better food service - pity, as they all meant well.

Although only 3 years 'old', the grounds around the villas need more (much more) flora, it does look stark. But the scenery surrounding the area is truly amazing! A great find by the Emirates scouts - I never knew the valley existed.

I was lucky enough to get a good rate on a package, so my value score is based on that rate.

Just hope they can improve on these areas, then I'll go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidK-aust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked into the Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa as part of review on what it would be like to travel under 3 hours from Sydney, with out the kids for 48 hours. Answer: Blissful experience

From the moment you arrive at the "gate house", this resort is amazing. The awesome backdrop is a canvas you gaze at all day. What I really liked about the resort is its all inclusive approach, it felt like great value for a resort of this calibre.

The service was incredible, nothing seemed to be a problem at all. The staff are happy and cheerful which makes for happy guests! There are so many little thoughtful things which take you by surprise that the resort provides to ensure your stay is relaxing and memorable.

Two ways to experience Wolgan Valley Resort and Spa
1. Do nothing and relax in your suite or by the pool, nothing wrong with this approach!
2. or, make the most of the inclusive activities along with exploring the property on foot or by bike.

Would we visit again, Yes. Would we recommend to friends, Yes.

Room Tip: Don't forget your camera the scenery is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I’m still awestruck, what an amazing experience; the location and stunning view, the luxurious villas with private pool, the activities in the wilderness, food and wine. Every detail was flawless and immaculate.
All of this was tenfold becuase of the relaxed yet professional staff, true Aussie friendliness.
Most memorable was the villa's huge bath overlooking the valley at sunset, champagne bucket close by.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank star532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I can say that this place exceeded all my dreams and expectations, all the other reviews have covered everything, it was truly the most wonderful few days of my life, this location is a must!!
Location - Stunning
Food - Ample and amazingly good
Accom - stunning (I have designed my new bedroom to be the same!)
Staff - beyond words, just amazing.
I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This resort is amazing! The service was terrific, the rooms (villas) were spectacular, and the scenery is unbelievable. Great food with excellent wines included in the room charge. When I checked in, I mentioned that I drink diet coke instead of coffee or tea and my refrigerator was immediately stocked plenty of my favorite soft drink. They have a well organized series of walks and 4WD tours. The nature guides are very knowlegable and pleasant. I was there for 4 nights and hope to go back! Thanks.

Room Tip: Every room is its own villa. There is no such thing as a "bad room".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank global1K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Having 4 nights to spend in the Blue Mountain area we decided to spend 2 nights in 2 locations. On reflection should have stayed longer in Wolgan Valley. The scenery, having 4000 acres to play in, and the quality of the food and complementary drink not only made it an awesome place to stay but justified the prices charged. We used the mountain bikes to explore the area and when we asked for a pump in case of a puncture were pleasantly surprised to be presented with a radio with which to request help. We participated in both of the Landcruiser wildlife tours (night and day) and a nature walk all of which were excellent. Impressive to witness first hand what Emirates are doing to protect the environment.

If only we had booked 3 nights!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolgan Valley
12.6 mi away
Black Gold Motel
Black Gold Motel
#1 of 2 in Wallerawang
333 reviews
18.8 mi away
Eagle View Escape
Eagle View Escape
#1 of 2 in Rydal
678 reviews
15.6 mi away
Zig Zag Motel
Zig Zag Motel
#2 of 5 in Lithgow
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Seclusions Blue Mountains
17.6 mi away
The Bowen Inn Motel
The Bowen Inn Motel
#3 of 5 in Lithgow
141 reviews
24.7 mi away
Bilpin Springs Lodge
Bilpin Springs Lodge
#2 of 3 in Bilpin
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley

Property: Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley
Address: 2600 Wolgan Rd, Wolgan Valley, New South Wales 2790, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Wolgan Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wolgan Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley offers the rare opportunity to experience true luxury in a spectacular Australian bush setting. The property borders the Greater Blue Mountains World Heritage wilderness region, just 190kms from Sydney. Nestled between two National Parks and spread out at the foot of towering cliffs, Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is set within its own private conservation and wildlife reserve. The resort itself occupies just two percent of the total land area of 7,000 acres and its design, reminiscent of traditional rural Australian homesteads, reflects a timeless appeal and a natural sense of place in the vast and dramatic landscape of the Wolgan Valley. The 40 individual suites each have their own private deck and indoor / outdoor swimming pool. The main homestead offers distinctive dining, luxury facilities and the stand-alone Timeless Spa features six double treatment rooms, and a range of signature treatments. The seclusion of Wolgan Valley creates a natural sanctuary where guests can relax and explore in unsurpassed luxurious comfort. This is the quintessential luxury Australian bush experience - a unique blend of wildlife, dramatic natural beauty, conservation, heritage in a spectacular Australian bush setting, which can be explored through a range of activities including four wheel drives, heritage tours, wildlife spotting and horse riding. All meals are included in the tariff with a strong focus on regional and seasonal produce, and where possible organic ingredients are used. Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley is a member of One&Only Resorts and Luxury Lodges of Australia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emirates One&Only Wolgan Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolgan Valley Resort And Spa
Wolgan Valley Hotel Blue Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing