We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveler rating
225
8
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
225
8
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsdry seasonexceeded our expectationsfood and drinkstidal poolsfishing villagegracious hoststostonesan oasisthe food is greatperfect temperaturegorgeous infinity pooltortillascan't wait to go backmag rockcevicheyoga classes
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 235 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Soma is perfection... located among blooming flowers and swaying palms, it overlooks the pacific from a well situated perch. Spend your days pool side with a mojito in hand (literally the best mojito I've ever had), or freshly prepared iced jamaica tea. Or, lounge in a hammock, cooled by the off-shore winds, and watch the ever-changing sky. Craving activity? Brian will take you to the best surf breaks, and afterwards you can soak in the local hot spring pools (and I mean authentic -- no tourist traps here). We didn't stay long enough to enjoy a horseback ride along the beach, but the horses are healthy and well cared for, so I imagine this would be a pleasurable ride. And when it's time to eat, the food is fresh and tasty-- wash it down with a cold Tona!

My husband and I have traveled to Nicaragua several times, but this was our first time in the Tola region. It's gorgeous, like the rest of the country, but there's something special at Soma. It's a secluded oasis, yet a few minutes drive to the beach for surf and breathtaking pacific views. It's low key and inviting, yet nicely appointed and very comfortable... All the fixings without the fuss. Tola has an untouched charm, and at least while we were there in February, the tourists were few and far between and you never felt one bit crowded. In fact, we hiked to the nearby tidal pools along a sprawling empty beach-- nothing but crashing waves. Sunsets are stunning-- ask the Soma crew to take you to "Magnific Rock". And I can't rave enough about the staff-- they are fantastic! Casey was a fabulous, accommodating host, and on top of her gracious hospitality, she made our day (twice!) with an upgrade and free ride to Tola. (Thank you again, Casey!) Brian, Eddy, Will, Gloria... and everyone on the staff was very friendly and really made us feel welcomed. It's a small place, so every guest is treated with care. We left the place completely smitten - I hope we can return in the not too distant future!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with anything here-- the bungalows are very well appointed, and from what we saw, the other rooms are also very well done. Everything is central on the lush grounds surrounding the pool.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CelestialChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Soma is the best-kept secret of relaxing getaways in Nicaragua. Since we stayed at Soma for the last 3 days of our trip we were a little hesitant that it wasn't going to be the perfect ending to our wonderful vacation. But as soon as we arrived our minds changed. The resort is set up with an infinity pool and dining area in the middle and rooms/ bungalows surrounding. Soma seemed a lot more personal than a regular hotel. The location is the perfect distance from the beach and we loved driving around and seeing how the people in Nicaragua lived. The staff was absolutely wonderful and Casey made us feel so like we were right at home. They have so many activities to choose from so we couldn't fit them all in, but we went surfing, hiking by the beach, horseback riding and visited the natural hot springs. We planned to pack our days with activities, but it was so hard to leave the resort once you are laying by the pool your mind goes into complete relaxation. The food was absolutely delicious and being that I am a vegetarian places usually don't have that many options and they had a ton! They use the freshest ingredients to create the perfect, yummiest meals. By the end of the day it was such a delight to lie in a resort that actually has comfortable rooms and beds! The whole experience was everything we dreamed of and so much more... We felt rejuvenated and NEVER wanted to leave this paradise. We are already planning our next trip!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieBee Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

My daughter (age 12) and I, as part of a small group, spent four fabulous days in January at this gorgeous, relaxing, yet invigorating spot, high on a hill, with stunning views everywhere you looked. Bill and Casey, Eddy, Will, and the rest of the staff were tireless and welcoming hosts. Our itinerary was full, with surfing lessons (patiently conducted in the whitewash for us beginners!), horseback riding to an indigenous homestead where they have been tanning leather in the old tradition for generations, sunset hiking on the beach, a fabulously sculpted bonfire on the beach, hot springs, and playing in tidal pools (where my daughter could have spent days.) The beauty of it all was that after all that activity, we could return to the serenity of Soma. There, we could dip into the infinity pool, read or nap in a hammock, or just sit and soak up the atmosphere up in the open-air dining room while listening to the wind and to the soft, happy voices coming from the kitchen. Speaking of the kitchen, the food was divine: fresh fish anytime we wanted it, exotic fruit juices, tropical pancakes, "secret recipe" burgers, yuka fries, and a delicious squash soup, flavored with cinnamon that I could eat everyday. Not to mention the Mohitos! And for my daughter a Mockhito! Bill and Casey have such knowledge and understanding of Nicaragua, and they love to share this with their guests. Our bungalow was lovely, very spa/zen- like with crisp white sheets and downy comforters and a gorgeous shower built from local stone. There was plenty of space, and it was very clean. Anyone thinking of traveling to Nicaragua should choose Soma. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: There is a combination of rooms and bungalows. I only know about the bungalows, or casitas, as that is where we stayed. The whole place is very quiet and peaceful at night, so I can't imagine there is a bad pick, in terms of a room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camilla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Bill and Casey just get it. They've got the perfect balance of intimacy and conviviality, luxury and rustic, busy-ness and tranquility.
Soma is a great set up, geographically located 10mins from the shore, perched on top of a hill, with great views down the coast. The compact resort is centred round the pool and dining area, but this isn't like staying at a hotel, it's like staying at a friend's house. BIll and Casey have assembled a fantastic team, all the staff are so helpful and so friendly.
The food is great - it's always fresh, tasty and there's plenty of healthy options.
Bill is super-enthusiastic, knows the local breaks and is guaranteed to inspire you get back on your board. We were there the first week of November and the surf was plenty big enough for us (~6ft) but get a boat to Playground if you want more.
Get there whilst its untouched!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Arriving at Soma is very much like stepping into the vacation home of some long lost friends... except that those friends happen to be incredible chefs, surf extraordinaires, and experts guides to the wonderfully untainted local attractions. On top of that, rather than offering you a couch, they are sending you off into a private bungalow of understated luxury; all the comforts of home in the middle of the rolling, wild hills that hug the Nicaraguan coast. We thoroughly enjoyed the days filled with surfing, swimming yoga, and beach hikes and evenings spent simply sipping drinks at Soma and listening to the tranquil Nica night. The experience overall was a beautiful balance and certainly one of the highlights of our two week trip to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeni221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews